We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, terrible wifi, nice rooms, noisy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Sitano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Sitano
Ranked #35 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, terrible wifi, nice rooms, noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here recently for two nights last week. The location was excellent but close to many cafes that get busy into the late hours every night of the week (or so it seemed) with raucous groups. Given this info, I highly recommend getting a courtyard or back-facing room. I had read on TripAdvisor reviews of people who could not sleep because of the noise.

The positive is there are many good restaurants and sites within walking distance of the hotel. Palermo is a great city!

You do have to be a bit on guard. I would not recommend driving in Palermo or parking at all. I overheard another guest complaining to the front desk about his rental car being broken into.

The room we had was large enough and in good condition with nice furniture and finishings. The marble bathroom was very nice and has a large glass enclosed shower with a rain shower head.

My biggest complaint about this hotel is the terrible wifi. It constantly comes and goes and was nonexistent in our room. When I complained to the front desk, they said none of the back-facing rooms get the wifi signal. This should have been disclosed to us before or at the check-in! We were told the large number of guests online at once makes the wifi bad. They should just invest in a better system.

The breakfast left much to be desired -- very mediocre food and terrible coffee (Nescafe machine).

I wouldn't stay here again given the wifi/breakfast. If you don't care much about either of these, then I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    411
    155
    67
    63
See reviews for
138
512
49
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This smart-looking hotel is in an historic building in a good location near the Piazza Marino. It's about a 15 minute walk to the Palazzo Reale. The hotel offers private parking for 21€ a night or you can park for "free" in the Piazza Marino, just paying 3€ to the guys who hang out there directing people into parking spots. There are some nice bars in nearby Via Chiavettieri and the area is lively on Saturday and Sunday nights. Our room was really spacious and looked good in dark brown, white and beige. The beds are a little hard but ok. There can be some noise from traffic late at night but the shutters and french doors cut down most of it. Breakfast is reasonable, with a range of choices and the breakfast room is really nice (see photo). On the downside the wifi is poor, constantly coming and going. The hotel doesn't supply beach towels so you'll have to bring your own. Also they have removed the ability to adjust the air conditioning and the room was hotter than we wanted it (in summer). The staff were all very helpful. We also stayed at Grand Hotel Piazza Borso, which we preferred slightly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have been there for a short stay.
The hotel has a good location.
The rooms are average purely percieving the standard of 4 star category hotels.
In my opinion the room could be more light - when you switch on all the light - for me it was still not enough.
The reception and other hotel staff is very firendly and helpful.
I like the breakfast very much: a big choise of tasty cheeses and typical cakes. I was really good.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hotel Palazzo SITANO, a Four Star Hotel in Palermo , Via Vittoria Emanuela 114, Sicily…. Stayed there for 2 nights May 10 & 11, 2013….

From an old building a conversion into a very modern Boutique Hotel, job well done. During our recent 7 day tour through Sicily we stayed here. It was a very good experience. This small Boutique Hotel is located on main street Vittoria Emanuela in old PALERMO. The Hotel is clean, the staff friendly and accommodating. Rooms are modern décor , a contemporary design; all the amenities are present in the room. This is a Hotel “ GARNI “ only, no Lunch and Dinner is served here, but when you leave the Hotel , turn to your left walk about 100 m and there will be a restaurant were we ate twice. The Hotel, do however serve an excellent Breakfast with a large selection of food items, beautifully presented, a very nice selection will await you at 7:00 AM with good Coffee. The Hotel is located a couple of blocks away from the Port and Piazza Pretaria Fountain. Wake up call was right on time at 5:30 AM…with a loud knock on the door. Be also aware once you leave the Hotel the streets & pavements are dirty with litter , which is not the Hotels fault. Just like in Naples, nobody wants to clean in Old Palermo, what a shame, but I do recommend the Hotel operation HIGHLY.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

stayed here as part of a titan tour group for 2 nights the room we were given was no.221 and it was stunning until we went to bed and were kept awake most of the night by noises from the steet, i don,t know why a hotel of this stature cant have double or triple glazing(on the inside if there is local planning issues). the hotel is a complete contrast to the area which is a bit scuffy you have to be on guard for bag snatchers and pickpockets. we were relocated the 2nd night at room no.224 and it was almost silent. breakfast was very good with a good range. found the staff friendly and helpful.would have rated the hotel higher if we were in room 224 both nights,they need to address the issueof the noise

Room Tip: insist on a room at the BACK
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william57Castleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Palazzo Sitano and absolutely loved it. It's in a great location near the important sites and shopping area, and is really modern, clean and well presented in that understated Italian style. Great lighting makes the best of what is already an interesting building, with a semi-enclosed breakfast area with huge ceilings. Breakfast itself was really good, and the bar a great place for a nightcap in the evening.

The room was large - we paid a small supplement to upgrade - with an entrance hall, dressing area with basin, huge bedroom with huge bed, and a large clean bathroom with good shower. The decor is modern and in good condition. Thankfully our room looked out onto the internal courtyard, so was really quiet. I'm not sure whether those onto the street would be noisy.

As for the city, it's the dirtiest city I have ever been to, so be prepared to see flytipping in the city centre, litter everywhere, including lots of dogmess, and no street sweepers or bin emptiers. We were astounded and couldn't believe how the citizens could put up with it. They must have a high tolerance threshold. I'd be out demonstrating in the streets to get it cleared up...

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for an room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed for a night arriving late. The hotel was a nice surprise. Unprepossessing on the outside but lovely inside. Nice room and a comfortable ambience. A quality place. Arriving by car is a problem as Via Vittorio Emanuelle is busy and narrow so there is no stopping outside.

Good value and worth the price if you want to afford it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#20 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Porta Felice
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#12 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#10 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Sitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Sitano

Property: Hotel Palazzo Sitano
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 114, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palermo
#8 Business Hotel in Palermo
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Sitano 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Sitano is located in a fully renovated “palazzo” from the 18th century.The former convent skillfully combines traditional architecture with modern interior design in a light, airy, friendly way.The hotel’s common areas include a gorgeous arcade hall where breakfast is served, a modern bar with comfy lounge furniture, a cushy library with business stations and a small wellness area.Its 86 rooms and suites with modern amenities and comfortable beds feature mainly clear, sleek lines mixed with small playful details.The hotel is located in the heart of Palermo’s old town near the historical harbor, it is fully air conditioned and it offers a conference room equipped with modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Sitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Sitano Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing