We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy B&B to experience Palermo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La via delle biciclette
Ranked #7 of 488 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We found this B&B on TripAdvisor and stayed for 3 nights during our first visit to Palermo. The B&B fully met our expectations: it is clean, cozy, and centrally located (walking distance from all points of interest). Breakfast is perfect (fresh fruit and sicilian pastries were my favorite but there is much more). The owners are lovely, they are super nice and knowledgeable about the city - and gave us plenty of ideas for things to see, eat, do etc. Chatting with them every morning over breakfast was a real pleasure... and we got to know Palermo a little better through their eyes. Overall we had a great experience here and would definitely want to come back.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 408 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Manlio & Manuella were really the perfect hosts . On arrival we were immediately offered water and were given an excellent, concise orientation guide to the four quarters of the city along with many brilliant recommendations for where to eat and when - extremely useful even though we already knew the city a little.

Their tip to arrive early (7-8pm) really does pay dividends - we would pass on 'Brioscia' for the fantastically generous ice cream, great looking staff and fun late night Palermitan crowd - for pizza try 'Frida' - they take this very seriously indeed and offered a friendly discount on M&M's recommendation. (Avoid places with grumpy looking tourists and excessively welcoming English speaking hosts on the door!)

The double room is nice, clean and simple and located on the second floor of very atmospheric crumbling historic pallazzo of the type you find all over Palermo and Catania. The neighbourhood is a rich mix of locals and newcomers - moments away from the crazy street life of the markets and filled with those bikes that give the place its name. The bathroom was huge and sweetly scented but a little inconveniently far from the bedroom - you couldn't have all the mod cons back in 1700!
Breakfasts are of the generous, groaning board Sicilian variety - freshly prepared fruit macedonia, strong caffe, all manner of sweet cakes and pastries - which though they may not suit the sucrose-intolerant, were absolutely fine by us- everyday please!

The Via Divisi is 3mins from the central station along the Via Roma which meant we could walk to the airport bus for our return flight in less than 10 mins door to door - ideal for our early flight home. We planned a single night but returned a week later for another 2 comfortable and homely nights at great value.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms - the larger, with a four-poster, has dedicated access its own bathroom and a street vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trysca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this B&B for two nights in Palermo. It's on a beautiful street - close to all the action, yet far enough away that you can get some peace and quiet. Rooms were very comfortable, and the host (a fluent French speaker) gave very good advice. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were in the triple room, and it was very large, and could easily sleep three people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63Jeremy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Manlio and Manuela have created a welcoming, quiet, haven in the busy city of Palermo. The B and B really is an easy walk from the bus stop at the central station when you arrive from the airport. The location is also very central, making it easy to explore the markets, churches and gather up the atmosphere of this fascinating city. This young couple are very welcoming and try to do everything they can to make your stay an excellent one. The large room and separate private bathroom were very clean. The decore is interesting and a little funky! Manlio was very helpful with suggestions for restaurants - these turned out to be just what we wanted to experience in Palermo. Back in the B and B the breakfasts of bowls of fresh seasonal fruit, sweet Sicilian treats , good coffee or tea, yoghurt etc were great, This is the place to stay in Palermo!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Located a stone's throw from Quatro Conti, the historic epicenter of old Palermo, La vie delle biciclette is quite fittingly situated on a sidestreet off Via Roma full of bike vendors. It's convenient to the city's three main markets as well as the bus and train stations and most other points of interest. From the outside, the building simply looks like another faded palazzo, but open the doors and wow! Their accommodations were a calm and quite oasis in the middle of a frenetic city. Decorating style was funky but carefully thought out with lots of antiques, fascinating knick-knacks, and gallery-quality photos they've taken. Our room was extremely large with a romantic canopy bed and the separate bathroom was atypical for Sicily in that it featured a sizable tub and ample hot water for a restful soak after a long day on the streets. Simple put, Manuela and Manlio are a couple of the sweetest people we met during five weeks of traveling in Sicily. They're a young, artistic, and very well educated couple with an extremely cute and well-behaved son — but don't worry, you'll neither see nor hear him during your stay except for perhaps a glance at his smiling face over breakfast. Freshly squeezed orange juice and big bowls of fruit salad each morning were wonderful! Immediately upon walking in after a long haul from the Aeolian islands, we were offered restorative espressos and supplied with helpful maps and business cards detailing a number of attractions and more importantly, local eating options, all of which turned out to be great. It was the perfect setting for the finale to our honeymoon on the island. We can't say enough nice things about this place!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank antoncataby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Quiet, clean, beautifully decorated B&B in a Palazzo in the heart of Palermo. Manlio and his wife were such great hosts--incredible helpful with great restaurant recommendations. Our room was spacious and comfortable. A very elegant place.

The breakfast was the best we had in our 12 days in Sicily--lots of fresh fruit (available at all hours during the day, by the way) and delicious cappucino. The little things make a difference too--like the fact that they have complimentary bottled water which you can take at any time.

Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottman527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

If you love meeting people and trying local food, the B&B would be ideal for you. That's why I'm regular here - stayed three times so far.
Whenever I go back, Maluera and Manlio give me a warm welcome - this year their cute prince joined! They are ready to give lots of tips: places to visit and eat (you cannot miss the places they suggest, esp. gelato, Bucatini con le sarde, Sicilian food products places!) Even before arrival, they kindly check timetables and do some research for me. If you want to buy nice Sicilian wine, ask them!
I'm sure I'll go back again soon! Arrivederc!i



I

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
B&B Porta Nuova
#4 of 488 in Palermo
418 reviews
Politeama
B&B 10 Serpotta
B&B 10 Serpotta
#6 of 488 in Palermo
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Casa Galati
#8 of 488 in Palermo
223 reviews
Liberta' Bed And Breakfast
#10 of 488 in Palermo
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La via delle biciclette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La via delle biciclette

Address: Via Divisi 74, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 488 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range: $51 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La via delle biciclette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Via Delle Biciclette Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing