We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's so special?”
Review of Mercato Ballaro

Mercato Ballaro
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.22*
and up
Palermo Walking Tour and Street Food
Ranked #26 of 327 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What's so special?”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Messy, dirty, smells fish, flies on the fruits and worst thing of all, bikes going through every minute with meat, fish and fruits exposed, I would not have bought a single thing to eat from this market. Streets around have a miserable feel, trash absolutely everywhere, definetely not the best thing to experience in Palermo.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramblingdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    349
    109
    35
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Make sure your camera is fully charged.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place rocks! It is loud and noisy and colorful and full of life. The wares are in your face and I wish I had a kitchen to use so I could buy those huge mushrooms I saw or the strawberries that were stacked up precisely or those olives that had my mouth watering. The smells were great. This place is the real deal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ahotpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
518 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Crazy,fun place!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Today we bought fresh tomatoes, olives, mozzerala di buffala and a couple of beers, in an ancient market full of singing vendors with home grown produce. This hodge-podge, long, narrow market, is full of people, locals shopping on their Vespas, tourists taking in the sights, sounds and smells of fresh fish, pigs feet and georgous fruit all lovingly displayed, ready for purchase at reasonable prices. To me, this is the best part of living in Europe, wonderful, fresh food at great prices!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank michael_smith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great market for fruit and veg and particularly fish. If you're shopping for your own cooking best to shop further in as big fish counters near entrance (Station end) seem to cater for restaurant/large quantities buyers.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The usual”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

If this is your first market, it will be great, if it is your fifth, then not-so-great. There is nothing here that sets it apart from plenty of other markets around the world.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RiverCo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato Ballaro also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Mercato Ballaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing