We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Sitano
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good hotel but...”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The plus :
Excellent location, in the historical center. From the airport, we took the bus and then walked 15 minutes
An old palace, beautifully renovated
Large room, large modern bathroom
Good breakfast
Reception people nice and helpfull

Some incovenients:
Dark room, insufficiently lighted
Very noisy on saturday and sunday night : heavy music coming from bars (bring your earplugs)
Internet usage charged to customers : 15 euros a full day or 6 euros 2 hours. In addition we couldn't connect more than one smartphone to the internet.





Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank eylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    457
    200
    92
    80
See reviews for
165
575
57
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

we are there last night , we found this hotel and walk in there ask about room we can stay at that night . staffs are very helpfull and nice. also nice room and it's ok places. also great location in city in palermo. but wireless is charged kinder high. but we was happy to stayed there. also breackfarst is very nice menu and time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmj7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here in September. we picked the hotel based on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. It is a wonderful location, was a nice walk back from the Opera and a great spot to begin a tour of ancient Palermo. Our guide, and Vincenzo from Tradizione Turismo, walked us around Palermo through the back streets to many of the highlights of the city.

Across from the entrance to the hotel is an alleyway that is empty during the day and rocks with people into the night. We came back from the Opera, finds seats in a bar that was no longer serving food butt the okayed getting pizza from three doors down and bringing it in.

The rooms at Palazzo Sitano are good sized, kept neat and clear and they are quiet both internally and to the outside. They have a bar with snacks and give pretty good directions. They do charge for internet access, which is stupid in this day and age, but that is a relatively small pain.

There is a larger pain in that they seem to have a large number of groups passing through and seem to be understaffed at the front desk when that occurs. The large groups tend to be locust like at breakfast but the hotel has to make a buck.

All in all, I would happily return to this hotel and still whine about the internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank robertckelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is well situated in the old town down Via Vittorio Emanuele, one of the main north-south streets. The staff were friendly and accomodating and the room/bathroom were very clean and a good size. About 15 minutes walk to the railway station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cor-player
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I agree with some of the negative comments but ... I stayed for 4 nights from 14th Dec. Very central. Room lovely (soaps etc not renewed once used, though and cleaner came in even though I'd put a 'do not disturb' notice up.) I agree about telly being limited. You had to go down to the desk for 'permissions'. Breakfast fine but that coffee machine - NO NO NO!!! One of the breakfast managers quite surly, it has to be said. I found ants in the breakfast bar but they were cleared away very quickly. PCs on ground floor not all working. Bedroom warm enough, I felt. Spa area a nice touch. Could do with serving dinner at night. I get the feeling the recession has affected them and they are letting things slide a bit ...

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back - quieter!!! But then you have the noisy residents sometimes!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MollyMargulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

An excellent high-quality hotel situated in Old Palermo with access on foot to all the interesting sights. Ultramodern quiet room with cosy wooden floor and superb bed. Bathroom excellent. Breakfast served in a beautiful arcade-like sunlit room is the best you will get in Sicily. Staff at reception are variable, ranging from plain unfriendly and rude to efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: Inside facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SO CAL
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived here at the end of our trip for the last two nights. Selected from TA ratings.

Staff speaks English but like everyone else in Sicily; dour, non-smiling though competent.

This is a nice city property. Clean and the rooms nicely decorated in attractive colors with dark wood floors. We were quite comfortable here although spent limited time due to sightseeing. We had floor to ceiling windows with shutters you could open and actually look out onto the street. Bed comfortable and incredible bedside lamps that are built to let you tip the shade for more reading light. Really neat for those who try to do this to their own lamps without luck.

I would have given this hotel 4 stars except for the traffic. It's loud; people driving, motorcycles which are plentiful in Palermo, people singing, etc. until late in the night. I had to sleep with a pillow over my head to block out the noise. If you can get an interior room guaranteed then I would recommend as it is easy walking distance to the historical sights. Otherwise I would not go through that again.

Buffet breakfast included in a nice spacious bustling area with plenty for everyone. Quiet enough to plan your day. You can make your own cappuccinos also from the machine. Chocolate brioche yummy.

Total cost for the two nights including breakfast: $222.14 - Deluxe room

Room Tip: Anywhere not on the street...horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nshugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#18 of 98 in Palermo
975 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palazzo Brunaccini
#10 of 98 in Palermo
501 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#7 of 98 in Palermo
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Sitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Sitano

Property: Hotel Palazzo Sitano
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 114, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palermo
#8 Business Hotel in Palermo
#27 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Sitano 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Sitano is located in a fully renovated “palazzo” from the 18th century.The former convent skillfully combines traditional architecture with modern interior design in a light, airy, friendly way.The hotel’s common areas include a gorgeous arcade hall where breakfast is served, a modern bar with comfy lounge furniture, a cushy library with business stations and a small wellness area.Its 86 rooms and suites with modern amenities and comfortable beds feature mainly clear, sleek lines mixed with small playful details.The hotel is located in the heart of Palermo’s old town near the historical harbor, it is fully air conditioned and it offers a conference room equipped with modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Sitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Sitano Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing