We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palermo luxe....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

It is quite easy to realize how terribly GRAND this hotel was in its heyday! Even today local Palermitanians dress "to he nines" when visiting the hotel. It is an oasis of period luxury set about a twenty euro taxi ride out of the center of town (but there is a local bus stop almost directly in front of the hotel). Stunning views over the water and the yacht harbour , gorgeous sunsets, etc. all add to the charm of the place. Very 5* (with a few quibbles, for instance, the staff at breakfast have got something of a superiority complex and for some reason they do not "do" salt and pepper --it took me at least 15 minutes for one of the two waiters I asked to dig up some salt and pepper for the scrambled eggs--). However, the place is a world unto itself and is definitely an institution in Palermo!

Room Tip: Ask for one on at least floor 3 with balcony and garden/harbour view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbararitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest ,
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our Hotel
I really appreciated your words on the style and atmosphere of the villa.
I and my staff we thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to Palermo.

Best regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

An old hotel a good way out of the city center that must have been the ultimate in elegant luxury before World War II and World War I. It now shows its age in many ways although it tries very hard to maintain that elegance. The restaurant succeeds in that elegance with its tableware, presentations, service and food preparation. But, at our visit in October (after the "season") the hotel was severely understaffed at the front desk, at baggage handling, valet service and concierge. Internet connection was free only in the lobby. There was an absurdly expensive charge to have internet connection in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stu f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
I thank you for having reviewed the grand hotel villa igiea.
Thanks for writing that The Villa is a truly grand older style hotel, this is the feeling that all visitors of the Villa should have. Me and my team are prouid to be part of this fantastic Hotel.
I am very sorry for the bad impression that my restaurant staff gave you . I will work hard through training to ensure that these problems do not happen to our other guests once again.
Regarding the quality of the cuisine I am deeply sorry because it did not meet your expectations In any case, I am pleased to inform you of our next opening of a gourmet restaurant called Cuvée du Jour that I am sure will meet your expectations and will satisfy even more during your next visit to Villa Igiea.
For this reason please let me know whenever you'll be back to Sicily because I would be happy to assit you during you reservation and to take care of you personally during your stay wuth us.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Grand Hotel Villa Igea is truly a grand older style hotel. High ceilings, elegant touches, and a beautiful, inviting cocktail lounge are the high points. The location is in a quiet area but not to far from the main sites in the city center. We stayed in a Tower Suite which was lovely, great view from the terrace, and comfortable King Bed. But dinner in the hotel was just average. The staff could be friendlier, especially after traveling in other parts of Sicily where the staff was always friendly and accommodating. We appreciated the free shuttle to the city center but it did not run that frequently.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Madam,


Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are very happy that you appreciated the style of our hotel and that the tower suite has fully met your expectations.

Regarding our staff, we were sorry to hear that did not make you a good impression. It is usually polite and friendly with our guests. Rest assured that i will personally investigate the matter.
We hope to have the opportunity of having you stay with us once again.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had just come from an abysmal experience at a hotel elsewhere in the city and the moment we arrived, we kicked ourselves for having considered spending time anywhere else. Grand, beautiful, historic, comfortable and the service was sublime. To be honest... we didn't leave the hotel once for the few days we were there because the food was delicious (yes, pricey), the pool was lovely and the views at sunset were breathtaking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cursedandblessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review of The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea. We are glad to see that you remark our hotel, the service offer and the location around. We were also pleased to hear that you appreciated our restaurant service and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again during your next visit in Palermo.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is like the ones we read of in novels, where the aristocracy came for the winter season in years past. Photos of past visitors- the King of Siam, King Edward VIII, Juan Carlos of Spain-line the halls. Large rooms & baths, the most comfortable beds we have had in Italy, a wonderful breakfast buffet on the terrace facing the ocean make up for the few spots that need repair.
The staff was very helpful. We were not overwhelmed by the dinner food but the appetizers and drinks on the patio bar, complete with pianist playing the "old songs" were great. Lots of little "goodies" came with each drink ordered and after our 4 course Italian lunch satisfied me in place of dinner. Would stay here again.
Internet in lobby & bar free-ask for password at desk. In room it cost 9Euro per day. A five star hotel should have free wi fi!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea say thank you for your generous comments and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed for seven nights and glad we were not put off by some of the reviews on this site.
Old hotel with old style charm and decor the staff were excellent the provided minibus to the beach and Palermo was really useful(and free). Yes the drinks were expensive but when you
take into the account the great breakfast (to 11.00) the views from the terrace and the free mini bus (to and from hotel) I think my end of stay bill was fair. The staff always seemed to be cleaning and I would recomend the Hotel as worth it.
Palermo is not a bad city if you prefer the roughness and character of southern Italy (like Naples) to the pretensioness ofTuscany
In all will be back to see more of Scilly.

Thanks

Mark

Room Tip: The hotel being as it is the sea front would have a high premium we had a standard room which we fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kinds words about our hotel.

We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.

We hope to welcome you back again as soon as possible.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Igiea in September for five nights. When we arrived weary and tired from our journey from Los Angeles, the concierge Serena, told us that everything would be taken care of. Everyone was so gracious and helpful. The rooms were large and elegant. The breakfast buffet on the terrace was delicious as well as the Sicilian dinner specialities with gorgeous views of the garden and the marina. We took advantage of the shuttle which we took into Palermo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giudita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for the time dedicated to write your impressions about your experience at our hotel.
we are very happy that you enjoyed our restaurant service and we thank you for your kind words about our staff.

We look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you once again at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#17 of 98 in Palermo
511 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $133 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing