We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cristal Palace Hotel
Ranked #48 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is one of the Italian hotels rated by the Italian Government as 4*. By general European and USA standards, it struggles to be 3*. Whilst the hotel advertises free wifi everywhere, it was at best patchy and on and off in our room. It also advertises that it has a restaurant whereas it has a cold looking plastic style hall with plastic chairs, plastic glasses and full self serve breakfast of macerated eggs, hard boiled eggs, heavy and doughy croissants, etc. On the positive side it is close to the harbour, the start of the Palermo hop-on hop-off bus tour as well as a street with numerous good restaurants. Off site parking is available at 15 Euros per day although when we left, the hotel employee was happy to lean on the car watching us struggle with 4 bags to the car rather than help us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    142
    128
    44
    29
See reviews for
56
165
27
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a car trip around Sicily. We stayed there the first and the last night of our trip. The firts room they gave us (6th floor) was small and didn´t have a modern or cosy look. The bathroom was huge, but it looked like a hospital bathroom. The second room (9th floor) was much bigger and looked better (even though we can´t say the room was pretty or well decorated). The plus is that everytinhg was clean!
For a 4* hotel the breakfast was very poor. Poor selection of ingredients and not a lot of choices.
At the reception, the staff was nice and helpfull, although wecan´t say the same thing about the other employes (we were wainting for the elevator and the cleanning ladies arrived and went ahead us, leaving us to wait and not even apologizing).
The hotel is well located if you want to walk to the main sites of Palermo. However, to park the car you have to pay €15 per night at the hotel or find a space in the street (wich can be quiet a challenge in chaotic Palermo).

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors seem to be bigger and more confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pipa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very valuable hotel, most satisfactory prices. Its a find. This is the place for you who wan't to stay very near bus connections, restaurants and walking distance to the town centre. But the best is the staff. They give you the extra service you need, and always with a smile. For example, we tried to book a rental car on the internet, every company was out of cars. We asked the woman in the reception, and she called a friend on a car rental company, and the next morning we had a car outside the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Room slightly outdated. Dark. Curtains and bed spread are this old green material. However it is functional. Breakfast was served at the rooftop where it needs WAY more air conditioning. Food was ok. Sweet italian breakfast plus watery scrambled eggs.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowTravelShw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our third stay at the Cristal Palace, and we found that since our last stay in 2009, some refurbishment had taken place. The hotel has a slightly newer feel now, and the reception area is quite bright and airy - giving quite a modern feel.

The rooms are fine for a city stay: not bad size, air conditioned, spotless, decent bathroom with toiletries and clean fluffy towels. TV and mini-fridge - with plenty of space to store your own drinks if the minibar does not impress you.

Some of the comments on here by other reviewers seem to indicate that they have never stayed in a city hotel before or not a European city, at least. Certainly, the hotel pictures both on Tripadvisor and other sites do not indicate this is a large American-style property or an antique of a hotel full of old-world charm, so I do not understand why so many find the compact & modern, clinical appearance so disappointing.

The covered but airy roof-top breakfast area is a lovely place to enjoy a coffee and a bite to eat before heading off around the city. There are plenty of cheap places to enjoy lunch or dinner just a short stroll from the hotel. Literally around the corner if you cannot be bothered to walk far if it's hot.

There is a bank across the street with an ATM/Cashpoint, the bus from the station stops almost outside on Via Roma. There is also a locked luggage store room near reception if you have a late departure after check out.

That's it really. I do not travel with a lap top unless on business, so cannot help with any WiFi info - but I'm sure the hotel still has some kind of internet connection. Email them ( or call, like we did not-so-many years ago).

Room Tip: High floor with view of Via Roma
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Good for Sicily, otherwise not that impressive. I stayed there for 2 nights (paid around 100 eur). Standard room was big enough and clean, but it looked strange, absolutely not cozy. I felt like office room was there the day before but office furniture was replaced with bed and desk 2 hours prior my arrival. Not cozy at all, didn't feel myself comfortable. On positive - price, randomly speaking English staff, very good breakfast and great location, on the main street, in 5-20 minutes by walt away all the attractions, there are also supermarket, number of nice restaurants and shopping street nearby.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cestovatel_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We are on tour in Sicily and stayed four days in this hotel. It is clean and the staff speaks English and is helpful; there is free wifi. Staff cheerfully brought another chair for a suitcase. Located in the heart of old Palermo.

Breakfast: buffet, coffee/espresso machine, fruit, cereals, yoghurts, scrambled eggs and Italian bacon, rolls, stuffed croissants, and the usual European selections. We had no complaints.

Room: bare hardwood, hard mattress, mildly difficult to figure heating/cooling system, nice desk, smallish flat screen HDTV and small wardrobe. No plushy bathrobe.

Bath: Modern and edgy appliances, including a bidet. Plenty of clean, soft towels, shower caps, shampoo, etc. Shower very small and faucets are connected backwards for hot and cold water.

Room Tip: Seek a room facing Via Roma otherwise the sun will shine on your window all day with relentless inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jspreitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#12 of 98 in Palermo
1,784 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi
#24 of 98 in Palermo
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vecchio Borgo
#32 of 98 in Palermo
314 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Sitano
#38 of 98 in Palermo
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Palace Hotel

Property: Cristal Palace Hotel
Address: Via Roma 477, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cristal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historical center of the city of Palermo, the Cristal Palace Hotel is ideal resting for the visit of the city. Its intense history passes through civilization and different and conflicting dominations, that have determined the various faces of it: the rich Arabic city with the magnificent palaces to the center of luxuriant tropical gardens, the cultured and refined Palermo of Fred II, the Baroque city and the Palermo liberty and elegant. The HALL is very simple, with a minimal style that makes the pleasant structure, adjust to a guest leisure and business and is an elegant place to the demands of the guest. The restaurant of the Cristal Palace Hotel proposes to own guests a various choice of typical and national dishes, as the example of the culinary art of our earth. Our restaurant has an original Menu but also a simple Menu characterized from the Mediterranean cuisine. Cristal Palace Hotel is perfect to organize different congresses. The hotel will have a room equipped for meeting and congresses with maximum capacity up to 100 people. In the Cristal Palace Hotel we have two Junior suite. The Junior Suites are realized in a big spaces. It will be characterized by an angle reading, with a desk, usable also as plan job. Separated bath in two parts with a of Tub whirlpool bath and Shower. The Cristal Palace Hotel is sure the hotel for every person: the tourist or the business man here will find a good hospitality. Because in the Cristal Palace, the hospitality is at home!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cristal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Palace Palermo
Hotel Cristal Palace
Palermo Cristal Palace
Cristal Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing