We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very small” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church of San Cataldo

Church of San Cataldo
Ranked #21 of 303 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small church of San Cataldo was built in 1160, during the Norman occupation of Palermo.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The church is very small, but beautiful. I like this kind of churches.
But I think it's a crime to take money for a visit lasting 5 minutes or even less.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    178
    55
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A not hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stopped by this afternoon to check and see when the church was open (my guidebook said mornings only) but in fact it was open and a pleasure to see. Two lovely women greet you (neither distracted on telefonino as is often typical) and help you!

I had a number of questions about the lovely little chapel - such as: Why are the domes painted red? They were able to answer me - in English even - and say that a small pink swatch of paint was found in the 19th century by the person restoring the church then and from that, the idea came that the domes had originally been painted red. In fact, they said, this is wrong - the domes were originally painted white. At any rate, it's pretty amazing that they haven't repainted it to WHITE. In addition, the other church - St. John of the Hermits - with red domes was painted in response to the same 19th century mistake. Now the red seems so iconic. And yet...I hope one day they will paint the domes white.

In addition there is a small book about the church (written in a very archaic and convoluted text, but at least there IS a book) available for sale of 2.5 EU which says that they believe the walls would have been covered with mosaics.

The feeling is quite lovely inside. I had to ask about The Knights, as well.

To me, this kind of Arab-Norman architecture is what is most unique about Palermo and what I look forward to reading up about when I get home from my trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
470 reviews
229 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Arab-Norman structure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This former small Arab mosque converted by the Normans to a small catholic church looks nstunning with it's rich red dome. The church is being refurbished inside so it is closed for visits.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Sublime Simplicity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Peaceful, charming and inspiring, especially among the neighbouring churches. Worth a detour, together with San Giovanni degli Eremiti.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, België
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Superb little church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Located on a square that has no less than 3 churches. This small but elegant building is certainly one of the most interesting historical buildings of the city. Keep the tickets they give you right of access at a reduced fee to some of the other churches in Palermo.

Helpful?
1 Thank AnnyDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of San Cataldo also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Church of San Cataldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing