We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant makes you feel at your italian home!!”

Trattoria Familiare da Michele & Jolanda
Ranked #40 of 1,750 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This restaurant makes you feel at your italian home!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The different and special thing about this place is treat and delicious traditional sicilian food, all home-made.

Thanks to the rexomendations we tasted special and diferent eco-foods.

We also could take away ehat we didn't finish... just like mum's home!!

BR

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank freeriderrpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    164
    41
    15
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe, Hawaii, United States
1 review
“Feel at home restaurant.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A very nice,clean and homy restaurant that serves great home cooked food. Michele and jolanda were very accommodating. The food tasted great, the portions were huge and the price were very reasonable. And the canollis were amazing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty and Friendly”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lovely local buisnes run by a family with home made dishes. Very worm and friendly.
Keep some space for a desert - canolli are amazing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The emperors new clothes”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I thought this place was a bit of a rip off. You are not given any menus and the owner just brings out a plate of cold starters. We really only wanted a pasta dish but we ended upo paying 20 euros a head for a starter and pasta. The home made wine was vile.
I ate in many lovely restaurants in Palermo and would advise you to avoid this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rilganainm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sorry to burst the bubble!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

While walking back from the Catacombes, I looked across the street, saw the trip advisor sign and remembered reading something about this restaurant. We weren't HUNGRY, we simply wanted a canolli and cappuccino. But the owner Michelle would have none of that!
I remembered reading something along the lines of him "telling you what you would be eating", so I was reasonably prepared, and it was indeed a charming attribute. Yes, they were hospitable. Yes, the atmosphere was lovely(never mind the trip advisor posters all over the place). Yes, the cannoli were delish. But JEEZE was that man pushy!
I am a reasonably strong woman and can speak for myself.(limited Italian and all) But to be quite honest I was really taken aback by his pushy-ness. He was obviously going to serve us a huge meal, and there wasn't a darn thing we could do about it!
It was most definitely traditional fare, and it's hard to tell if it was good or not since I didn't recognize a thing (with the exception of the hard boiled eggs, which were covered in green stuff) and the canned tuna on the antipasto plate. The primi piate was penne in an overly sweet sauce. No like. Perhaps it was incredible authentic food. I may never know. I just know we didn't care for it. It didn't help matters that we weren't that hungry to begin with.
Suffice it to say, when the $150 check came I almost fell off my chair. If you go - be prepared! Be prepared to be asked(told) 8 times to put a review on trip advisor, and be prepared to spend $150 on lunch :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Annimc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Familiare da Michele & Jolanda also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Trattoria Familiare da Michele & Jolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing