We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely flat in the historic centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La via delle biciclette
Ranked #9 of 472 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely flat in the historic centre”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The rooms are on the top floor of a beautiful old palazzo in the heart of the city. You will probably get the best out of this B&B if, like us, your party books both rooms. This way you basically have the entire flat to yourself - as the owners live in a separate self-contained flat in the same building.
The flat itself is very nice, and feels entirely like a home.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MEP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    30
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
228
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

La Via Delle Biciclette is a wonderful B/B with spacious accommodation, beautifully decorated rooms and magnificent views across the Old City and to the bicycle repair shops below from the upper floor balconies; Manlio and Manuela proved to be invaluable owners as they provided a local map/business cards and personal guidance as to sights, markets and restaurants in the 4 areas of Old Palermo thus saving us hours of fruitless searching in the intense heat; so forget the standard dull hotel option and experience a magic B/B with hosts offering genuine warmth of greeting and service second to none; Excellent rating is hardly good enough for such a fine B/B.

Room Tip: loved the old antique camera and Minerva tv display in the lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colm o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This B&B is close to everything you would want to see in Palermo. All the historic buildings of Old Palermo and just a few blocks from the train/bus terminal. My advice if you are flying in is to take the bus to the main station which relatively inexpensive. If you wish Manlio will pick you up from the airport for a nominal fee also.
La Via delle biciclette in owned by two very friendly & warm people Manuela and Manlio..they are extremely knowledgeable of Old Palermo and their recommendations for local restaurants hits the mark every time.
As you gaze off the balcony of the street below you can not help but be immersed in the local culture (which is always our goal when traveling).
The B&B itself is clean and simple as most B$B"s are. But what makes this one stand out is the wonderful care that Manuela and Manlio give to their guests. Their breakfasts remind me of how my Sicilian grandmother would set a table, plenty of food, juice, coffee and variety.
When in Palermo my wife and I will stay here again!
Grazie mille Manuela and Manlio.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystallakecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

La Via Delle Biciclette is a B&B located smack in the middle of the old city and within walking distance of everything. Manuela (professional photographer) e Manlio (former hospitality professional) are wonderful hosts who are conversant in English and dedicate themselves to caring for their guests. The B&B is a 2 bedroom/2bath (with full kitchen and parlor) flat in an old home built back around 1650 for a royal sibling. Extremely clean . . . you can walk barefoot or in white socks throughout the B&B without a spec of dirt to be found on the bottoms of your feet! Manuela will create an authentic and tasty Sicilian breakfast for you, and for a very modest cost . . . Manlio will pick you up and/or return you to the airport. We arrived at La Via Delle Biciclette as strangers, but departed friends after three nights. My wife, friends and I would not consider staying at any other place in Palermo when we next return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skane Lan, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We found this place via Tripadvisor and I can only agree with all the positive feedback and ratings! The B&B is located in the old part of Palermo with walking distance to all the magnificent places, historical buildings, and the main station if you want to travel to other places. Our hosts Manlio and Manuela offered the best service at the B&B and with helping out with our other plans during our stay in Palermo and surroundings.
The rooms were spacious and always clean, the breakfast very tasty and fresh and we were always welcomed with the kindest hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I were reminiscing about our November 2012 trip to Sicily last night, and it occurred to me that I never got around to reviewing this wonderful establishment. The hospitality began right at the Punta Raisi Airport, where Manlio and Manuela (the owners) had agreed to pick us up for an extremely reasonable price. Once we arrived, they good-naturedly helped us bring our absurdly heavy luggage up the narrow palazzo steps and into the oasis of calm that is La Via delle Biciclette. As other reviewers have described, it is conveniently located right near the Ballaro Market and a host of beautiful Palermo churches (and, just as importantly, legendary street-food joints), and has a wonderful balcony view over the domes of churches and onto a street known for its bicycle shops. It is the owner's hospitality, however, that most defines the place. They made themselves available at all hours to provide advice on sightseeing, dining and getting around. The restaurants they recommended were all unique and genuine Palermitan experiences, and they perfectly met all my specific requests--the most authentic ariancini, the best milza (spleen) sandwich, the freshest seafood, the best late-night gelato, and so on. Ask them to direct you toward a restaurant (I can't remember the name--Vecchio?) that bills itself as a "trattoria rosa e nero" and offers delicious Palermitan cuisine at rock-bottom prices in an atmosphere of fanatical yet family-friendly Palermo football fandom. They even gave us historical info about Palermo baroque, Sicilian puppetry, and so on. Finally, they were extremely helpful with getting to our next destination--they insisted on giving us a complimentary ride to the bus station and on calling the ferry operator in Trapani multiple times in advance regarding the dicey weather for getting out to the island of Marettimo. The whole experience felt kind of like visiting old friends who just happen to live in a restored Palermo palace. Superb--we'll be staying there should we ever return to that wonderful city. You should too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TooranEhsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

First time to Palermo (to Sicily), and we stayed at this property for 3 nights.
From the street front its nothing special but once inside, the interiors are incredible. The building itself is a restored18th century palace, and the B&B takes up a portion of the top level. Our room was very comfortable and since it only as 2 rooms, it really does feel like you are staying in your own apartment. Manuela and Manlio were really wonderful hosts. Every restaurant that Manlio recommended us were superb, and Manuela made us fresh, delicious breakfast every morning.
Location was also good, we walked everywhere in Palermo anyway as its not a huge city.
The only downside was the noise - We had a room with a balcony but the noises of Palermo traffic can get a bit much sometimes. But we got used to it in the end.
Overall a really excellent stay, and would love to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi_yo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
443 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#9 of 98 in Palermo
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
B&B 10 Serpotta
B&B 10 Serpotta
#3 of 472 in Palermo
371 reviews
B&B Casa Galati
#7 of 472 in Palermo
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La via delle biciclette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La via delle biciclette

Property: La via delle biciclette
Address: Via Divisi 74, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 472 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La via delle biciclette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Via Delle Biciclette Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing