We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place and people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La via delle biciclette
Ranked #8 of 466 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malmö, Skane Lan, Sweden
1 review
“Superb place and people!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We found this place via Tripadvisor and I can only agree with all the positive feedback and ratings! The B&B is located in the old part of Palermo with walking distance to all the magnificent places, historical buildings, and the main station if you want to travel to other places. Our hosts Manlio and Manuela offered the best service at the B&B and with helping out with our other plans during our stay in Palermo and surroundings.
The rooms were spacious and always clean, the breakfast very tasty and fresh and we were always welcomed with the kindest hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    30
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
227
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I were reminiscing about our November 2012 trip to Sicily last night, and it occurred to me that I never got around to reviewing this wonderful establishment. The hospitality began right at the Punta Raisi Airport, where Manlio and Manuela (the owners) had agreed to pick us up for an extremely reasonable price. Once we arrived, they good-naturedly helped us bring our absurdly heavy luggage up the narrow palazzo steps and into the oasis of calm that is La Via delle Biciclette. As other reviewers have described, it is conveniently located right near the Ballaro Market and a host of beautiful Palermo churches (and, just as importantly, legendary street-food joints), and has a wonderful balcony view over the domes of churches and onto a street known for its bicycle shops. It is the owner's hospitality, however, that most defines the place. They made themselves available at all hours to provide advice on sightseeing, dining and getting around. The restaurants they recommended were all unique and genuine Palermitan experiences, and they perfectly met all my specific requests--the most authentic ariancini, the best milza (spleen) sandwich, the freshest seafood, the best late-night gelato, and so on. Ask them to direct you toward a restaurant (I can't remember the name--Vecchio?) that bills itself as a "trattoria rosa e nero" and offers delicious Palermitan cuisine at rock-bottom prices in an atmosphere of fanatical yet family-friendly Palermo football fandom. They even gave us historical info about Palermo baroque, Sicilian puppetry, and so on. Finally, they were extremely helpful with getting to our next destination--they insisted on giving us a complimentary ride to the bus station and on calling the ferry operator in Trapani multiple times in advance regarding the dicey weather for getting out to the island of Marettimo. The whole experience felt kind of like visiting old friends who just happen to live in a restored Palermo palace. Superb--we'll be staying there should we ever return to that wonderful city. You should too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TooranEhsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

First time to Palermo (to Sicily), and we stayed at this property for 3 nights.
From the street front its nothing special but once inside, the interiors are incredible. The building itself is a restored18th century palace, and the B&B takes up a portion of the top level. Our room was very comfortable and since it only as 2 rooms, it really does feel like you are staying in your own apartment. Manuela and Manlio were really wonderful hosts. Every restaurant that Manlio recommended us were superb, and Manuela made us fresh, delicious breakfast every morning.
Location was also good, we walked everywhere in Palermo anyway as its not a huge city.
The only downside was the noise - We had a room with a balcony but the noises of Palermo traffic can get a bit much sometimes. But we got used to it in the end.
Overall a really excellent stay, and would love to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi_yo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

La Via delle Biciclette B&B has it all: The hosts are wonderful (Manlio and his wife are warm, welcoming, helpful -- you wish you were friends with them!). The location is perfect; it is centrally located, very close to the Ballarò market and the quattro canti. The building ("palazzo") is grandiose, built in the 1700s and historically classified as a monument. There are only two rooms in the B&B (one with en-suite bathroom and the other with a huge private bathroom outside the room) so great care is taken to make sure all your needs are met. Towels are changed every day on request and the bed is made every morning. The main common room is charming, filled with great picture books, fun props like a vintage radios and TV (they belonged to Manlio's grandmother), and furnished with two cozy couches. There is free Wi-Fi and you can help yourself to unlimited bottles of fresh water for your Palermo excursions.

Our beautiful room had a huge comfortable bed with bed posts and white veils all around, a lovely balcony with a view of Palermo's rooftops, and ample room to store our things. Breakfast is served in the eat-in kitchen with balcony, and we were even treated to home-made French toast topped with fresh fruit one morning! A lovely touch. Our private bathroom outside the room was very spacious, with a full bathtub and a shower. I highly recommend this gem of a B&B. Via delle Biciclette fully deserves their excellent rating. If I return to fascinating Palermo, I will stay here again. Thank you for a perfect stay!

Room Tip: The double room with balcony (private bathroom outside the room) is more luminous and benefits from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missflea1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at La via delle biciclette and really enjoyed our stay. It's run by this lovely couple who helped us plan our trip. We had a triple room and it was great. It is such a central location yet when you are in the room it's so quiet you feel like in the countryside. It offers great rest from the city which is indeed very laud and busy. The room was great, spacious and very clean, the bathroom was spotless.
We loved the location. 10min walk from the central station so you get off the bus from the airport and within minutes you are in the apartment. Make sure you catch a train to Cefalu. It's only 1hr away but makes such a great day trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srubka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

You wouldn't expect it from the outside, but the b&b is so beautifully decorated with many colours and nice furniture. The host couple is very friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night but it definitively is a place to stay longer. We even didn't have a problem to find a parking place for the car around a corner and arrived around 14 o'clock, so traffic was ok. The place is very central.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkolassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very personable hosts Marco and Manuela and clean comfortable rooms make this a good choice. The 2 rooms in this B & B are about 4 easy blocks from the main railroad station in the historic medieval section of the city- not at all hard to find with the directions on their website. The street is full of bicycle shops so it is hard to miss. This house is inconspicuously marked so the address number is vital to have along. The entrance door leads to a large dark courtyard and access to the rooms is up 68 steps, although Marco was very helpful in carrying our luggage up to the top. The rooms are very clean and appropriately furnished, one with an en suite bathroom and the other with a dedicated bathroom down the hall. A living room available for guest use is part of the apartment, but the hosts also used the computer located there at times. Free Wi-Fi was readily available. Thick walls throughout meant relative quiet for a central city location. The hosts were vey helpful with restaurant suggestions as well as accommodating other requests. Marco even drove us to the rental car location the morning that we left. A good European breakfast rounded out the amenities. Although Marco and Manuela are not fluent in English, we managed very well together (with some help from Google Translate). Althogether a great choice for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
436 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#8 of 98 in Palermo
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
B&B 10 Serpotta
B&B 10 Serpotta
#3 of 466 in Palermo
371 reviews
B&B Casa Galati
#12 of 466 in Palermo
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La via delle biciclette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La via delle biciclette

Property: La via delle biciclette
Address: Via Divisi 74, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La via delle biciclette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Via Delle Biciclette Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing