We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, slow service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eurostars Centrale Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eurostars Centrale Palace
Ranked #19 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Beijing
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location and beautiful old style hotel building.

Parking for small cars cost you 15 euro per night. Because of the road blocks it was not easy to find our way to the hotel.

Service depends on the people. They easily let you wait for 10 minutes for getting your car, or a drink at the bar of the hotel. It depends on the people... The first bartender was great, friendly and positive. The next day the woman who helped us was ignoring us, unfriendly and not service minded. That's not the level of service I expect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenkNLBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    374
    146
    63
    37
See reviews for
146
397
50
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The location is great, the hotel is a former palace, it's breakfast room is impressive, but the hotel is showing it's age. Some of the furniture in the lobby needs a cleaning, paint is peeling off windows and rust coated our (tiny) shower stall. The building seemed tired.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelaustin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are not used to stay in such a kind of hotels : we love to sleep in our tent. This hotel was for us a very good hotel : the clothing of the personnel, the friendly reception, you didn't have to take your own luggage;
We had a very great room, perfectly in order.
The building itself is very lovely and you are directly in the center of Palermo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was once a magnificent property. The lobby is lovely -- only tarnished by the staff's overly aloof attitudes. Our room was once well decorated but now quite tired and dingy. The breakfast had many offerings but the quality and flavor were very mediocre.

As mentioned by other reviewers, this hotel is as centrally located as you can get. We were able to walk everywhere: opera, cathedral, palazzo reale, and markets. Although we had a car, I would not recommend trying to drive in Palermo -- it is insane. The hotel does not have an area to park while unloading luggage and checking in, so double parking in Palermo's crazy traffic was the only option. One of the reasons I selected this hotel was because it had private parking facilities. I had reserved a parking place, which meant we turned the keys over to a hotel employee and hoped for the best. We later discovered my husband had left his sport coat in the back seat, so we requested the keys and directions to the car to retrieve it. We were horrified to discover that it is the hotel's policy to leave the cars unlocked with the keys in them! They must feel their garage is very secure and all of their guests who have access to it are very honest. Our car was still waiting in the garage when we were ready to depart Palermo. If you do need to park a car at this hotel, be sure to make a reservation (and reconfirm it)-- their spaces are limited and the next guest to check in after me thought they had a reservation but the hotel did not have any more parking spaces.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent location in the centre of Palermo. Our room was quite large and had a huge balcony. The room was very quite which was appreciated after the noise and chaos of Palermo. Reception very friendly and helpful. Everything clean, large bathroom. Bar was efficient and very friendly - thank you Roberto! Of special note is the roof top restaurant, best spot we went to in Palermo for dinner, fantastic views. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Agree with other reviews. Great location, beautiful old building, rooms a bit dingy. I want to add that the views from the hotel rooftop restaurant Ai Tetti are spectacular, paticularly at sunset. We started and ended our two week vacation with dinner here. The food is nothing to get excited about but perfectly acceptable. The view however and being able to sit outside in the middle of the city and watch the sun set and the seagulls overhead was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhavand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've never been to a hotel that had its own brochure before. This was a palace in the 1900's & has an old-fashioned decor that fits the period. As others have mentioned, it's very near the 4 corners & close to the Cathedral. The lobby & public rooms are quite nice; the breakfast room is stunning. There is a nice variety of food although nothing cooked to order. The rooftop terrace has a high cover charge (5 Euros), but a wonderful view. The meals the 7 of us ate there varied in quality. It is worth it for a splurge. The rooms varied in size and view (or lack of it). I prefer quiet, so I didn't mind looking out on a narrow alley, with the apartment building next door quite close. There was good sound-proofing, though, so with the windows and French doors closed, I couldn't hear anything. It bugged me that you either had all the lights on or off (via the key placed in the spocket). The fitted shower enclosure had mold in it, which several of the people in our group had as well. There was ice water in the lobby, which was refreshing on some of the warm days.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room on the side of the hotel. If you want a lively view, ask for one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#11 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Centrale Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Centrale Palace

Property: Eurostars Centrale Palace
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 327, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Centrale Palace Hotel)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Centrale Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Eurostars Centrale Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Palace Palermo
Hotel Centrale Palace
Eurostars Centrale Palace Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing