We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit shabby but location is perfect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Ranked #21 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bit shabby but location is perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Tired looking entrance.

We were offered a room with loud noise from air conditiontiong or sth like that. Was on third floor. No view didn't expect but noise was unexpected.

We had that noise for 24hrs.

I had noise back home next our house which is undergoing new construction so I wanted to get away from that noise.
But here I am facing another loud noise for 24hrs constant base.

Breakfast a lot to desire. Pretty much basic but it is after all italy so you shouldn't expect too much on breakfast.

Yes lift is sooo old and warning for you don't press button before ur wife gets on, it doesn't have sensor, so you press then the door closes, your wife stuck in the middle.

Location! I was happy. It was pretty much close to everything. You can go on foot.

One more thing to mention, we took a taxi embarked next hotel to notarbartolo station, costed about 18. The meter ran so quick. There was no traffic but I am not sure this is usual price but i felt that the meter somehow rigged. It was less 5 mins riding.

For your information we took a bus from airport that costed 12.20 for 2 person. And the bus stop was just in front of Politeama from there to hotel about 5 mins or less on foot.

Ah, for comparision, from airport to center was from 35 euro depends on distance. Basically it is about 40 mins riding. So 18 euro for 5 mins riding to station is quite some, I'd say!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monalisayoyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied your expectations.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    523
    222
    88
    45
See reviews for
187
591
57
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Checked in yesterday midday,

No porters to help with luggage. One old creaky lift that won't take more than a bag of potatoes.

Room very spacious, Air con doesn't work so it's like a sauna, They say they'll turn it on in June.

No water from the cold tap - they did send up a plumber who did fix it.

Had to buy internet service which seems quite fast.

Get this...a cup of tea (and as far as I can guess this is one tea bag and a jug of hot water with a cup) costs €6. So for two cups that's €12 and for it to be delivered to our room further €6 must be added - so that's €18 for, basically, two tea bags). There are no kettles in rooms and they will definitely NOT provide one (I asked).

Was in the bar a moment ago and the most dignified young lady asked for 3 small bottles of water that she could take to her room. The barman said that will be 10 Euros. She looked extremely surprised (as one would expect). "10?" she asked again. "Si, 10" he replied. So I told her to go across the street where the cafe will charge 1.50 for ALL THREE.

This hotel is a very GREEDY hotel. It does have some charm but they shrug when things like air conditioners don't work and, frankly, the place is getting more than a bit seedy. My wife refers to hotels like this as "Genteely Shabby".

I definitely will not come back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that look onto the courtyard. The back rooms (facing Wagner Street) seem slightly bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This grande dame of a hotel will transport you back in time. With the brass, red carpets, ornate salons and antiques, you can just imagine the likes of Wagner composing Parsifal here (he did), spies, diplomats and politicians mixing over glasses of Marsala (they did).
But fortunately the rooms have been modernized where it counts (the bathrooms). Staff were super friendly and helpful, breakfast was sumptuous and served in a beautiful, ornate dining room, and location was very convenient just on the edge of the historical district within easy walking distant to sites, restaurants and nice shops.
If you are looking for the predictable sameness of a Hilton or a Hyatt, look elsewhere. If you want to stay in a hotel like hotels used to be, you won't be disappointed here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest, tha you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. This will be hepful for us and for all the clients that whant to visit our city and spend some days in our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference

Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The old world charm of Palermo is in this hotel which was formerly a palazzo. The hotel, like Palermo itself, is shabby chic and for me that is the unique appeal. Far from run down, the hotel is large, but gracious and warm. The architecture is appealing and the hotel is in a perfect location to get everywhere in the city. The breakfast is included and is ample. I would recommend, however, that the hotel offer free wifi to its guests. Its current price is absurd.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teejay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 3 days with our newborn baby and it was heaven of calm and comfort for us. The rooms have high ceilings and are big which is just what you need when you have a lot of stuff with you. The rooms are comfortable but not indulgent. New bathrooms which are nice. Breakfast is a buffet and is good.

Only snag is that the rack rates are very high.... we got a great deal going last minute.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandstormLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest, we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions.

We thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo, Grand Hortel et des Palmes is an old ancient hotel, guests like Wagner, Guy de Montpassant, Oscar Wilde and so on, stayed in this hotel.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations, rack rates seems to be expensive, but only in high period and when the city is full.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms, a renovation plan is going to start.
Kind regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I chose this hotel since it reminded me the atmosphere from a movie "Le consequenze dell'amore" (by Paolo Sorrentino). I liked its internal design, historic architecture and breakfast was ok too. The rooms are not in perfect condition. And you have to pay extra for wifi. Location perfect. They made some mistakes in my final invoice (let's say this was not an attempt of cheating, but just a human mistake). All in all, had fun, although a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarloM647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

As several previous reviews state the hotel can appear tired in places, this is mainly due to the worn carpeting that is evident throughout the hotel. However the overall appearance, quality and standard of the hotel is great with a fantastic array of original features being evident in all of the public rooms. Our bedroom was huge with a small juliette balcony, dressing area and marble bathroom. The bed was comfortable and with the exception of the carpet, the room was immaculately decorated complete with flat screen TV. The staff were friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was more than adequate with a good continental selection on offer, including a small hot buffet and a selection of traditional sicillian fair.The history of the hotel is fascinating and it's central location means that it is within walking distance of many of the attractions that Palermo has to offer. We would recommend this hotel as I believe it offers a good standard of accomodation that is great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#18 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#11 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et Des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Property: Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Address: Via Roma 398, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Palermo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Des Palmes 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILYFounded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel et Des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing