We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved the lobby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
aol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the lobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I thought it hotel was unique..with its open air lobby and interesting rooms. It seemed in a gritty location but was actually very convenient to many Palermo sights..and good restaurants. Actually one of the nicer areas of Palermo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    232
    46
    14
    6
See reviews for
54
230
19
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
western mass
Level Contributor
182 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Palermo is a tough city. Not for sissies, and by "sissies" I mean anyone who doesn't really want to be there. Reminds me a little of NYC in the old days (1970's "Taking of Pelham 123" etc) All the big hotels in downtown Palermo have very mixed reviews. Borsa has a pretty good location if you are interested in walking and sightseeing. We were in two different suites. THe first one was huge but extremely noisy - a political concert and rally right outside our window on Friday October 26. When it finally stopped around 1-2 in the morning they spent the rest of the evening dismantling the aluminum staging for the rest of the night. Can you say "cranky?" Moved to a courtyard smaller suite - much more basic but a bit quieter. Plumbing etc very comfortable and modern. THe front desk very nice if a bit quick to hide. No concierge. Breakfast quite nice. If you are easily spooked by dark alleys and garbage, the entrance to the Hotel may be a bit of a turn off, but I don't think it is particularly unsafe and certainly the hotel is very clean inside. I agree with those who said do not drive to this hotel. Unless you learned to drive in Palermo, I think this is good advice. Teeny tiny alley with blind corners and cars and taxis blocking and double parked all over. Palermo is an experience. If you are staying at the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa you will be fine, but it is unlikely to be a relaxing effortless 5 star experience, so keep your expectations down a bit and you may have a really great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank sledxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having been upgraded to a suite (room 420) it would be churlish to write a poor review of this hotel but nevertheless I feel compelled to. Though the hotel has an interesting history as having been a monastery, a Mafia bank and being expanded to include a neighbouring Palazzo before being turned into a hotel, none of this is reflected in it's current incarnation. An imposing facade hides a boring interior. Yes there's a nice atrium but it's not used for anything. Otherwise the hallway lighting is almost institutional, the art is modern and tasteless and the rooms, though adequately equipped are bland.The dining room is like a school cafeteria and the breakfast is just as bad (watered down cordial parading as juice?!?) Come on guys- this is Sicily! The main entrance to the hotel is on the side and leads to a tiny modern reception area where the staff hides behind a glass wall until you cough really loudly and then they appear but are of little if any assistance. There is no concierge service either.The hotel is in a very seedy area surrounded by dirty alleyways, badly lit and full of dog poo, and even our suite looked onto neighbouring tenements. True you are in walking distance of two main roads and the railway station is relatively close but the main sites are not and neither is the nice shopping district (both a decent half hour's walk).After 10 days staying in B&Bs, 3, 4 and 5 star hotels around Sicily, this has to rate as the worst place we stayed at(no internet in the room) and it's a shame that it is our last memory of Sicily. It was a clean, OK hotel but lacked personality which is what I expected (otherwise I would have stayed at a chain hotel)

Room Tip: Try to get a suite- I'd hate to see what the lesser rooms were like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travelingaussie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I didn't really like Palermo. This hotel is reasonably well fitted out. Only Internet in the cold lobby, need to get a new password every 24 hours. Dining room mediocre. Staff pleasant. Rooms okay, modern. No guide to anything about the hotel in the rooms. Did it have a pool? Gym? I have no idea. Fairly minimalist, no tea or coffee making facilities. Didn't appear to be any way of controlling the room temperature which was hot.

Felt like an unsafe part of town. Very dirty, rubbish and dog poo everywhere, especially the walk outside the hotel. On the last night caught up in an altercation involving a woman hitting people with a piece of wood and being tackled to the ground. Wouldn't go back to Palermo, not to this part of town either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincrstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We did not stay the night at the hotel this time - but had a wonderful lunch that was first class in every sense. The lovely wood paneling in the restaurant was an indication of the quality to come. Very talented staff set a very high standard for service. The food was excellent - from start to finish. Amazing flambe. Highly recommend the restaurant. From what we saw of the hotel it is a successful renovation of a historical building in a lively part of Palermo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is located in an old bank. The rooms are very well appointed. Wifi is available only in the lobby very near an internet point. Our room was at the dead end of quite a long walk from the elevator. Rooms were being added on beyond our room. We stayed there 7 days so we got comfortable with the location. The rooms were well decorated, clean and comfortable. There was a fridge and a safe.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank abiah3290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa is an elegantly looking hotel located right in the centre of Palermo, close to all sightseeing attractions. In case you need to be centrally located in Palermo, it's a good choice. It has a great looking atrium and the breakfast is one of the best I had. So much for the good news. Now about the disappointing stuff.
The first one: the room. It was small and dark, as it had its windows facing the atrium. A room for a 2,5 stars hotel, not deserving the almost 150 euro/night that I paid for it. Because of the atrium facing windows, I never got fresh air. In the first night, I made the mistake of turning off the a/c before going to sleep. As a result, I woke up at 3.00 pm soaked in sweat and with a sensation of suffocation. When I checked out, 3 days later, the nightshirt was still wet...
The second one: the valet parking service. The hotel has a parking located 2-3 blocks away, reachable by driving through extremely narrow streets and entering through narrow doors. One night of parking costs 18 euro. I went to the Piazza Borsa with a rented car and the hotel staff got it scratched two times in 3 days! I complained about this verbally and in written to the management, asking them to pay the occurred damages to the car renting company. Funnily enough, while one staff member admitted to me that he did the scratch, the manager insisted that the hotel should pay nothing, as it was me who caused the damages. Obviously, I didn't get any written answer to my complaint so I had to deal with the car renting company on my own.
In order for you to avoid such painful situations and have a nice stay there (that is, if you have another type of room), I advise you to never go there by car.

NOTE: Reading other reviews of this hotel, I found a customer with a similar story on valet parking. At the end of the review I was very disappointed to read an answer from the manager who again, just like in my case, instead of excuses, is actually blaming the customer.

Room Tip: a. avoid the small rooms with atrium facing windows b. never go there by car, you may get it damage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dorinser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#10 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Porta Felice
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#19 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Property: Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Address: Via Dei Cartari 18, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palermo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#13 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing