We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's do the time warp again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
london
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Let's do the time warp again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Before talking about the hotel, a question ... Why Palermo? Our advice would be to stay outside and visit as we found it oppressive with not much to see. OK for us as we used it as a base, but a hotel outside town might have been better.

Grand Hotel et Des Palmes was once magnificent. It is still very impressive but its glory is fading, and quickly. That said our stay was very pleasant, staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant OK but breakfast great and varied choice. We were upgraded to a De Luxe room - which makes me think the Standard must be pretty small - and we were more than satisfied although some might find the decor disappointing. It looks like this grand old place just about grinds along and it gives the impression of almost grinding to a halt. But it's so charming.

We were blessed with a comedy performance when we had dinner. Served in an enormous room, with only two tables occupied, the waiter had to walk (shuffle) the whole length of the room with our food - we nicknamed him Mr Overall. That said the food was excellent.

If you're fussy you might be disappointed though.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are quieter. Via Roma noisy all night. Standard rooms will be small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arsewiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sirs,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes, for your recent stay in Palermo; our our hotel is the history in the town.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We know that the structure needs a refurbishment.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Kind Regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    527
    223
    88
    45
See reviews for
189
595
57
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This architecturally fascinating hotel, built in 1874, has an interesting history. In one of the travel guides it is introduced as a place of: "intrigues, liaisons and double-dealings." Despite its glamorous past, it does need a face lift. For the most part it is well managed by a polite staff but is a bit run down and has a deplorable Wi-Fi system (run by a Swiss company.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rami Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sir,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are very important for us to khow how the guests has lived this experience.
We thank you also for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes for your recent stay in Palermo, our hotel is full of his history, the most important celebrity stayed in our rooms.
We are very happy to have satisfied part of your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us, in the same time we are considering your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Your faithfully
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
353 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a holiday in Sicily. We spent our first three nights at this delightful hotel. I agree with other reviewers that the hotel is slightly run down and the carpets are definitely past their 'sale-by date', however our bedroom was huge, and very very comfortable and we enjoyed our spacious marble bathroom. There were plenty of drawers and cupboards (something often rare in newer hotels) and we really appreciated the clean pillowcases and sheets each day. There is a really good 'feel' to this hotel. The staff are all delightful, and the public areas full of character. We loved our breakfasts with the sparkling wine, fresh fruit and selection of cold meats and cheeses. As previous reviewers have commented, the hotel is well placed for the Opera, churches etc., and is within easy walking distance of the better shops on the Via del Liberta. We would certainly stay at this hotel another time.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the rear which was quieter. Some rooms have balconies which are ideal for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for the time you dedicated to write this opinion regarding your stay in PAlermo.
We thank you for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes..
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Yours faithfully
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in a Junior Suite, and it was huge and spotlessly clean. However, the bed was really hard to the point that my partner had aching and soreness for the 3 days we spent exploring Palermo. Also, even though there are double window-shutters to block out the noise of the Via Roma below, ours had a gap in it meaning it wasn't soundproof at all.

I'm not sure what the norm is in Sicily but I was quite surprised that in a suite with a whole separate living room, there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet was very nice, and the breakfast room light, airy and grand. The staff were also helpful. The location of the hotel is a bit of a walk from the main sights but there are some lovely cafes and shops nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smurrell1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions regarding your stay in Grand Hotel et des Palmes. Your comments are very important for us.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us. In the same time we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible; the next year our guest will find a te-coffee station in room.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Kind Regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Grand old hotel, slightly run down, but great atmosphere, with helpful and friendly staff, breakfast in wonderful room with sparkling wine , comfortable big room. Easy walk to tourist sites. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Sirs, thank you for your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Kind regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

we stayed here for 4 nights and was well impressed with everything. our room on 3rd floor was very clean and cool. we found the food excellent with no delays in service. taxi rank at corner was very handy. a hive of fine diners surround the hotel and some nice shops too. walking distance to almost everywhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
thank you so much for your comments and, for your time you dedicated to write the impressions during the stay in Palermo

We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
Our hotel is historical and many VIP spent their holidays in Grand Hotel et des Palmes.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Best regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoFL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We read other reviews & were afraid we wouldn't like it. Have no fear, this place is great! Yes, all carpets in the hallway are torn, smell bad, & stained. BUT room interior is totally refreshed. We had 2 rooms on different floors & they were clean and pleasant for our stay of 5 nights. I purchased a standard w/2 twins & a deluxe with a queen via Expedia and all of us enjoyed the spacious rooms. There was no problem at checkin nor at breakfast. The staff at the desk & housekeeping are very helpful. Marcello at the desk is the best! He is always smiling & gives 110% and that is important.

Also, it's best to get to breakfast before 9:30am. They start picking up the buffet at that time, but they will still get you the items you want until the advertised 10:30am closing. You just have to ask.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions regarding your stay in Grand Hotel et des Palmes.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and we thank you also for your recommandation " Have no fear "
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, our hotel is Historical and old in the same time, some carpets in the hallway are really torn with some stains but we are changing them.
Room interior is totally refreshed.
I hope to see you again in our hotel
Yours faithfully
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#18 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#11 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et Des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Property: Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Address: Via Roma 398, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Palermo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Des Palmes 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILYFounded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel et Des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing