We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Palace Hotel
Ranked #88 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible.”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I must admit that I really disliked Palermo overall, which will probably influence this review. The city was filthy and smelled terrible. Traffic was also chaotic, I am from Portugal and we have a bad reputation when driving, but this was beyond belief.

The hotel itself is old, the hallways to the rooms were filthy with very old and dirty carpets.

The wifi worked well but was only available in the main lobby. We could use an ethernet cable in the room and it worked well tho, good thing I took my laptop with me.

Rooms were spacious but also very old, poorly decorated and the TV only had 4 or 5 working channels. Cleanliness was ok but could be better and the bathroom had a leaking shower which sprayed water everywhere when being used.

Staff was not helpful at all, arrogant and not pleasant with an exception to the mais which were very nice.

The location is also pretty bad, near the frui market, far from the center.

I will most certainly never go back.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine this hotel having a good room. My best advice is to look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apcampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    248
    311
    214
    123
See reviews for
124
323
28
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Bad location if you're in Palermo for sightseeing. Bad service - staff seemed to be totally indifferent to the problems we had in our room (air conditioning leaking from the ceiling and broken blinds). Bad decor, feels like an abandoned place whose owner hasn't been around for quite a while. Avoid if you can, I can't think of any reasons why a traveller would choose this place.

Room Tip: Make sure to test shower, curtains, AC and beds as soon as you check in to avoid hassle later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrazilianMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palermo hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is for low budget traveling. Our bathroom was filed with mold. The breakfast was VERY basic. We where supposed to stay two nights but left the first morning.

Staff although was ok. One of the receptionists and the cleaning lady was very nice!

Our next visit in Palermo will not be here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fradaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived at the hotel thinking that the GPS had sent us in the wrong direction. The hotel is a good 20 min walk from downtown Palermo, in a filthy part of town. The rooms are painted in an relaxing beige colour, and the beds are comfortable, but it wouldnt hurt getting up some kind of decoration other than a mirror covering the longest wall of the room. The breakfast is standard Italian, the WIFI in the room is paid for, but at least there are a lot of free monitored parking spaces.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KjetilOe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is one to be avoided ,our problems began as soon as we tried to enter our room .We inserted the key card into the lock and turned the handle but nothing happened, after a number of attempts we were about to give up when we discovered that a heafty shoulder was also required to open the door. inside, we found the bathroom had another surprise for us .when you pressed the button to flush the toilet it retaliated with a well aimed spray of water onto your clothes. These problems were brought to the attention of the older woman with short hair I think her name was Francesca who responded with a snarl no other response or remedy was ever forthcoming this person displayed no warmth and no desire to assist in any way How any company can afford to have someone like this as there first point of contact with there costumers is amazing The only saving grace for the reception department is Salvo he displayed local knowlage of bus roots and time tables and a willingness to help.
Breakfast consisted cereals and luke warm milk ,poorly presented and poor quality cold meats one type of cheese . If you fancied a fry you could have an egg that looked and tasted like it was fried the night before and cold saussages . the real. The real sting in the tail of this hotel is when you walk out the front gate. Due to the very close proximity of a local fruit and veg market the garbage problem is truly shocking . Some mornings the paths are unpassable due to rotting fruit household garbage and overflowing bins I kid you not
WE had booked and payed for seven nights but we gave up after five. When we were checking out we were presented with a bill for food which. we had already payed for. This just about says it all for this hotel . If you are considering staying here think again and again and again
Stephen W

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed there for 4 weeks, while working in Palermo. Nothing good to say about it, except the smiling women that were cleaning the rooms. If the rest of the staff,would act like these, it would be a lot better.
Breakfast is just a joke, just as the internet at the hotel rooms. Were working perhaps 7 days out of 28.
Would not recommend this hotel for anyone.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

It's with a little poetic licence that you could associate this place with a palace. It is located near the harbour/docks area, next to the fruit and vegetable markets that were in full swing from the early hours each morning. Other residences around could not be described as high class.
I stayed there for 3 nights and constantly found the lobby busy with bus tour groups, other travellers and shipyard construction workers. My room on the 4th floor had recently been tastefully renovated, with a new bathroom and new furniture and fittings throughout. The cigarette ash and butts and pigeon poo that adorned the balcony railing and floor when I arrived was cleaned up on the 2nd day of my stay. The hotel corridors seem to be one part of the place not yet updated - they are very drab, with badly stained and dirty carpet.
Meals in the dining room were very good. I had the buffet dinner with an excellent variety of hot and cold fresh local food, and also the breakfast with lots of breads, croissants, cakes and hot food. There's a small supermarket just up the road for water etc, but little else of value to the traveler nearby. I was advised by others not to walk around the streets late at night, so the hotel dinner was very handy. It's a €12-15 taxi ride into the city/old town area. Don't forget to agree on the fare before you get in the cab.
Free room safe, free wi-fi in the lobby and a very helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryY43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palermo
Hotel Vecchio Borgo
#32 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi
#23 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Tonic
Hotel Tonic
#24 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isola di Mozia
#10 of 19 in Marsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Palace Hotel

Property: Astoria Palace Hotel
Address: Via Montepellegrino 62, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astoria Palace Hotel is an impressive building of 320 rooms situated at about 500 meter from the harbour of Palermo. The distance from the centre is of only 1,5 km easily reachable by several public buses or simply walking for 15 minutes about. The near subway allow you to move toward all points of the city and it is also a good transportation to the airport situated at only 25 km from the hotel. Finally, a public bus will take you to Mondello, one of most important beach of the city. The building almost fully restructured in the year 2009 will offer you different services: 4 excellent restaurants, one bar in the main floor and one in our roof where you can enjoy of a wonderful view of all the city, 8 meeting- rooms (from 10 till 650 seats with all high tech facilities for demanding business guests) , gym, health area, reception open 24 hours room service, laundry service FREE PARKING AND FREE INTERNET CONNECTION. All the rooms very cured in their furnishing offer all the comforts of a four stars category: Air conditioning, heating, digital tv, Wi-Fi connection, safety box, phone, minibar, hair dryer. Reserve your stay at Astoria Palace Hotel and enjoy of our staff’s attentions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Astoria Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Palace Palermo
Hotel Astoria Palace
Astoria Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing