We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like in the 20's, with all comfort...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed August 23, 2010

A great hotel, mixing the atmosphere you imagine you could have in the 20's and the modernity of the room, perfect in every point...
Great lobby, wonderful place for breakfast (which was very good, by the way), the team is really helpful and gentle...
Highly recommended at a price that remains affordable (double at 120 euros) !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niklas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

The hotel has gorgeous antiques, marble and furnitures, however the place is in desperate need of a renovation. The rooms are as well, the beds are old, the shower pressure is terrible and the wallpaper and moldings are coming off. The rooms are off a niosy street, no aircon in May turned on, so the sleep is hot and noisy. Staff speak good english, but all men and not so helpful at all. The parking is off the hotel premises, and the wait for your car will try anyones patience, it was at least a half hour. I visited the Palermo Hilton and decided it is the best property in town and great location, and the staff were great, everything you would expect from an International hotel. Sorry i didn't spend the extra $ and stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We had a very pleasant 3 nights stay at the hotel. Large room, good and friendly staff, huge breakfast and perfect location to visit Palermo. Of course is one of the oldest hotel in town, maybe a bit tired but it still charming. Negative point is the lack of a free internet connection, minor problem but not in line with the category of the hotel. Take care about the rooms close to the "meeting rooms" often used for conference and business expecially during the week.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScaccoMatto74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in this Hotel in late May 2010 and throughly enjoyed our stay. This hotel is a grand old hotel .Accordingly some of its features are a little tired but most hotels of this vintage suffer the same fate. However we had a deluxe room which must have already been up dated as its fixtures and furnishings were 1st rate. The bed head was exquisite. The breakfast room was stunning. Quality of food for breakfast-excellent and great cappuccino's. Staff at reception always friendly and helpful with suggestions for tours and restaurants. The hotel's location makes it a great choice. Nearly all the major sights are within 10 minutes walk from the hotel.Plus there are plenty of good quality restaurants serving excellent Sicilian cuisine .Palermo as a city exceeded our expectations. Could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The hotel was easy to find after getting off the airport bus at the Politeama Theatre and its domineering presence on the street was quite amazing. On arrival the staff were efficient but not overly helpful, a trend which continued downwards throughout our stay. The bar/reception/breakfast room were beautiful and amazing although all remarkably lacked atmosphere. The room itself was spacious and complete, the bed was the comfiest bed I have ever slept in, the damp patch on the wall and the really grubby carpet was disappointing. It sits in an excellent location in Palermo, although is a walk to the train station (about 20 mins) In my opinion this hotel just needs a little bit of TLC and hopefully it could reinstate itself to have the sparkle it once did.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouringMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

The Grand Hotel et Des Palmes was everything i was expecting and more. I could easily imagine meetings of the aristocracy of Palermo here and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I loved the breakfast room in the morning, huge in size with enormous chandeliers, paintings and a lovely atmosphere. It had lovely tables and comfortable chairs, very nicely set with linen cloth and napkins. The breakfast itself was excellent, the buffet was regularly filled and it had everything from scrambled eggs and bacon to REAL fresh fruit, cheese and different types of ham, cereals and different cakes and pastries. Coffee was very good too, and i love coffee!! I started with caffe-latte and finished with espresso always served by the waiters (men and women) all impeccably dressed and quite welcoming, how refreshing!

All the public spaces, the restaurant, bar, the breakfast room and the other public areas were spacious and long enough to make you want to run across them, and if you live in a city were everything is tiny like in London, then you will understand my real joy at staying in a place were even the stairs were huge.

The room we staying in was impeccable, the bed was so big (massive) and so comfortable I didn't want to leave.

As for the service at the Gran Hotel et Des Palmes, I found it of the same standard that I have seen in a lot of placed I have visited. When we arrived we got offered a porter, who took our luggage upstairs for us, and since it was raining for two days we even got offered an umbrella (yes, it rained in April - unbelievable!) at the reception. I generally get on with people and there was no difference here, I certainly did not expect to be pampered but I didn’t get a cold or bad treatment either.

It is a shame that the hotel does not promote its restaurant, I am not even sure whether it was open when I was there. A vibrant and lively restaurant would brings a lot of interesting people in too, and in turn it would make the hotel more exciting for those staying.

Would I visit the Des Palmes again? I travel to Palermo often and I can’t wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moosey_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

So, it started off badly. We arrived at the hotel ... no doorman or bellhop (4 people traveling with 4+ bags). No place to put the car ... the little circular drive in front of the hotel had cars in it (we think not guests' because there were hardly any guests) and there was no offer to make room for our car. When we booked, we had been told that there was a garage nearby, but the fellow at reception said, "Oh, no. The garage isn't open on Sunday," as though we should have known this. "You can park anywhere," he said. But it was a holiday Sunday afternoon and this neighborhood of Palermo was jam-packed. No offer from reception to help in any way. The public rooms ... lobby, bar, restaurant ... are all pretty tired looking. This place really needs some sprucing up. The halls upstairs had a very empty feel too and there were NO guests to be seen. (There were 2 other tables at breakfast the next morning ... all a bit sad and slightly creepy/"Separate Tables" about it.) The staff was consistently unhelpful, though there was one young woman behind the desk who was on the ball. No internet connection. They said they'd been having trouble for the past 2/3 weeks! One evening in the lobby, while reading guide books and planning our next day, all the lights went off and candles were lit ... apparently to save money of electricity (according to the guy lighting candles) NOT for atmosphere. Try reading guidebooks by candlelight! Next time we go to Palermo, we'll either cough up the euros for the Villa Igiea or perhaps the Hotel Plaza Opera which, unlike the Igiea, is centrally located. The Plaza Opera seems to be priced between the Grand and the Igiea. If all you require is a clean, pleasant room, this place is fine. But if you might require any services (like decent coffee at breakfast), look elsewhere. I must say, I'm perplexed by all the positive reviews for this hotel on this site.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#13 of 98 in Palermo
522 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et Des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Address: Via Roma 398, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $86 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Des Palmes 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILYFounded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel et Des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing