We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place!”
Review of Palazzo Trabucco

Palazzo Trabucco
Ranked #1,326 of 1,751 Restaurants in Palermo
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid this place!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We we're looking for somewhere to have a quick pizza on our last night in Sicily and we came across this place. Our experience was so bad that we we're compelled to post a review!

After sitting at the table we noticed a frosty atmosphere among the staff, which we soon found out was because the boss was criticising/shouting at the waiters and waitresses in front of everybody! We had to ask 3 times for someone to take our order. We ordered antipasto caldo to start. Don't order this. It was all deep-fried and overcooked and so everything tasted of fries.

The pizzas we ordered took 1 hour to come and then they were raw! We sent them back but then decided to just settle up and leave. So we paid for drinks and starter and the owner had the cheek to add a 1 euro cover!

The staff were all a bit clueless and unhelpful. We don't know if they were overworked, underpaid or just all having bad days! It was entertaining at first but it became annoying listening to the bickering over the sound of or rumbling stomachs!

We would recommend that if you don't like unhappy waiters, arguing staff, long waits and poor food then don't eat here! It was a disgrace to Italian culture and cuisine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robikelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    43
    38
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Over charged and did not care”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just came out of this restaurant half hour ago. We ordered our drinks and starters and asked for a couple of minutes to order main. And before we could even decide the mains the starters were on our table. Did not look right and after one tasteful decided not to eat the rest of the starters. It was all half cooked. I ordered the sicilian beef n out came potato croquettes instead. When asked for the bill all the bill said was 2 set menu at €25 each and we did not even order set meals. And on top of that they added coperoto which is cover charge for both of us. When we calculated the bill it only came to 35 including the so called cover charge. When we enquired the waitress and the guy sitting by the till (owner) started panicking..... Worst restaurant I have ever been. We had dinner at the resturant next to it yesterday and I would give 10 out of 10 for the restaurant next to it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suthaRasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinas Powys, Cymru
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“How does Risotto appear in four minutes?”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The answer is because in this restaurant it is no such thing. We both ordered prawn risotto - What came straight out of the kitchen was some spoonfuls of almost dry boiled rice (not risotto type) into which a little butter and a few tiny rubber prawns had been carelessly stirred. We should have fed it to the cat that strayed in. The two different fish mains were just about edible and as fresh as yesterday. The bread provided was dead. Smoke kept wafting in from the enclosed terrace.
This is the least conscientious restaurant I have visited in many years. There are many other competent choices locally

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crwydryn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant I've ever been to!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Only wandered into this tourist trap after being exhausted from walking the streets and desperate to find somewhere quick. Ordered mixed "antipasti caldo" (hot starters) which have had in other restaurants and have been panzarotte (croquettes filled with mashed potato and mozzarella) mozzarella in carrotza (mozzarella with bread and fried) but what appeared was a plate of fries (!) with a few deep fried attempts at this (clearly frozen stuff - not even as nice as aunt Bessie's croquette potatoes!) some of which were inedible (which is not known for me as I love anything deep fried!). Also ordered caponata which was ok.

For mains we ordered gnocchi with cream, mushrooms and ham which was packet gnocchi like you get in the uk which was ok, mushrooms were tinned. My mum ordered penne alla norma (tomato and Aunergine sauce) sauce was ok but penne half cooked (we like al dente but this was raw) and the worst dish which was inedible and not eaten was my husbands risotto with sausage which was like no risotto I've ever seen and had loads of wine which tasted raw as hadn't been cooked out. He had to leave it. All in all it was horrible and we couldn't understand why we heard Italians walking past to booked tables - we are not snobs but this was unbelievably bad food done on the cheap. Maybe the chef was having a bad day, who knows but coming from an Italian family I'd hope we would know what decent food was. I've never written a review before but felt compelled to write about this experience!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Inviting”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Although English was not spoken we had a waiter who was most helpful and we enjoyed our meal very much to the extent that we went back there on numerous occasions. The ristoranti is situated just off Via Vittorio Emanuele and close to Piazza Marina. We can recommend thieir Pizza and Sardines prepared Sicilian style and the pricing was not over the top.
House wine is also recommended.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank empirestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Trabucco also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Palazzo Trabucco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing