We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in an Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Centrale Palace
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This former 18th century palace is an oasis of calm just a few metres from the busy streets at the centre of the old town of Palermo. The public rooms are very stylish and feature marble floors, antique furniture, rococo mirrors and grand chandeliers. Bedrooms offer an alternative of modern or classical decor. Our third floor room was spacious and elegant with a very pleasant small terrace that provided a quiet seating area. The bathroom was well equipped but the shower lacked power. However the main drawback was a background smell from the drains that built up overnight. The room included the promised safe and chargeable Wi-Fi access but this worked only intermittently and was very slow (there is a free Wi-Fi facility available in the ground floor public rooms which was actually faster!). The TV service had only BBC and CNN news in English and the paid-for movie facility simply didn’t exist. Breakfast is served in the splendid second floor restaurant. There is an excellent buffet with cold meats, cheeses, fish, pastries, etc, as well as hot dishes including scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. The hotel has a rooftop terrace that features a bar and the ‘Ai Tetti’ restaurant. Both of these areas are very quiet and there is no street noise up here. The restaurant offers both inside and outside dining with a menu that features a range of Sicilian dishes. The emphasis is on pasta but there are fish, pork, beef and lamb dishes available. The wine list includes a very good range of excellent Sicilian wines at very reasonable prices. If travelling by car , there is a garage underneath the hotel which costs 15 Euro per day. The approach is via a very narrow street so a small car is recommended! Service throughout the hotel is very efficient and guest requests are dealt with effectively and promptly. Against that, the staff are generally very formal and not especially friendly. The hotel is very well situated for exploring the old town with most of the major attractions within a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MET2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
There are newer reviews for Eurostars Centrale Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a very typical European Hotel. Rooms are small compared to American Hotels. Bathroom was large and so was the shower. Our room looked out to the alley which was ok for us. The front desk staff was understaffed at times. Or at times there was staff but they didn't seem to either see that people were waiting or they didn't care. Free internet in the lobby. We would stay here again because of the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineauxDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

An old 18th century palace converted to a hotel. ****stars by European standards. Needs refurbished. Free internet at the lobby is not reliable. Personnel accommodating.

Located right next to the Quatro Canti and as such within walking distance of a lot of places to see in Palermo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Agree with an earlier review. Reception staff were undermanned and not particularly helpful, the hotel itself has seen better days - and the first room we were shown was horrible - luckily they found a larger room with windows that opened out onto the back - which was fine. Bathrooms are large and clean. The hotel is huge and I think that there are probably better places to stay in Palermo for the price - we found a small new boutique B&B on our travels where we will go next time for half the cost! Love Palermo, great city, wonderful people and nightlife - even more anarchic than Naples...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel itself was lovely with a real palatial feel, Victorian furnishings in some areas and a comfy lobby. The rooms were on the Spartan side, linens were old, towels extremely worn, but comfortable. The staff was great. the breakfast and group buffet dinner we had were excellent. There were also very good restaurants and shopping in the neighborhood, but as the sidewalks were empty after about 10 pm, I felt it was not safe to go out. I am from NYC and know when to be cautious. A big surprise was the room key, attached to a large tassel and picked up upon going into the room and dropped at the desk when going out! The Internet was a problem, didn't always work.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaterinaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The receptionist offered minimal engagement and the porter accompanied us to our room - without offering to carry the cases? The hotel is in a central location and the roof bar provides a welcome break from the noisy city, but its very expensive. The reception area offers iced water which is a nice touch. The decor is in the grand style and some of the rooms have impressive murals on the ceilings. It really is quite opulent. Breakfast is not bad by Italian standards. I didn't eat in the restaurant. The bed was comfy and the air con worked well. The room had a minibar and safe. Tiled floors and decorated with typical italian paintings. The bathroom had a bidet but only a shower and no bath. The room was made up daily. The hotel is near Carlo V square, where there is a nice American bar. The footpaths outside the Hotel are very narrow and the road is very busy. A very good hotel if you're staying in Palermo

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sombochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Centrale Palace for the first two nights of our honeymoon and had a satisfactory stay.

Hotel management was helpful, having a bottle of prosecco delivered to the room in time for our arrival.

The room was clean, but in need of an update - newer linens, repaint, etc.

Neither particularly cheap nor expensive, both my wife and I were expecting more for the price.

The location, however, was very good and was helpful as we started to get to know the rest of Sicily

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N8E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palermo
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Hotel Bel 3
#17 of 98 in Palermo
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Centrale Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Centrale Palace

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 327, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Centrale Palace Hotel)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $81 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Centrale Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Centrale Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Palace Palermo
Hotel Centrale Palace
Eurostars Centrale Palace Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing