We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel nicely maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Centrale Palace
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Walking into the foyer was like walking into a grand palace. Seating areas were secluded and quiet. The common areas could have been party rooms back in its hay day. There was even a floor with a glass cut out looking down to the room below. There was a definite opulence to the hotel. Our room, a junior suite was spacious and clean. The terrace overlooked an apartment so not much privacy there.
Matteo, at the front desk was very helpful with all of our needs. The two porters that attended to us, Ahmed and Antonio were both very helpful even with the language barrier.
The hotel is in a good location. Only drawback is having a car at check in as there is no place to park while checking in. However, the porters parked our car in their garage as soon as we checked in. Just a bit chaotic to be in limbo in a main street.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smedley495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

After reading many, many reviews of the Central Palace online, our expectations were very low.
We choose the CP for it's location, which is excellent. We found our room to be very clean and quiet, the staff was quietly helpful and the rooftop bar was an oasis to escape from the maddening crowds, below in the streets. Overall, I would have to say, we were very pleased.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rww040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Booked at Centrale Palace after reading Tripadvisor reviews. It's location is central: an easy walk to the opera house, the Quattro Canti,the Palatine chapel, the great shopping on Via della Liberta, the train station, the Catacombs, and many interesting restaurants. The hotel is very clean, orderly, and professionally staffed. We had a lovely housekeeper who never failed to greet us cheerfully and enthusiastically every day even though we had no language in common. The front desk staff were attentive, courteous, and resolved some very minor problems in our room promptly. Breakfast is served in a beautiful room, dishes are replaced promptly, and the food was delicious. My husband especially enjoyed the cannoli every day. Our junior suite in room 123 was very spacious, very clean and well lit, with plenty of storage. We had no view but we were in the middle of a city and the rooftop bar has something of a view. The bartender there, Roberto, is a special asset of this hotel. He is a unique personality and made us feel especially welcome, often going out of his way to accommodate us. We wish him well.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maureen1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A comfortable place to stay in excellent position in centre of Palermo. Good but unexciting breakfast in lovely room - part of old palace. Slow concierge service, and not much English spoken. Take great care in Palermo at night - we were mugged by two young men on a motorbike and luckily held onto our possessions. It is not a friendly place in the dark. Lovely visit to The Palatine Chapel - outstanding gold mosaics - from 1050!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed nice. Fairly similarly decorated. Excellent shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50yearoldcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were able to find the hotel using our GPS but the surrounding area was very difficult to navigate due to one-way streets and congestion. The bellman was great and helped us move our luggage and park the car. We had a problem with the toilet in our room (wouldn't stop running) but the bellman came to the rescue for that as well. The room was comfortable although the balcony opened up into the apartment building just a few feet away. The hotel bar only had one person working and he was slow and didn't keep up with arriving guests. Most of the tables hadn't been cleaned and we left before we were ever served. We ended up having drinks using the mini-bar in our room. The area around the hotel was not the best at night, at least not to newcomers. During the day however things were much better and there was a lot to see within walking distance. Breakfast was very good. We weren't able to get internet to work.

Room Tip: Beware that your balcony may not provide much privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beach-n-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

So disappointed in this hotel. I stayed this weekend and the staff were rude and unhelpful, the room was small and gloomy and worst of all, not well cleaned. There was hair in the shower cubicle, on the floor, the balcony was filthy, the fridge didn't work, the tv didn't work and the safe broke. All in all, I would avoid, there's nothing to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lphillips74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Visited in Sept. 2013. Three senior women. Probably discouraged because this was not the nicest area we had been in Sicily. However, the hotel was within walking distance of the cathedral, and the Norman Palace.

Desk was not that helpful. We were told breakfast was not included in our rooms but when the third person checked out, she was told that it had been included.

Desk manager, who did speak English, was flumoxed when we asked for info on Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour Bus. Did not know a thing even when we pointed to a sigh that this was being offered to a tour group. We brought it up on our computer, went back to the desk and showed him. He then pulled out the brochure from under the desk!!!! The hotel DOES NOT have a rack of brouchures of things of interest in Palermo. What is with that?

Of our three rooms, mine was the nicest. Mine was adjacent to an inside garden. Many lamps which are a must to read in bed. LARGE bathroom but small shower. Water sprayed out onto floor. Slippery when wet. All Italian hotels need guard rails in their showers.

Another complaint of all Italian hotels is what is with the short string on the emergency cord????
Let's be reasonable, you fall, you are on the floor and you will not be able to stand to get the cord which in some instances was above my head. Ditto with phone next to toilet. Put it lower. And additional toilet rolls should be place nearer the toilet and not on the opposite side of the room under the sink. LOL. Friends room smelled of mold and opened to blank wall and no lights to read by.

Positives: Good restaurant with gorgeous view and friendly staff. Near the sights: Royal Palace aka Palatine Chapel. Make sure the apts. are open and get a tour discount if not. The Catthedrale..think twice about climbing up twisty stone steps to roof. Good pizza directly down alley across from hotel. Placard out front. Nice little shops. Go left exiting hotel, go staight two or three blocks to find nice coffee shop.

Room Tip: Ask for 131.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#9 of 98 in Palermo
1,246 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#18 of 98 in Palermo
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Centrale Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Centrale Palace

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 327, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Centrale Palace Hotel)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $57 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Centrale Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Centrale Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Palace Palermo
Hotel Centrale Palace
Eurostars Centrale Palace Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing