We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel, Probably best in Palermo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel, Probably best in Palermo”
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The old stock exchange building converted into a superb hotel. Just off of Via Roma and Via Vittorio Emanuele, it is perfectly located for all major sight seeing in Palermo, including the famed Vucciaria market (though the Ballaro market is much livelier and more authentic today). Good shopping along Via Roma. Rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. Ours had a nice balcony overlooking a quaint neighborhood. Very quiet, for a good night's sleep each of 7 nights. Highly professional staff (though the small front desk sometimes can be overwhelmed by guests at checkout on weekends.) Impressive atrium open to the sky is a nice place for cafe and a newspaper, even if it rains and the roof closes over. Good restaurant (10% discount for hotel guests) in impressive, large dining room that fronts on the Piazza Cassa Risparmo, where breakfast is taken. Other excellent local restaurants are close at hand, including Casa del Brodo and Osteria dei Vespri, and the old, maybe overrated, Antica Focacceria di San Francesco. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CNJABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    273
    64
    18
    7
See reviews for
69
283
27
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We were there for a wedding, and we got a discounted rate for that, so the value for money was good.
Other people have made comments about it not being in a good area - perhaps they had different expectations, but given that we didn't expect Palermo to be an idyllic haven, we weren't disappointed. We certainly didn't feel threatened or uncomfortable near the hotel, nor in most of the city. Just in the port at night - not nice. Palermo has so much history it must be a huge burden to care for it all - like having responsibility for all your elderly relatives - and their visitors. But a lot of it is beautifully kept, some of it behind slummy looking doorways. The streets aren't very clean.
Our room was very comfortable, and quiet, with a large bathroom and sitting area, overlooking a courtyard. The facilities within the hotel were good - courtyards, bars, balconies, a fitness room...........a spa will be open at some point, but wasn't when we were there. It would be a great conference hotel.
Service was generally good - at breakfast, if you ask for them you can have fresh orange juice, cappucino, and boiled eggs. From the buffet there is fruit, bacon, scrambled eggs and sausages, cakes, (delicious chocolate almond cake - I had it with ricotta every morning, ) meats, and mozzarella. I wouldn't fault that.
Service - generally very good and charming except for one of the receptionists - the one with the deep voice, who really couldn't care less that we couldn't get any cash because the banks were having a technical problem. Hotels don't offer a cambio - we were stuffed. She laughed and went on to the next customer. Not impressed.
Don't miss the Foccaria Anticaria di S. Francisco around the corner - not only does it offer a genuine Palermitan eating experience (rough and ready though) but it was also the first place not to pay dues to the Cosa Nostra.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I don't like to write negative reviews, but this place was disappointing. The building is huge, but the main entrance is a small glass door on the small side street, with police car there 24/7. How exciting! We could understand why later, after walking around - the area is pretty scary. I would call Palermo Beauty in distress - too sad they can't take care of such historic and beautiful place.The courtyard is lovely. We had breakfast in the roof garden, which could use some plants in order to be called "garden"
The breakfast was average, but they were very nice and the service
was good. Our room was very plain, dull, uninviting. A lovely girl with a deep voice who worked at the frontdesk was very nice and helpful with reservations and recommendations. They get a point for her.
They have a lot of space for conferences,business meetings, so if you are a tourist, you feel like you are in a wrong place.
This hotel needs a major uplift from a good designer or an architect, as well as the whole town.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lica_alisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, HI
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

What can I say about this hotel? It was a beautiful place, a lovely old palace and convent lovingly restored and modernized, but it was it a somewhat questionable area. A strange parking lot outside with strange people milling about all hours. They seemed to be either parking cars or selling another service. We never were sure.

The hotel itself was beautifully decorated with large, lovely rooms and great furniture and other amenities. We were always provided with a nice bottle of spumante every day. It was only later we discovered it was the same bottle because we never had a chance to drink it.

The restaurant was beautiful and the food was very good and well served, with very attentive wait staff. It was a little disconcerting to be the only diners, though. We did see other guests from time to time, but I would have to say this place didn't seem very well attended, but that was fine with me. I don't like too many people around, and being pretty much alone seemed very peaceful to me.

The staff at the desk was very helpful and arranged for us to take a "red bus" tour of the city. They also gave us helpful information about trips to Agrigento and Taormina. We had the feeling they weren't too well seasoned in this work, but it may have been the language difference.

One nice touch was the bar where you could get a nice drink and they provided you with complimentary olives and pastries and you could eat them in the lovely courtyard.

Now about Palermo: if there is any city in Sicilia you can miss it's Palermo. I kept trying to find out the Italian word for "dump," not only in the sense of a place being run down, but in what you found in abundance on the city streets. Dogs really seem to enjoy making their mark on this town. There are perhaps some notable churches to see and the opera houses looked great, but unfortunately there were no performances going on. We felt we covered Palermo quite well in just a few hours, enjoying our side trip to The Valley of Temples in Agrigento much more. Probably one of the highlights of the trip was the "free show" of two dogs....well, you can get the idea.

If you MUST go to Palermo I'd definitely recommend this hotel. It's close to everything (if indeed anything is worth seeing) and it's a lovely place in which to stay. One other thing: avoid the restaurant "Sant' Agata." Food NOT edible and horrid surroundings!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitsiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Situated in the medieval quarter of Palermo, everything is close by - the port, shops, good restaurants and trattorias, the Museum of Modern Art, bars and the train station.
Even though it's just a short stroll from Via Roma - the main thoroughfare - the hotel is very peaceful. A good buffet breakfast is served on the roof terrace from 7.30am to 10.30am. Our room was spacious, stylish and comfortable, with a superking size bed which. The standard of cleanliness was very good and the staff were helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

If you are looking for a good pace to eat I can recommend La Casa Del Brodo on Via Vittorio Emanuelle - about a minute away on foot, and San Andrea just off Piazza San Domenico.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Hotel upgraded our room free of charge - however room seemed quite compact and when I asked for another room in the same category they claimed they were full although we never saw a single guest on our floor. Rooms are spacious and clean with modern bathrooms. Location is great too. What lets this hotel down is the poor service - just indifferent.. Hotel was also quite empty which meant there was no atmosphere. Breakfast was poor - good selection provided but they did not replace things when they were finished eg eggs and no fresh juice, cold coffee and just not what you expect from a four star hotel. These small things make for a very average experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkers234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of September in a Deluxe Suite. Overall it was a good stay, however I felt the service (especially at breakfast) was very lacking for a hotel of this standing.

Positives:
-Location - great location, walking distance to some of the sights and places to eat and drink in the evening.
-Hotel itself - some really nice touches like the indoor courtyard give it real character.
-Room - the room (420) was massive and had a nice balcony (but looking into a sort of courtyard, backing onto other buildings).
-Gym - small but good equipment, fine for a city hotel.

Negatives
-Service - this is one of two areas where they really let themselves down. Atrocious service at breakfast, we were left waiting for someone to serve coffee for about 10 minutes when they weren't busy. All the waiters don't speak even basic English - of course going to someone else's country we took the trouble to learn some italian phrases but in a hotel like this I would expect service staff to be able to know a few key words/sentences related to their jobs. When I asked if I could order eggs the waiter who could speak English proceeded to give me a plate of the cold, scrambled eggs that had been sitting out for a while... he didn't actually just answer the question and tell me whether I could order eggs or the choice was limited to the scramble they prepare. Other aspects of the service weren't fantastic either - on 2-3 occasions we were treated in a way that was convenient for the staff rather than convenient for us, again nothing we were being prima donnas about but I think they failed to grasp that the relationship is that we pay them a lot of money to stay in one of their best rooms, so they should be running around after us not leave us waiting for them.
Cleanliness of room - this is the main reason I've marked it as a 3 star review not 4 - when we arrived there was someone else's hair all over the bathroom floor - disgusting! Rest of the room was spotless so clearly it had been cleaned/prepared. When I called them to tell them they sorted it out within 15 minutes, but there was no apology/acknowledgement etc. Really unacceptable for a 4 star hotel.
-Breakfast - not a 4 star quality breakfast. No fresh juices, no eggs to order (not a big deal but a factor), scrambled eggs left to get cold, poor choice of you don't like lots of cakes or other sweet things for breakfast - all in all not a particularly bad breakfast but certainly not in line with other 4 star hotels we've stayed in around the world.

Overall its a nice place, but could become a very good place if the staff are retrained and they expand the breakfast choice. Would I return? Probably not - I'd be keen to try somewhere else in Palermo that's more focused on customer service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nknij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Centrale Palace
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 98 in Palermo
987 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porta Felice
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 98 in Palermo
818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Politeama Palace Hotel
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Property: Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Address: Via Dei Cartari 18, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palermo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#13 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing