We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abali Gran Sultanato - stay with the Sultan and you won't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abali Gran Sultanato
Ranked #40 of 490 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We loved staying at the Abali Gran Sultanato! We arrived exhausted from the train ride from Taormina, and were greeted with refreshing magical beverages and the warmth and genuineness of Vito, the owner and Sultan. Very soon we felt right at home in his Sultanate. The location is very central to all the sites, and there is an elevator to make it easy to get your luggage upstairs. Our room was fabulously decorated! And Vito was able to provide an array of gluten free breakfast options for my dietary needs too. Another nice perk is the option to have breakfast at any time you'd like (the Sultan understands night people!) We only wished we could stay longer, as we would have attended the Friday night tango party! We will definitely stay here again, as we feel Vito was not only the host, but a new friend too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kym_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 265 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2010

Me and my Sicilian girlfriend went to Palermo for a 3 day vacation to Palermo from Catania, after looking much for a nice and descent price b&b and spending a night at a shady b&b we finally found the Abali and it stole our heart. The rooms are very spacious, clean and with good view. Each has a unique decoration, we stayed in the Tango room and it was very inspiring depending on how much time you want to spend in the room. There is also breakfast included which for me finding a descent breakfast in the land of espresso and pastry called breakfast was priceless. Most importantly the Sultan and the staff are extremely hospitable and open to feedback. They provided us with very good insight into where to go and eat and what to do. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Very special place, if you want something different. The b&b is decorated very originally, with decors that remind a sultanate. All modern commodities are present, including a Jacuzzi in one of the rooms. Everything is clean and rooms are spacious and unique.
The owner is a very interesting person and it was nice to chat during breakfast and getting tips of where to go and what to visit.
i would strongly recommend to stay here if you are in Palermo.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laulondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I had heard about this place through a friend. I wanted the creature comfort of a bed and breakfast, but I wanted something different. I got it. In the historic center of Palermo, Abali is nestled above markets that have been selling everything from fabrics to food for hundreds of years. I learned that the owner Vito comes from one of the oldest families in Palermo, an aficionado of tango as well as the arts, he served as our historian as well as our guide to Palermo's nightlife. I found him intelligent, humorous and possessed a joie de vivre that actually convinced me to stay longer. It was as if the longer I spent there the more Vito would rub off on me. Silvia, a classically trained dancer and daughter of famous writer made sure that I not only felt at home, but that I was a part of their family of friends. The single room I asked for was spotless, pink and black ( the colors of the soccer team Palermo, but it was, I believe, not at all intentional), there were Zebra prints, antique furniture, a fantastic view of church ruins and the market below, it was decoratively whimsical and fun, not strained or pretentious. The modern shower was perfect. The water pressure was just the way I like it. I slept incredibly well... in the "woolly cotton grains of infancy". More importantly, I had my privacy. I could work. I could play. My only regret? That I couldn't stay longer and that the Grand Sultan's room was booked. Next time! Thanks again Vito, see you guys soon! - T.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMojica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I spent two nights in Abali last month, it's very central, a few minutes walking from the main monuments, very clean, the staff is really kind and last but not least they serve an excellent breakfast...I definitely suggest you!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acquacheta68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Everything was simply perfect!
Room was really clean, breakfast with a rich buffet and possibility of service at anytime, location is central and very comfortable to reach.
Nice and polite personnel, magic athmosphere in any room!
A place to experience again!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parakulturado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serluci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Pane Amore e Marmellata
#35 of 490 in Palermo
65 reviews
Tribunali
Boutique B&B Vintage
Boutique B&B Vintage
#16 of 490 in Palermo
111 reviews
B&B Carella
#11 of 490 in Palermo
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ai Vicere
#23 of 490 in Palermo
338 reviews
Extra Bed and Breakfast
#25 of 490 in Palermo
97 reviews
Abatellis Luxury
#13 of 490 in Palermo
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abali Gran Sultanato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abali Gran Sultanato

Address: Via S. Agostino, 5 | (corner via Maqueda), 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Seralcadio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 490 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range: $60 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abali Gran Sultanato 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sultanate of Abali is a place where you find five star luxury together with eclectic elegance of a B&B of its kind. Every room has a private bathroom, air conditioning, TV, wi-fi, polished cotton sheets and soft towels, which ensure a high level of comfort. The distinctive decorations make each room unique… Pop, Tango with king size bed, or the Sultan's Suite with a four poster bed and a Jacuzzi in the room... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abali Gran Sultanato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abali Gran Sultanato Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing