We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming old hotel. Would highly recommend to my friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Scotland
Level Contributor
353 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“A charming old hotel. Would highly recommend to my friends.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a holiday in Sicily. We spent our first three nights at this delightful hotel. I agree with other reviewers that the hotel is slightly run down and the carpets are definitely past their 'sale-by date', however our bedroom was huge, and very very comfortable and we enjoyed our spacious marble bathroom. There were plenty of drawers and cupboards (something often rare in newer hotels) and we really appreciated the clean pillowcases and sheets each day. There is a really good 'feel' to this hotel. The staff are all delightful, and the public areas full of character. We loved our breakfasts with the sparkling wine, fresh fruit and selection of cold meats and cheeses. As previous reviewers have commented, the hotel is well placed for the Opera, churches etc., and is within easy walking distance of the better shops on the Via del Liberta. We would certainly stay at this hotel another time.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the rear which was quieter. Some rooms have balconies which are ideal for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for the time you dedicated to write this opinion regarding your stay in PAlermo.
We thank you for having chosen Grand Hotel et des Palmes..
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Yours faithfully
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    538
    231
    90
    46
See reviews for
195
608
60
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in a Junior Suite, and it was huge and spotlessly clean. However, the bed was really hard to the point that my partner had aching and soreness for the 3 days we spent exploring Palermo. Also, even though there are double window-shutters to block out the noise of the Via Roma below, ours had a gap in it meaning it wasn't soundproof at all.

I'm not sure what the norm is in Sicily but I was quite surprised that in a suite with a whole separate living room, there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet was very nice, and the breakfast room light, airy and grand. The staff were also helpful. The location of the hotel is a bit of a walk from the main sights but there are some lovely cafes and shops nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smurrell1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions regarding your stay in Grand Hotel et des Palmes. Your comments are very important for us.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us. In the same time we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible; the next year our guest will find a te-coffee station in room.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Kind Regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Grand old hotel, slightly run down, but great atmosphere, with helpful and friendly staff, breakfast in wonderful room with sparkling wine , comfortable big room. Easy walk to tourist sites. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Sirs, thank you for your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Kind regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

we stayed here for 4 nights and was well impressed with everything. our room on 3rd floor was very clean and cool. we found the food excellent with no delays in service. taxi rank at corner was very handy. a hive of fine diners surround the hotel and some nice shops too. walking distance to almost everywhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
thank you so much for your comments and, for your time you dedicated to write the impressions during the stay in Palermo

We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
Our hotel is historical and many VIP spent their holidays in Grand Hotel et des Palmes.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Best regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoFL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We read other reviews & were afraid we wouldn't like it. Have no fear, this place is great! Yes, all carpets in the hallway are torn, smell bad, & stained. BUT room interior is totally refreshed. We had 2 rooms on different floors & they were clean and pleasant for our stay of 5 nights. I purchased a standard w/2 twins & a deluxe with a queen via Expedia and all of us enjoyed the spacious rooms. There was no problem at checkin nor at breakfast. The staff at the desk & housekeeping are very helpful. Marcello at the desk is the best! He is always smiling & gives 110% and that is important.

Also, it's best to get to breakfast before 9:30am. They start picking up the buffet at that time, but they will still get you the items you want until the advertised 10:30am closing. You just have to ask.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions regarding your stay in Grand Hotel et des Palmes.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and we thank you also for your recommandation " Have no fear "
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, our hotel is Historical and old in the same time, some carpets in the hallway are really torn with some stains but we are changing them.
Room interior is totally refreshed.
I hope to see you again in our hotel
Yours faithfully
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family loved staying in this hotel. Yes, there are a few signs of wear, on the order of old carpets, and an air conditioning unit that was enthusiastic but required a little optimism on the part of the guests--but nothing that seriously interferes with one's comfort. In compensation, though, it was delightful to stay in a hotel that retains so many features of a Grand Hotel of a hundred years ago--elegant public rooms, excellent and very friendly staff, etc. Although we had booked only for two double rooms, one of these turned out to be a suite with a high-ceilinged sitting room and a walk in closet/changing room. Another reason to stay here is the excellent location--you are in walking distance of the entire old city, while also at the edge of the modern, shopping quarter. There's a taxi stand right next door making it even easier to get around. We considered staying at a more modern hotel, with, for example, a pool, that would have been farther outside the city, but I'm very glad we chose this hotel instead for an urban experience of the best kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amf266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your comments and, for your time you dedicated to write the impressions during the stay in Palermo
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our storical hotel.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Best regards
Giovanni Sapienza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Tempo holidays describes this hotel as " being extensively renovated with the common spaces ,the restaurants, the hall and a good part of the rooms are restored to their former glory".
One can only assume that the reviewer was equipped with dark glasses and a white cane as none of this rubbish is correct.
Tempo are responsible for part of our sojourn in Europe and had supplied an Avis Rental car for our trip. We chose the optional Garmen GPS to help us. It was often confused, sent us to the wrong place and even had the wrong destination for the Avis agency in Palermo. The agent told us it was equipped with old software and newer versions were available. He didn't offer to change the unit for which we paid top dollar. Thanks Mr Avis
On arriving at the hotel after going to a wrong location on the direction of the GPS we were in a state of terror thanks to the homicidal motorists who seem to inhabit this fair city. We found that no parking was available outside the hotel, no one tried to help us from reception. To park added another 21 euro per day to the bill. Thanks again Mr Tempo for the information and for them care you put into assisting your customers.
Reception staff however were pleasant and relatively helpful with limited English. We have some Italian.
A major gripe was Internet, they wanted 9 euros per day. Fortunately we had read about the cafe across the road who were helpful. Hotels need to realize that the days of ripping people off for basic services has long gone. Internet should be freely available or at worst at minimal charge.
We had two rooms, ours was roomy and clean. Our families room was smelly, with hair in the sink and bath. Hair on the towels.
Unlike Tempo's incorrect description, the hallways of this establishment are threadbare and filthy.
Breakfast was OK (just) and service relatively good.
Palermo itself is an amazingly dirty destination with piles of rubbish in the streets interdispursed with piles of dog droppings intermingled with cigarette buts. There is little to see.
With few exceptions an encounter with a taxie driver or waiter provided them with a unique opportunity to extort the stranger.
Why go to Pamero? I don't know. It is not for the attractions. Sicily is full of beautiful locations inhabited by lovely helpful people. Palermo is not one of them

Room Tip: Go somewhere else besides Palmero
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henryadams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sirs, I read with attention your negative comments over your stay in Palermo.
There are thousand of reasons to come in Palermo, for job for culture for history.
I believe that only the use of internet wifi was not a good service.
I apologize for this.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Kind regards
Giovanni Sapienza
General Manager
Grand Hotel et des Palmes
Via Roma 398 - Palermo - Sicily - Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#13 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et Des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Property: Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Address: Via Roma 398, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Palermo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Des Palmes 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILYFounded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel et Des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing