We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Palermo (or at least its historic centre) is an acquired taste - noise, narrow streets, traffic in chaos and a gentle air of decay. It of course has staggeringly beautiful sights to see and will reward the determined traveller. This hotel is a very centrally located oasis.

We stayed on the 4th floor with a room as large as any I have ever seen. The room overlooked the Piazza (and Church) of San Francesco D'Assisi. Quiet room despite noise of streets; effective air conditioninng, satellite TV, comfortable chairs, lots of room to put away clothes, over the top luxurious bathroom. The room certainly rates 10 out of 10. Minor negative marks: breakfast is served down in the main lobby. A little poorly thought out. Yogurt is all of the sugared variety. Eggs (scrambled only) were salted to the point of being inedible. I complained one day and the next they were slightly better but still reflected a heavy hand. Caffe Latte request from an anglo came out as watery filtered American coffee with hot milk (stick to capuccino - quite serviceable). However, variety was good - lots of ham, salami, cheese, ricotta, buns etc to say nothing of dolci. I take only a few small marks away for sub-par breakfast at the end. We stayed here as part of a tour, so I don't know what rate we paid. However, it was all we wanted and more in Palermo and I am reasonably picky.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SDtor273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 689 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

A brand new hotel in the restructured headquarters of a large bank. Ideally placed in the old part of Palermo, which is a chaotic city. Furnishings are modern, not very luxurious (in the lowest class of rooms, to be fair). Attentive service. Overall, a pleasant and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel was the best part of our visit, unfortunately. Palermo is very dirty and historic buildings and monuments are not kept, have graffiti and trash everywhere. Lots of homeless dogs and cats of the street and by the ocean, It was very said to see those animals on the streets and the piles of trash all over the city. It was a depressive town. After 3 hours there, I couldn't wait to leave the town but was trapped on my travel arrangements for 2 night in Palermo. The hotel was great, it was clean (except the shower), and people were overall friendly. I ended up visiting sites with a small bag of cat and dog food on my hand and dropping food on the way. Back to Hotel, great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaccioStoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It is difficult to choose a hotel in Palermo: it's a big chaotic city. However, the hotel is in a calm corner and it envelopes you in a quiet atmosphere as soon as you walk in. The rooms are big and luxurious and new. The beds comfortable. It has a beautiful courtyard full of light. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in the old stock exchange of Palermo. Its furnishings are modern, verging on Spartan, but very clean and pleasant and comfortable. Has the style and grandeur of years gone by but is not run-down- in contrast it is very modern, clean and efficient. Very good and pleasant service, both at reception and in restaurant. A very pleasant retreat front the filth outside- drain odours, rubbish bins and rubbish and dog foul everywhere- the latter inevitably having been stood in and tramped along the street for ten years or more. The populace seem inured and indifferent. I recommend this hotel - it is also close to the famous Palermo restaurant in St Franceso square

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zotsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent two nights here and the hotel was lovely. Our room was spacious, comfortable, beautifully appointed, as was the bath. The hotel is situated very conveniently to walk to most things, and the service was very accomodating. The architecture is beautiful and beautifully maintained with a pretty courtyard for drinks. Wifi in the rooms would be a great addition.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent two days in Palermo and found Piazza Borsa and ideal choice. The hotel has a lot of the character left over from the days when it served as Palermo's Stock Exchange. This is especially true in the lobby/atrium and the dining room. The rooms are new and recently renovated. A lot of reviewers are down on Palermo. The city is a bit gritty just about everywhere you go including the area around the hotel but this hotel is ideally located and walking distance to everything. Some reviewer said the neighborhood was bad...not true, Palermo is gritty but the whole city has character great Baroque architecture, great food and great people...so what if there is some litter in the street..... ! You will find this anywhere you stay. Its still worth a few days to explore.
Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the beautiful Church of San Francis

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayh-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Centrale Palace
0.6 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Politeama Palace Hotel
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porta Felice
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 98 in Palermo
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Massimo Plaza Hotel
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Address: Via Dei Cartari 18, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palermo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#13 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $109 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing