We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$193
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$168
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/22
Trip.com
$142
View deal
Hotels.com$168
Priceline$193
Traveluro$145
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveler rating
420
368
99
28
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
420
368
99
28
11
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 926 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2019 via mobile

When our flight was cancelled, our airline put us up at the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa. When we arrived, the front desk was ready with cheerful, efficient, bilingual staff who managed to check in 150 grumpy travelers in less than 10 minutes. Our room was very clean and comfortable, with everything we might need (inc. shaving and dental kits) and a shared balcony overlooking a residential courtyard (which was very quiet at night). Breakfast was an extensive continental buffet with excellent service. The hotel is centrally located, and the building is a beautifully converted bank with a gorgeous atrium. If we had been paying guests, I would have felt I had gotten excellent value for money. Highly recommended. (My only criticism is that the bathrooms need gas traps to stop the smell from the sewer, but we’ve experienced this many times in our travels.)

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Coloradobc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2018

The one plus point is that the hotel is in a great location walkable distance from all the spots you would want to visit but that's just about it. As you enter, the lobby is an enormous atrium which is very grand but lacking in atmosphere and not somewhere you can while away a couple of hours just reading. The service is offhand. Everyone at the front desk just gave the impression of not wanting to answer any queries. There wasn't one smile amongst the lot of them . The only decent welcome we got was from the very pleasant porter who carried our bags and recommended a good restaurant.
We had booked deluxe rooms - perhaps we were just unlucky and the elderly tour groups which seemed to be the main clients of the hotel - got the best rooms but our rooms were most certainly not deluxe - overlooking a small dirty courtyard where bottles were stored. The rooms were in need of a serious refurb, were dark and dingy - you really wanted to stay out all day . One final thing - avoid the breakfast, in a souless room, so unappetising we just stuck to the croissants - the one good thing was the coffee.
We really wanted to like the hotel. Its location was brilliant, it had great potential but next time in Palermo we won't stay here.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piazzaborsa, Direttore at Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2018

Dear brill95
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa for your visit in Palermo and for appreciated our location.
About the lobby of the hotel, it is a pleasure for us to inform you that it has a unique history.
The central part of the hotel was originally the convent and large church of the Mercedarian Fathers, a monastic order that enjoyed great fame and prestige in Palermo at the end of the 16th century.
The old cloister, characterized by daringly high ceilings, is the pride and joy of the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa. It has got small lounge areas at each of its corners, so that guests can have a drink and enjoy the unique atmosphere.
Thank you for appreciating our porter service and we are sorry for the impression you had about our Front Desk Service, we are sure it was an isolated moment and we will take all the corrective actions in order such episode shall not repeat in the future.
We are sorry you didn’t appreciate our Deluxe Room. This room typology is about 25 sq with air conditioning, minibar, and a satellite TV with pay-per-view channels. Some rooms have 2 bathrooms and most feature a spa bathtub. The room you mention had a view to the ancient alleys of the historical center.
We are very disappointed to read your opinion about the Room Breakfast. Our Room Breakfast called “Kemonia” is in Liberty Style (or Floral Style). The Liberty Style is a unique Italian art movement that became important in Sicily thanks to Architect Ernesto Basile. This Room is 280 sm and it is decorated in floral art. The Floral Style gets inspiration by nature, its organic shapes and colors, and it is applied to the so-called minor arts and forms of architecture. It was decorated by Ernesto Basile at the beginning of the past century and it is now visited during some special artistic itineraries.
Moreover our breakfast has a selection of products envisioned to meet the widest possible range of tastes.
Hoping to have the chance to regain your trust, please accept our commitment in delivering the best experience on your next stay at Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa which so many guests have grown so fond of.
Giovanni Pizzo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2018

This was the first stop on our honeymoon in September, and was a perfect start to our trip. The concierge arranged a pickup for us from the airport for 40 Euro, and the driver was waiting for us as soon as we exited baggage claim. The breakfast buffet is great and the hotel restaurant made one of our favorite meals of the tip. The hotel is set off from the main road so it isn't too loud, but still in the middle of all the sights to see.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank tmct10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018

The hotel is tucked away in a Piazza just of the main street with it's entrance in a very quiet side street. The inner courtyard with a collonaded walkway and patios with lovely seating areas with only the sound of the tinkling fountain to break the silence is quite magnificent. It is usable in all weathers thanks to the sliding roof that can come over should it rain.
I recommend seeking out the toilet with wheelchair access as its location is quite unique (spoiler alert - it's in the old vault with huge 30cm thick steel doors).
The room was very large and well appointed; the bathroom, a great mix of historical character and utility.
The included breakfast was super and the addition of free champagne, most welcome for those who wished it - or to make up bucks fizzes. Not too opulent or with service too fawning to make one uncomfortable but with just the right mix of quality build and fittings with attentive service to put this in my top 3 hotels I have stayed in (out of many hundreds). I very welcome alternative to modern concrete and glass edifices.

Room tip: Depends on what views you like, some rooms will overlook the narrow but interesting side streets, others will have views over the Piazza.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 900peterf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

This hotel looks very grand from the outside, and even as you enter from the side through revolving glass doors, with its beautiful atrium to the right and the efficient offices to the left. But our room (208), while nicely decorated on the whole and spacious, overlooked a dingy cul-de-sac; there wasn’t enough storage space (more storage in the hall, but the clothes rail itself was up so high it was difficult to reach); the bed was hard (like most Italian beds) and since I like a soft bed I bring a 2” thick foam rubber square to lie on.

The bathroom was very dated - bath nice length but so high off the floor it was difficult to get into and out of safely; also the bottom of the bath was smooth and dangerous; the grouting around the top edges of bath had been replaced at some time with incongruous 1” wide dark brown grout; the shower-head sprayed water across the window surface 6’ away. On the positive side, it had 2 sinks and a bidet, and was spacious enough that 2 people could work side by side in comfort.

The room, on the bright side, was very quiet, had an easily operated safe, there was free wifi, the staff were friendly and helpful, there was an excellent laundry service, efficient AC, and downstairs the beautiful large atrium to enjoy.

The dining room was quite nicely appointed and the breakfast buffet fine for a basic (cold) continental buffet. The food provided for our one and only meal there sounded wonderful but didn’t live up to its promise.

Because of its excellent location and the fact that there’s a dearth of good hotels in the area, it’s good for 3 stars. Should be 3.5 really, but in all honesty it doesn’t merit a 4.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank anniep33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews