We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“2Weeks in an Amazing Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Sant'Agostino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Sant'Agostino
Ranked #36 of 428 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2Weeks in an Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sant Agostino BB is an amazing restructured building in the heart of Palermo.
It's situated inside the "Il Capo" Market one of the oldest and most typic markets of the city.
Although the rough tiny traditional Sicilian road full of stalls and people, once you get inside the door of the San't Agostino BB you feel like you're in heaven. There's no sound and everything is tidy and clean. You can forget about the rest of the world and relax. It's also beautiful and curated in every detail. All the people that work there are friendly and extremely helpful.
I was there for two weeks and I have to say I will remember it forever.
I felt better than my own home.
There's a back garden that is just great and I bet in the summer is even better!
The building that is all part of the bb (this made me feel very SAFE) is full of amazing paintings and sculptures by the same artist and the walls are frescoes following the old Baroque style. The forniture are quite modern and very functional but of good taste.
The kitchen is above all dreams and you can use it to cook your own dinner or lunch as well.
The staff is available only in the morning from 7 to 11:30 for the breakfast otherwise if you need something you can call them and they always try to help.
There's also a lift if you don't fancy to walk the stairs (1 floor).
In the room there are: tv, blowdryer, hand soap, air conditioning, towels and amazing warm bedsheets and throws.
In the main room where the breakfast tables are there's also an electronic black baby grand piano, that we played. There's also a nice guitar and a Computer you can use to connect.
The internet is wireless and it gets into most of the rooms.
I haven't found a supermarket close to the bb but you can get most of what you need in the actual market, since you're IN it. There's a small coop in via Maqueda about 15mins walk.
The bb is VERY close to the Teatro Massimo di Palermo (2 mins walk) and it's close to Vucciria Market (20mins) and to via Maqueda.
15 mins walk to Teatro Politeama and also to the bus that goes to the airport.

The owner also have little apartments to rent around the corner from the bb, but I like the bb experience a lot more and seeing other people in the morning.
I really recommend it if you're working person, if you're a student it may be a bit expensive.
Will go again.

Room Tip: I was in the room Number 1 that has it's door on the Breakfast lounge. LOVED IT. But I have als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinevraBoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    21
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
54
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

B & B Sant'Agostino is a delightful place to stay in the heart of Palermo. Located on a market street, this former palace has been recently refurbished. All rooms have artworks by the owner's father, a really friendly and hospitable young guy. Terrace, breakfast room with piano, reading room, and bedrooms that are brand new and comfortable. All together makes B & B Sant'Agostino a special acommodation. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This little gem was recommended to me by a friend who lives in Palermo and I'm very glad indeed to have found it. It is a newly and tastefully renovated townhouse on a characterful market street a stone's throw from all the sights. I stayed a week and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. It has all mod cons, including (free) fast wifi. The young owner and the rest of the staff were helpful, welcoming, and discreet. It was a pleasure to return to this haven of peace after a day in fascinating but chaotic Palermo. Finally, the B&B is adorned with some fine sculptures and paintings by the owner's father, which make it extra-special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VC1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Since I have “an honor” to give a first review to this B&B , newly opened – I will try to be as descriptive as I can .
One thing from the get-go : I stayed there for a week and I was very happy .
The location cannot be beat. It is 2-3 minutes walk to Teatro Massimo and upscale shopping streets where the whole town seems to take an evening stroll, 7-10 minutes of unhurried walk to surrounding museums and architectural masterpieces that abound in old town, nightlife and food places are a stone throw away . The street itself turns into a marketplace every day – you can get anything from the most amazing ( and surreally cheap ) local produce to clothing and gifts. Don’t worry , the market starts quite late and doesn’t disturb jet-lagged sleep :-)
The street is pedestrian-only which is a mixed blessing : if you have tons of suitcases call ahead for assistance ( it was easy though ) since cars can only make it to about two blocks away.
But when you hear, see and smell street traffic you will fully appreciate car-free zone.
The building is a very ancient looking townhouse newly restored, in and out. There is no hotel sign - so pay attention to the address given. You enter through the massive door to get into a lobby area
( lots of marble and some great artwork ). There is an elevator – and , hooray , it is not ancient but a modern see-through glass contraption ( if you have been to one of those ,musty, tiny, dangerously wobbly elevators in old hotels you know what I mean ).
On check-in we were given a set of keys - for our room as well as a for the front door. We were free to roam unchecked at any time of day or night . Streets ,by the way, felt safest of any European city I remember- even in prim and proper places in Northern Europe one can encounter unpleasantly drunk hordes of young men loitering aimlessly looking for trouble. Not here. I felt at 2AM just as safe as in midday.
The room and setting looks exactly like the photographs on hotel’s website. A surprise , because quite often “official” glam photos are far cry from ugly cavernous spaces travelers encounter ( thank you, Tripadvisor for letting us know the truth from fellow wonderers ). You can judge for yourself, I did some photos just for fun…
Our room was a very large size with slanted high ceiling , windows facing the street. AC is silent and very good and you control it yourself. The bed was just right – not too soft and not too hard. Bedding and linens were high quality, just as was a trim and detailing in a room and bathroom space. The whole space is very tastefully done and decorated .
Common area is very spacious and consists of dining room with gorgeous painted cove ceiling ( internet station is in this room as well ) a media room with large TV and fantastic paintings and art, kitchen ( a dream kitchen , I might add – I wish I could have it in my own house ) and a courtyard terrace which is a delightful place to relax and have a drink.
Complimentary breakfast was I think what is called “an expanded continental”: pastries, croissants, selection of jams , toast, yoghurt , fresh fruits , juice , coffee – both American and espresso. While I am not without a sin of pigging out on free stuff ( hoping to walk it off later in the day ) I found myself barely partaking of coffee with some sweets. The reason is late dinners, a local tradition which you are forced to join – where a dinner starts well after 9PM and lasts into wee hours.
Staying for a business trip ( seriously ) I didn’t feel deprived of any basic business amenities either: free wireless internet , a station with fax, scanner/printer. “Mailboxes etc” nearby – the ONLY place to send mail ( if you like your mail really slow , try Italian Post office, close by as well ).
Finally , people who run the hotel. I must disclaim here that I am no fan of B&Bs style of hotels , I travel close to 200 days a year and unlike leisure travelers I like my hotels to be predictable and somewhat impersonal. I have no time to socialize and I am always leery of owners who like to sit and chat for hours in front of a fireplace.
Having said that, I must say that this stay exceeded all my expectations – by a huge margin, and not in a small part by a human factor. The owner is a lovely young lady - discreet, sweet and friendly without ever hovering. She was always there when we needed her and happy to offer any advice. Other than that she was unseen and unheard.
The housekeeping part was done without ever inconveniencing my erratic schedule ( don’t you hate when a cleaning lady makes you feel like you are impeding on HER schedule by staying too long in your room? ).
I would be hard pressed to find anything that leaves more to be desired. If I was to nit-pick :-) I wish for more stylish dining room furniture – there is something of a clash between ceiling frescoes and plastic chairs with plain square tables. Another thing ( most of Italian hotels suffer from it ) , toiletries!
Little pouches of generic hair/body soap just don’t go well with upscale feel of the hotel.
I always carry my set of L’Occitaine just for those occasions so I didn’t feel deprived :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank liska73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Stupor Mundi
#5 of 428 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Tribunali
La via delle biciclette
La via delle biciclette
#2 of 428 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Bed & Breakfast Panormus
Bed & Breakfast Panormus
#37 of 428 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Palazzo Reale
B&B Porta di Castro
B&B Porta di Castro
#11 of 428 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
B&B Porta Nuova
#8 of 428 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Sant'Agostino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Sant'Agostino

Property: B&B Sant'Agostino
Address: Via Sant'Agostino 174, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 428 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Sant'Agostino 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B is a fully renovated nineteenth century building (the work was completed in October 2010); it has retained the grace and charm of a period house, but also provides every comfort, making it the ideal place for an unforgettable stay. The hotel has three floors and consists of 9 large rooms with private bathrooms, each with a unique atmosphere made magical by a breathtaking view of the market alleys and rooftops of the city.For longer stays or small groups, three stylish self contained apartments, consisting of bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and living area, are also available. Breakfast, served in the beautiful lounge, is prepared on the same day with local organic products and according to your tastes and needs. The lounge, with comfortable sofas and armchairs, satellite TV, wireless and internet point is perfect for relaxing. The flowery terrace is the ideal setting to enjoy an aperitif made with local produce, enjoying a stunning view of the cathedral, the royal palace and the picturesque rooftops of the old city. With their interior garden, the great frescoed room and the fully equipped kitchen, the premises are also suitable, at the request of the guests, for musical evenings, themed dinners and other exclusive events. We are always keen to offer plenty of suggestions and all our expertise to enrich your holiday in Palermo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HRS, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your B&B Sant'Agostino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Sant'Agostino Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing