We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging but grand indeed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A lot has been said about the fact that this wonderful old hotel needs an infusion of cash for a major update/renovation. We just spent three nights there, and simple loved it. Yes, the windows were shedding paint like crazy; yes, they were replacing carpeting but had not reached our fouth floor corridor; yes, only one elevator was working, and it's small. But those trivialities aside, it's simple a grand (in the old sense) hotel, with lovely high ceilings, sculptures in the lobby, exquisite breakfast rooms (yes, plural) with the best "free" breakfast we've ever experienced. It was like returning to the late 19th century, and we adored it. It's locating is a bit west (outside) the old city center, but it's within a block of the "sightseeing bus" tour stop/start, and that's a smart way to see the city. And just a block or so away is a perfectly wonderful restaurant, "Ristorane a'Cuccagna" which is a great way to finish the day.

Room Tip: Our room was on the interior "courtyard"--i.e., no view other than the roof of some utilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarryMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I have just spent three nights at this wonderfully friendly and comfortable hotel.
The hotel is beginning to show its age, but it just adds to its character. The staff are a real credit to the hotel and made our stay so enjoyable that we will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiggerSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

we received your opinion and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions. We thank you for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are also very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Yours very truly
Giovanni Sapienza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The i newspaper in London did a review on 48 hours in Palermo - and it was in this article I noticed mention of this hotel. It was described in such a way that it sparked my interest and I thought it would be fun to stay in a grand hotel that possibly may have seen better days.
Overall the hotel was very comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and in a grand room that was clearly very impressive in its 'hey day'. The room was pleasant enough although we didn't have a view of anything. The carpet in the corridors was a bit shabby but to be honest there wasn't much else I could complain about. The location was great on 'via Roma' and the price wasn't bad when you combined it all together.

Room Tip: Just see if you can get a good deal via the online booking websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

we received your opinions and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions.
All the comments are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our job best.
We thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, really the carpet in somecorridors was a bit shabby, but we are changing it.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
Giovanni Sapienza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were booked into this hotel for 5 nights by an agency in London. We found it very comfortable: the room was a decent size, likewise the bathroom. Breakfast in the lovely "Mirror Room" was wide-ranging and as plentiful as one could wish. We had a problem with the hot water in that it came out yellow from the tap. The hotel did intervene but the problem was never fully resolved. There was also a continual noise coming from the air conditioning unit even when it was switched off. This was unwelcome especially at night. We felt that our complaint about this was not given the attention it deserved.
On the whole there were more positives than negatives. The location was good with a good restaurant and a yummy ice-cream parlour around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with less A/C unit noise and with windows that will open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions.
we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us. we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.
I hope to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Kind regards
Giovanni Sapienza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Before I write my review I must warn people of the Kliko restaurant which is opposite the hotel, the food was WAY OVER PRICED and of a very poor quality (I would say tinned if I didn't know for sure). The wine list was also ridiculously over priced and surly staff made for a very unpleasant meal on our first night in Palermo, far better is the Il Mirto e la Rosa Restaurant round the corner, everything the Kliko isn't !!

We stayed in the Grand Hotel et Des Palmes for 2 nights and found it excellent in location, comfort, helpful staff and what must be one of the grandest rooms we've ever eaten breakfast in. Do have a pre dinner drink in the bar.....if only the walls could talk !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 693StephenO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We thank you also for your criticisms, we will speak with front desk to give the best information about restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Yours faithfully
Giovanni Sapienza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Before talking about the hotel, a question ... Why Palermo? Our advice would be to stay outside and visit as we found it oppressive with not much to see. OK for us as we used it as a base, but a hotel outside town might have been better.

Grand Hotel et Des Palmes was once magnificent. It is still very impressive but its glory is fading, and quickly. That said our stay was very pleasant, staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant OK but breakfast great and varied choice. We were upgraded to a De Luxe room - which makes me think the Standard must be pretty small - and we were more than satisfied although some might find the decor disappointing. It looks like this grand old place just about grinds along and it gives the impression of almost grinding to a halt. But it's so charming.

We were blessed with a comedy performance when we had dinner. Served in an enormous room, with only two tables occupied, the waiter had to walk (shuffle) the whole length of the room with our food - we nicknamed him Mr Overall. That said the food was excellent.

If you're fussy you might be disappointed though.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are quieter. Via Roma noisy all night. Standard rooms will be small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsewiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Sirs,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes, for your recent stay in Palermo; our our hotel is the history in the town.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We know that the structure needs a refurbishment.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Kind Regards
Giovanni Sapienza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This architecturally fascinating hotel, built in 1874, has an interesting history. In one of the travel guides it is introduced as a place of: "intrigues, liaisons and double-dealings." Despite its glamorous past, it does need a face lift. For the most part it is well managed by a polite staff but is a bit run down and has a deplorable Wi-Fi system (run by a Swiss company.)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rami Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Sir,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are very important for us to khow how the guests has lived this experience.
We thank you also for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes for your recent stay in Palermo, our hotel is full of his history, the most important celebrity stayed in our rooms.
We are very happy to have satisfied part of your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us, in the same time we are considering your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Your faithfully
Giovanni Sapienza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#15 of 98 in Palermo
526 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
555 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
723 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#18 of 98 in Palermo
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et Des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Address: Via Roma 398, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $98 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Des Palmes 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILYFounded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel et Des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing