We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Palace Hotel
Ranked #88 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is not a 4 star neither a 3 star hotel. There is hardly any similaritty between the advertisemnet of the hotel and the resality. Reception and dining hall personnel were friendly and nice and did their best. Free Wi-fi was an advantage. The main disadvantage of the hotel is a very poor maintenance and facilities. Contrary to beautiful pictures at the hotel internet site there was no coffee cattle in the room and the television was ancient. The receptionist was good enough to help by providing kettle. However, to plug the kettle the only socket was below the table so we had to place the cattle on the floor... The bath tab was broken so the water stood for a long time before the water cleared. We were promised to have it fixed in the morning but nothing was done through 4 days of our stay. The hotel advertises a fitness center – This was hardly a very small room with equipment that did not work - neither the bikes nor the walker were functional! Disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MenachemR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

We came to Sicily on an organized tour and stayed four nights in this hotel on november 12-16.
The location of the hotel was on a poor area and very far from the center of palermo, about 30-40 minuts by walking on very dirty and noisy streets.

The room was on the eleven floor, very simple room with ragged carpet. the bathtub faucet was rust and the bathtub was dirty. the towels were great and the Water stream was good too.
There is no free Wi-Fi on the room just Communication cable, on the loby there is free Wi-Fi with code, the code changes every day.

The breakfast was very simple that includes: cold Hardboiled eggs, One type of cheese, Sausage, tometo, olives ,Cornflakes, sometimes not fresh Buns, coffee and tea.

The dinner always was cold and not tasty but the dessert was great especially the Tiramisu.
One more thing, you have to pay for the water and for other drinks.

My advice is, pay a little more and book another hotel in the center of palermo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aviav_Isr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I don't often give bad reviews of hotels as there is normally some kind of redeeming feature and fantastic member of staff or something.

Well, on arrival I though I had been dropped off in Baghdad! The pavements and streets were filled with rubbish, and most of the places around this hotel are in a bad state of repair (the hotel doesn't like it's been looked after that well either).

Reception looked like any other hotel reception, but the greeting I got from the receptionist was short and brief as she seemed to be in a bad mood. She took my passport, photocopied it and then threw it across the desk at me with my key. Not the best of starts.

The room on the 9th floor was large, but smelt of mould, mainly because there was mould. The air con didn't work, the electric junction box was loose (not great if you have kids), the safe didn't work, the TV only had 9 channels (8 Italian and 1 German) and the telephone's lead had been ripped out and left behind the bed, probably to stop people from phoning and complaining. However, the bathroom was big, the shower powerful and the bed was comfy. The room has shutters instead of curtains, which was a really good idea.

Free internet is hardwire only and you need a code from reception. It's ok speed, but not great.

The local area isn't very nice at all, but there are a few pizza bars and grocery shops. However, the hotel does have its own restaurant, which serves good food. To get to the town centre is about a 30-40 minute walk across some of the most dangerous roads I've ever walked across.

All in all, if you must stay here (especially for working in the docks), ask for one of the smaller double bedded rooms on the 8th floor, as they are little nicer and remember that breakfast is included and it is plentiful!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank DanielJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

this is not a four star hotel it barely rates one star.the room we had was reasonable, the safe' in my friends rooms never worked although reported for the first two days the staff did not seem to
care or even be intrested. the food was not good and if a big group came in they got served first
because they were a la carte. breakfast was always a disaster you had to chase the staff when
eggs or bacon ran out which was regular, when it came it was cold the hot water for tea was
luke warm never hot. we were offered the same menu two days on the trot for dinner the staff
thought it funny.The fruit market next door opens very early morning and will wake you up if you
are in the wrong part of the place, Monday morning you could not walk on the pavement as it
was covered in rotten fruit and box's a disgusting state as a capital city Palermo is the pits don't
waste your money going there . the traffic system is horrifying and very polluting cross the road at
your own peril and choke on the fumes I am still suffering a sore throat now,to buy a bus ticket is
a nightmare you have to go to a tabbacci shop who sells them, there no bus route maps so if you
don't speak Italian ,be lucky.After all that Palermo is not worth bothering with.

Room Tip: none.do not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived the same time as a coach party and were kept waiting for 15 mins with no acknowledgement. When we did get our room it was fine, with view of hills out of back so only minimal noise from the fruit market. Reception staff most unhelpful. Got up late the next morning and there was a good selection at breakfast. Hotel has bus stop outside with regular buses to dock or railway station 139, or 812 to Politemea Square or Monte Pellegrino in the opposite direction.

We sunbathed on the roof which was great, but no pool, when we went to go out the next night another load of coach tourists arrived and we couldn't get out of the lift as no one would move.

If you want a quiet time don't use this hotel

Room Tip: get a room out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our group of 16 persons stayed in the astoria Palace 16th Sept 2013 5 nights not our choice. We had in Feb made a booking with the Garibaldi Hotel a sister hotel, just days before travelling we get phone call number one to say hotel over booked,and that we were going to be transfered to Astoria Palace,digging our heels in we said no way, and that was that.Second phone call..we are told...no over booking but that there is a problem with water in our rooms....as i looked through the reviews on bookings.com dated 16th july 2013 some other folks got the same story. Back to the Astoria Palace, Location too far out, reception staff very rude and not one bit helpful,carpets in corridors could do with a good clean up -surrounding area very dirty and full of trash, worth taking a look at travellers photos on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hilarymcmenamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Worst hotel of hundreds ive stayed at. Completely ruined our anniversary. The room we got at checkin from this "four star" hotel was appalling. It looked like a place to shoot up. We complained and after 2 hours paid 100 extra euros for a suite for 2 nights then moved to another room for 2 more nights.

The is no full english breakfast as was advertised. It was standard european stuff and not great either.

The hotel itself is falling apart. Huge cracks in all the walls and stains everywhere. There was mould in our suite aswell. No where is safe from the decay.

I asked for an iron at the front desk and was rudely told they don't have any. I asked again thinking she misunderstood and her response was WE HAVE LAUNDRY.

I asked for ice at the bar and once he realised i wasn't paying for a drink served 6 others before giving me a tiny bowl of ice. I asked for more and was basically told to piss off.
If one of the two fridges in the suite worked it wouldn't have been needed.

The roof top jacuzzis look diseased i never saw a single person use them and i went up there everyday to use the tiny gym in a glass sweatbox also on the roof.

The most enjoyable part of our stay was checking out.

We stayed prior to here in sicily aswell. In Catania at another 4 star place which was miles better so its not just sicily.

This astoria palace hotel is absolutely the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. Ive been to better campsites. Im even considering claiming my money back!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 029868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,362 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#17 of 98 in Palermo
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,892 reviews
Hotel Villa D'Amato
#37 of 98 in Palermo
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Palace Hotel

Address: Via Montepellegrino 62, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $42 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astoria Palace Hotel is an impressive building of 320 rooms situated at about 500 meter from the harbour of Palermo. Finally, a public bus will take you to Mondello, one of most important beach of the city. The building almost fully restructured in the year 2009 will offer you different services: 4 excellent restaurants, one bar in the main floor and one in our roof where you can enjoy of a wonderful view of all the city, 8 meeting- rooms (from 10 till 650 seats with all high tech facilities for demanding business guests) , health area, reception open 24 hours room service, laundry service FREE PARKING AND FREE INTERNET CONNECTION. All the rooms very cured in their furnishing offer all the comforts of a four stars category: Air conditioning, heating, digital tv, Wi-Fi connection, safety box, phone, minibar, hair dryer. Reserve your stay at Astoria Palace Hotel and enjoy of our staff’s attentions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astoria Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Palace Palermo
Hotel Astoria Palace
Astoria Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing