We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Casa Giuditta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Giuditta
Ranked #375 of 478 Palermo B&B and Inns
Minnesota
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We arrived at the airport and Donnatella picked us up.She gave us a brief tour of the city along the way. We arrived at the apartment and were greeted by the owners smiling son which was a wonderful way to be greeted after a day of travel. We were shown into a BEAUTIFUL apartment. It was nice to have two beds in two seperate rooms instead of one room. As a group of three it was nice to have that privacy. The apartment was extremely clean, from the beds being made and well swept floors. There was a bit of a chill the first night and Salvo not only turned up the heat a bit, but placed a space heater in the main bedroom to ensure our comfort.

The only even slight problem we came across was our stove was out of gas, but a phone call got it fixed that day. Salvo was very proactive in his managing by inspecting the apartment himself and the day after we arrived, he came in and replaced the light bulbs in our lamps. For smokers, we have two in the party, it is a non smoking apartment. But there are two balconies which you can smoke. It was a mixed blessing as we were out on the balcony, observing the neighborhood at times when, otherwise, we wouldn't have been outside.

The apartment is right near Roma ( the main drag) and there are lots of street vendors selling great wares at reasonable prices. Given the chance, i would be very happy to stay here again.

Donnatella and Salvo- Thank you for the wonderful trip to Sicily!
--The Kelly Family

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyfammn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    9
    17
    14
See reviews for
18
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We were contacted before we arrived to confirm our time of arrival and met at the apartment when we did arrive. We were upgraded to a suite, which was super. Lovely bedroom in the attic area with a big sitting room and big kitchen.

Breakfast was served at a nearby cafe (crossant and coffee).

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiddyMulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Everything about our stay was unpleasant. First of all, we were told to meet our hostess on a street corner, so we parked the car, unloaded our bags, and waited. When she showed up late, she told us to repack the car and follow her to the actual apartment. So, off we went driving through the streets of Palermo. When we finally arrived, I was disappointed with the one-room we were given. No windows, except for in the bathroom (and that opened up to nothing), although there was a door to a patio that we could use. Unfortunately, the handle was broken and we couldn't open it. The shower head was broken as well and the floors were also wet as they had obviously just finished cleaning it before we got there (probably why she was late). To their credit, someone did come the next day to fix these things.

We were told we had to pay cash for the room, even though on their website it said they accept credit cards and I had guaranteed the reservation with my Mastercard. We then had to trek through the city on foot to find a bank machine so I could withdraw the money needed to pay for the room. That night, it was difficult to sleep because we could clearly hear the television of the neighbors next door (and their screaming kids), and somewhere in the building was a dog that would NOT stop barking.

After two days in the room, our bags and the clothes in them were musty and damp, as were the sheets on the bed. I was so glad to get out. The topper, however, was that friends of ours were also staying in the city and they found a fantastic full-sized apartment (living room, kitchen, separate bedrooms) for 25 euro a night less than what we were paying!

Really not a place I would recommend. The only saving grace was that we spent so much time sightseeing in and around Palermo that we hardly spent any time in the room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGiuditta, owne at Casa Giuditta, responded to this review, August 23, 2009
We very much regrets with this customers who did not like the accommodation. We have may accommodations and we could change to them.
For us 49 euro per night (overall price they paid) for 2 persons to have an apartment with Sat tv, bath, kitchen, Wi-fi internet, towels and lines included, terrace, is a bargain. Just inside historical centre.
As customer itself says we promptly fixed what was wrong in the apartment.
However, strange but true, most complains come from customers who pay less..... we think we should increase the prices in the end...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palermo hotels

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We stayed at this apartment for 4 nights and I really have no complaints about the property or the owners but...
Make sure that you have made contact with the owners and confirm the time you expect to be there and where to meet. You WILL need a mobile phone, trust me.
We booked through lastminute.com were told nothing else and thats why we were left scratching our heads in front of an apartment building with no one around to speak to.

Firstly I had no idea that we were supposed to call the owners on arrival, this was not made clear by either the owners or lastminute.com. An improvement in communication is needed.
We found the place eventually as it is tucked away on a very small road which is not on most maps. Luckily we spoke to a very friendly cafe/bar owner who gave us the property owners contact details, he must see many puzzled tourists wandering around nearby!
It took some time to finally make contact but eventually we met up and again there was some confusion in whether we needed to pay - we had already paid in full through lastminute and surely the owners should know this. Only little things I know but it can be stressful when you've been travelling for the whole day.

Otherwise the apartment was great, nice balcony, some croissants etc in the kitchen, not exactly super modern but this is Palermo after all and you get to stay right in the middle of the locals. Plenty of kitchen equipment if you want to cook and I'd recommend you do go to the central food markets and pick up some of the fresh fish and vegetables, amazing quality.
The location of the apartment is fine, not too far from city centre (train bus etc), probably about 15 min walk, you'll find your way around after a day or two. Four days was long enough to see this town.

  • Liked — Traditional Palermo apartment
  • Disliked — Communication problems
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2008

hallo Casa Giuditta!!!!
Thanks very much everythinghs was exellent!!!the service of pick up was on time and the hostess Donatella was very kindly. compliments for your appartament: it's in a good area, beautiful and complite of everythings, the restaurant near that you suggest us was very good and the persons were so friendly! if we retourn to Palermo we contect you for sure!!!! thanks

romy

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zeine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

We chose Casa Giuditta because it was reasonably priced for a family of 5. We caught a cab from the airport which was very expensive. We were told to wait at a cafe around the corner from the accommodation. There seems to be some arrangement with the owner of this cafe. People wait there until the agent for the accommodation comes with the key to let you in plus collects your payment.
Well we waited and WAITED!!!! for about 2 hours. We were exhausted after catching a 6am flight from London meaning we had been up since 4.30am. My husband and the kids went for a walk but I felt trapped & uncomfortable just hanging around at the cafe. The owner took pity on me & the kids eventually and took us to another location which he had the keys for. I have no idea who owned this place or if its part of the Casa Giuditta houses because it was in the opposite direction to the house that we were meant to be staying in. The woman (Rosanna I think) eventually turned up.
Now it was my turn to stuff her around b/c I was short about 30 euro since we had been severely ripped off by the cab driver. So Rosanna agreed to drive me to the nearest handibank so I could withdraw some money. Well the driving was pretty freaky but then she took me to the wrong bank I couldnt withdraw. I told her the railway would have the right teller so eventually got there & of course I was right & so paid her the difference.
When back at the accom. Salvo turned up I believe he is the manager. He seemed like a friendly person & apologised for the delay.
This house was 2 storey. Double bed & single upstairs and a sofa bed downstairs. Bathroom downstairs was newly renovated but unfinished. The bathroom upstairs was OK but shower had no pressure. Upstairs beds were OK, the sofa bed was very old but sheets seemed clean.
Very few utensils to cook with and little crockery. Kitchen area needed a good clean.
This accom overlooks a delapidated house. It didnt worry us we thought it was kind of interesting. Neighbours very loud but we kind of liked the true Sicilian experience.
Despite the obvious set up we went back to the cafe & had some meals there. It was quite reasonably priced.
Walking back from the railway at night was a bit foolish & I guess we were quite lucky not to be mugged.

  • Liked — It could accommodate 5 and was affordable.
  • Disliked — Waiting for the agent to let us into the accommodation.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank serenity44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGiuditta, Owner at Casa Giuditta, responded to this review, May 31, 2008
I understand this customer had 3 problems:
1) They pay too much for taxi from airport
2) They wait that our hostess meet him
3) The apartment was ok but the view from the balcony not

our answer:

1) We offer to the customers a pick up from airport for 35 euro. Customers think this is too much and in they end they pay 80 euro with taxi. City center from airport is one hour drive and about 40 km.
2) We ask to all customers to give arrival time. We wait them one hour around the time they give. We offer apartments, if you arrive in the middle of the night without inform us for sure you will wait
3) The inside of apartment was good. Palermo still suffer about 2nd world war destructions, especially in the historical center. So nice repaired building (like ours) lie near still destroyed constructions.
This is Palermo, it is its peculiarity, if you wish something more sterilized, go to Switzerland !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2008

Based on our experience, we strongly advise against staying in Casa Giuditta in Palermo. We had booked for 3 nights and we expected to stay near the train station. Instead we were given a flat which was a long way from the train station or the centre of the city. The woman who met us told us that we would have to get the bus to get from the flat to central Palermo and there were no buses in the evening. She also said she would give us a bigger map which included the flat but it turned out the flat wasn't even on this larger map. When we complained about the change of address, she told us that this was due to an electricity problem in the flat where we were going to stay originally. However when we spoke to her boss later on he gave us a completely different excuse. When we said that we no longer wanted to stay in Casa Giuditta in Palermo, he told us that he knew for sure that everywhere else was booked because of the Easter holiday. Yet in the end we found a room in central Palermo at a comparable price after just 2 attempts. It was very disappointing that they did not tell us at the outset but acknowledged that the flat was a long way only after we had asked to see it on the map. Generally, a very stressful and frustrating experience that we would not recommend to anyone.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul48475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaGiuditta, owner at Casa Giuditta, responded to this review, June 2, 2008
We had a technical problem with one of our apartments and we propose another solution.
It was easter holiday and it was very difficult to find place.

This is normal, accident can happen.
They did not accept the solution we offer so we:

1) Immediately refund the little deposit they pay
2) By our car and our hostess we carry them for free find another solution at the similar price. We where lucky that one hotel received a cancel just few hours before.

We want to say that according to the rules of in the system where they booked, that is the cheapest in the marked, we are obliged only to refund, not to carry tourist around or find alternatives.

We did the best that an hotelier can do in this situation, and we do not think this customers suffer to much.

We want to underline that this couple shout and offended our staff and our work when that try to solve the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
3.8 mi away
Casena dei Colli
Casena dei Colli
#38 of 101 in Palermo
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porta Felice
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 101 in Palermo
798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Sitano
Hotel Palazzo Sitano
#37 of 101 in Palermo
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
San Paolo Palace Hotel Centro Congressi
6.9 mi away
Splendid Hotel La Torre
Splendid Hotel La Torre
#1 of 1 in Mondello
403 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Giuditta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Giuditta

Property: Casa Giuditta
Address: Via Savona 10 | Piazza Della Kalsa, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 478 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Giuditta 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Giuditta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Giuditta Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing