We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed March 30, 2013

As several previous reviews state the hotel can appear tired in places, this is mainly due to the worn carpeting that is evident throughout the hotel. However the overall appearance, quality and standard of the hotel is great with a fantastic array of original features being evident in all of the public rooms. Our bedroom was huge with a small juliette balcony, dressing area and marble bathroom. The bed was comfortable and with the exception of the carpet, the room was immaculately decorated complete with flat screen TV. The staff were friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was more than adequate with a good continental selection on offer, including a small hot buffet and a selection of traditional sicillian fair.The history of the hotel is fascinating and it's central location means that it is within walking distance of many of the attractions that Palermo has to offer. We would recommend this hotel as I believe it offers a good standard of accomodation that is great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Giovanni Sapienza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I specifically booked this hotel because it is advertised as having a spa with Turkish baths on site. This is not the case. Upon arrival, we were told by a front desk representative that the spa was closed for renovations. The next day, we were told by another representative that there is not and never has been a spa and that they are having problems with websites stating so. There is even a website purporting to be the hotel's official web site and says they have a spa. They don't, so don't let the websites fool you. I'm not sure why the first rep said it was closed - possibly a language barrier although all of the staff spoke very good English.

As other reviewers have said, the hotel is in need of updating. The standard room is a bit small. We are two people traveling together (not a couple) and asked for a double room with two beds. We received a small room with two twin beds that were pushed together. The carpet was quite dirty. There was a small terrace off the room and one corner of it was covered in cigarette ash. The bathroom was nice and quite large - marble and with a full tub - but the toilet paper holder was broken and although we left it on the bathroom counter, no effort was made to fix it.

On the plus side, the staff will make great efforts to assist. For example, the front desk assisted us in making spa appointments and the waiters at the breakfast buffet were very attentive. The breakfast buffet is very good. Better than most I've had in Europe.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine_NYC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow.
We thank you for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Giovanni Sapienza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Charming hotel of a bygone era. A little tired around the edges, but remains elegant.
The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Out only criticism be that in the evenings the water was not hot, and a luke warm bath or shower is unpleasant in the winter.

The reception staff were gracious and helpful. The breakfast was lovely, with a great deal of choice, and again the staff were courteous and efficient.

I did wonder why there was no information in relation to excursions that could be booked, or brochures of what to see and do in Palermo. Some brochures would be useful for tourists, so they may peruse at their own leisure things that they may be interested to do. We had to wait until one senior member of the reception staff was on duty to do this. Again it would have been nice to take our time and choose what suited us the best.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

With a little imagination you could see and feel the hotel's glamorous, historical and cultural past.
The front desk has a wonderful information sheet concerning the hotel's history and with it we
took our own personal tour of some very special areas. The morning buffet was quite above average.Blood oranges were just in season and fresh squeezed there is nothing better. I found the front desk staff a bit reserved but I think it was do more to limited "English" than not
wanting to be helpful in any way. The location is marvelous. We wanted to be in walking
distance of Teatro Massimo as we had opera tickets to Wagner's Das Rheingold. We also
were told by staff of a pedestrian street almost around the corner to the left where we had a delicious dinner at Gigimangia. on Principe di Belmonte. Turn right out of the front door and take another right on Mariano Stabile, walk several blocks and stop at Brioscia for a fabulous gelato experience. They fill a brioche with two different flavors, top it with an ice cream cone and then drizzle warm white or dark chocolate over all of it.
There is also a very convenient taxi stand right at the hotel's corner although we found the
city quite walkable. This really is a lovely hotel. Yes the internet is expensive so we didn't use it,
the carpeting is often thread bare, but these tiny observations no way diminished the wonderful
experience we had at the hotel. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naturalbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

But it is to expensive to use internet. I expect it to be free in these times. Location of the hotel is very good, close to everything. It is no problem to spend money in town. Good cafes and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Sir, thank you for you review we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
We thank you for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations, we thank you also for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Giovanni Sapienza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a stay here recently. We were two 20yo girls travelling together.
The hotel was nice to stay in, but most impressive were the staff at reception who were extremely helpful the entire time. Felt safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janc19642016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Historic old mansion/hotel! The rooms are very spacious! Have to pay $20.00 per day for intern et! The breakfast is pretty good, but the scrambled eggs are runny and like a soup! I took a bath in a deep tub full of rusty water, which came out of the hot water system! It even turned my wash cloth brown! The carpeting in the room and hallways needs to be cleaned! The ancient elevator was scary and on its last leg! Overall, it is a beautiful old building that is being neglected and is loosing its charm!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear customers, thank you for the review. Probably the hotel with its history and charm not convince some customers. Unfortunaly the cost you paid for internet is the same that we pay to the company. Wehope that in the future this service will be free of charge.
The cleanliness is maintained constamente 24 hours to 24 hours with appropriate action plans.
I remain, however, at your disposal by for any further information.
Thanking you, I offer my sincere
regards
John Wisdom
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#13 of 98 in Palermo
522 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et Des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Address: Via Roma 398, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $86 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Des Palmes 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILYFounded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel et Des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing