We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo dei Normanni e Cappella Palatina

Palazzo dei Normanni e Cappella Palatina
Book In Advance
$113*
and up
Palermo Segway Tour
Ranked #2 of 274 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is one these places where even the best reviews do not do it justice. Both the Capella Palatina and the Palazzo dei Normanni were open the day we went and taking the audio guide seemed to be obligatory. I usually don't like these guides, but thought I would see what it was like since I had to pay for it anyway! It was an iPod; there was a choice of several languages. It really was excellent. The whole place is very interesting and beautiful but the Capella Palatina is not to be believed. So beautiful. A mixture of many different architectural and religious styles.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,374
    767
    225
    93
    65
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
københavn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worth a journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Capella Palatina is one of the marvels of this world, need to see if you are in Palermo - arrive early, og come in January when turists ahve not yet come to Scicily

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank uhuru342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Norman jewels in Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful examples of Roger I's 'Kingdom in the Sun' and a great juxtaposition of Arabic and Norman architecture and decoration.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“must to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

i had only one day to spend in palermo and i am so happy that i could have the opportunity to visit Palatina. it's so beautiful with brighting mosaics. a really gem. i would recommend this visiting anybody who plans a journey to palermo.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ima s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you didn't visit the Palatine Chapel, you didn't visit Palermo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A unique site, a chapel that is only comparable to the ones in the Vatican.
When i entered the Palatine Chapel I started crying like a baby, an explosion of gold and beauty.
I must recommend the Video Guide that lead me to appreciate the most intricate historic and artistic aspects.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo dei Normanni e Cappella Palatina also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Palazzo dei Normanni e Cappella Palatina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing