We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

hotel needs work. I was there 10 yars ago and nothing has changed. service is slow and disorganized. Food in the hotel is very good. Grounds are beautiful but rooms need a real overhaul. The buildings are a maze and you can easily get confused as to which elevator to take to get to your room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchriscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are sorry you thought our hotel to be outdated, however please bear in mind that The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea dates back to the 19th century, making it over one century old. Periodically renovations are made in order to maintain the original structure designed by the famous architect, Ernesto Basile.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the service and we will look into the matter as our aim is to always satisfy our guests needs.

We look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you once again at our hotel.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely old hotel, best for Palermo, wonderful gardens, nice pool area. Good facilities for meals & beverages. A room on the corner of the tower looked like the best choice. Stunning gardens to wander around down to the waters edge.

Room Tip: Essential to have an ocean fronting room. Incredible view, if at back would not have been anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you once again.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Moved here for a couple of days after staying in the old part of Palermo to have a day or two to do nothing. Gardens are beautiful, pool stunning locations with plenty of sun lounges, breakfast, dining and bar areas just what you would expect from a gracious hotel. Only disappointment was that we had booked a sea view deluxe room expecting a room similar to those shown on the web site. Our room was in a separate new building to the side and our water view of a boat yard and the working foreshore. Room was very spacious and modern but it was disappointing not to be in the main part of the hotel in the old gracious rooms shown on the web sites. On making an enquiry I was told I had a deluxe sea view room. Maybe we had the worst position right down one end of the single level block , maybe they were better rooms than the older ones and the walk through the garden to breakfast was nice but check position & type of room when you book if you have a preference.
I would stay here again but ask for a room at the seaward end of the new block or in the main building a renovated room with a panoramic sea view.

Room Tip: Must have sea view room but check which part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel.

We were very sorry to hear about your mishap concerning your room. Unless a guest specifically requests a seaview room in the main building, we assign rooms according to reservations we receive. Had we known beforehand that you desired a room in the main building, we would have done our utmost to satisfy your request.

We hope to have the opportunity of having you stay with us once again.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This venue is worth staying at but their shuttle service could have a more ample schedule. They were kind enough to upgrade our room since the first one that they provided was not quite to our expectations. Breakfast al fresco was superb; tennis courts were in great condition, and the swimiming pool very inviting. Sunbathing areas were very agreable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dominic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with our shuttle service and have taken note of it.

We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us once again.

Best regards,

Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went to Hotel Villa Igea as per our friends' recommendation. We were beginning our trip through Sicily with Palermo as first stay. Our stay in Villa Igea was simply fabulous. The staft, our suite, the food, the different salons and the restaurant made this experience unforgetable. We will stay at this hotel on our next trip to Sicily and we have recommended it to all our friends. Fredy and Cristina Roversi.Venezuela

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank guataparo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We are very glad to hear that the stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea was to your satisfaction. Thank you very much for your positive comments.

We looking forward to welcoming you once again for your next trip to Sicily.

Best regards,
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Old hotel with old dirty rooms, broken showers, old furniture really terrible and I can't understand how it can be so expensive like a 5 star hotel!!!!! The only nice at this hotel is sea side, the rest I would say its maximum a no star village motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Global1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
first of all thank You for Your comments.We at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea are truly sorry that You were not satisfied with our hotel during your last stay.
Our main focus is to ensure our guests complete satisfaction. We, therefore, will take Your comments very seriously and ask You to accept our most profound apologies. We do hope that, perhaps, we will have the pleasure of having You stay with us once again.
Thank you, again.

Best Regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Probably the best hotel in Palermo and the only one right on the sea! A lot of early century charm as well... plus everything you expect from an up to date palace. This was my second stay and I will without doubt be coming back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ghibli1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGiglio, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Grand Hotel Villa Igiea.
Nothing gives us more pleasure than seeing that our guests are satisfied of their stay at our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards
Vito Giglio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#17 of 98 in Palermo
511 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Salita Belmonte 43, 90142, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Villa Igiea)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $133 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-STAR PALACE ON THE BEAUTIFUL COAST IN PALERMO The Grand Hotel Villa Igiea brings you a 5 star hotel experience in a sumptuous villa right on the Palermo coast, the historical capital of sun-soaked Sicily. The villa, restored by renowned Art Nouveau architect Ernesto Basile at the end of the 19th century for the Florio family, still has its original frescoes, decoration and furniture. We have added state-of-the art facilities and gastronomic restaurants for a sublime stay in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Palermo Hilton
Villa Igiea
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery By Sofitel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing