We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old grand dame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old grand dame”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

One of the oldest historical hotels, it has seen better days but the location is terrific, breakfast is very good and rooms are modern and comfortable. Agree with other reviewers about its faded charm but its like the rest of Palermo - faded grandeur slowly coming back to life. The grand lobby and restaurant especially shows what might have been and we loved just getting a glimpse of the old Palermo in its heyday. No point coming to Sicily and staying at a modern, bland hotel which could be anywhere. Perhaps there is hope for this old grand dame yet if they bother to "do it up" more and a pool would have been good on hot summer days. Still, good value for the price just needs an actual concierge service rather than just the reservation people. Also some good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AAOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    539
    232
    90
    47
See reviews for
196
611
60
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel. The room was spacious with a big marble bathroom. Enjoyed taking relaxing baths in the big tub. You will be greeted by a friendly English speaking Italian staff. Great location. We did not have to use our car while staying at the hotel, everything was within walking distance. We included the breakfast in the booking and it was delicious. Excellent value for the price of the booking. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Include breakfast when booking a room,you will enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen_ralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I bet this hotel used to be really grand for a few decades ago. I agree with other reviews that it's perhaps a little bit run down now, with some faded charm. We had a bit of a "The Shining" flashback while wandering the long hallways to our room. The lobby and restaurant/bar are quite spectacular (but the bar is definitely expensive for Palermo standards). The room we stayed in was nice. 9 € for 24 h wifi access is pretty ridiculous though. Breakfast was ok.

The location is good, in a good area of the city, and pretty close to sightseeing buses and other sights of the city if that's your thing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blipp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed just for one night in a double room (1st floor).

Positive
- location (directly in the center, next to shopping streets and many dining options)
- bed - the size and comfort of the bed was good
- free internet in the lobby (but have to sign up, what takes very long time...)

Negative:
- room need proper cleaning - the carpet is very old and very dirty (with stains, dust, hair), the lamp next to the bed was very dusty as the whole area around...
- balcony - wanted to open the balcony and see the view but big mistake... my got very dirty and black, the balcony itself its very old and dirty (it seems it haven't been cleaned at least a year).

- breakfast - the staff doesnt refill all missing items on the buffet, e.g. I arrived for breakfast at 9am, over half of the buffet was gone, so I asked to refill some specific items such as ricotta ,... and after half hour of waiting I just left, never got it...
It seems that the staff doesnt care during breakfast, at the time when i was there, there were 4 waitress standing, and no one brought what I asked for, and no one cleaned our table from plates... During the service one waitress broke a glass, and she didnt even bother to clean it... Very bad service and definitely not worth to stay....

- check in - done by a lady - very unprofessional and by asking questions regarding parking not much helpful (the private parking cost 21eur/day, so better to park at other parking spots around the hotel).

However the building itself has great potential, its full of character, charm, but need some attention to cleanness, maintenance and very important great staff.

Tip: Mondello beach (within half hour drive from center)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank felllicita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied your expectations.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here in October/November 2012 at the conclusion of our two week Italian Adventure. The hotel was clean!! (the most important feature to me) and historically beautiful. The architecture was amazing. Our room was large with an oversized tub/bathroom. Big French Doors let you open the room up to lots of natural light and open air. Close to the port and within walking distance to the water, museums, opera and shopping. The wifi is for a fee, but that is almost everywhere in Italy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.

We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations ( clean first of all ) and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

BE AWARE: no iron in the building (weird I know)! Nice reception area, bars and common spaces, but the room was slightly too run down (the terrace was falling apart).
A bit pricey for what is it, but the location is great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GianlucaEna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied your expectations, but we have irons available on request. we dont use for safe put theme in guest rooms.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

A little tired, a little run down, outrageous priced internet....but.....it is a Grand Old Dame and it lives up to its name in the public spaces, the glitz and glamour are still there along with the high ceilings, the grand entrance and the breakfast rooms and beyond.
The staff are outstanding with service, advice, directions, resto reservations, and anything else they can do to make a visitor feel comfortable.
The rooms could use some attention. We were placed in one of the seemingly refurbished rooms which had the feel of the grand old charming hotel with a great history...large room, well furnished, comfy beds and a lovely bathroom with modern touches in a classic building.
The location of the hotel cannot be beat. From the front door the best of Palermo is to the left of the hotel and onward. Great restaurants are close by, markets and historic landmarks are 10 minutes walk away. The staff give great restaurant advice depending on your budget.
Palermo can be a shabby run down city with an interesting history and culture, the hotel is a lovely retreat after a day or two of siteseeing and soaking up all that it has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the courtyard. The inside rooms have no view, and can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelinphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#13 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#8 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et Des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Property: Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Address: Via Roma 398, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Palermo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Des Palmes 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILYFounded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel et Des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing