We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feast for the senses!”
Review of Mercato Ballaro

Mercato Ballaro
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.84*
and up
Palermo Walking Tour and Street Food
More Info
$52.57*
and up
Old City and Downtown Palermo Bike Tour
More Info
$33.45*
and up
Markets and Monuments: Walking Tour in the Center of Palermo
Ranked #24 of 339 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Katoomba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Feast for the senses!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Through a labyrinth of streets and back alleys you are suddenly thrown into the middle of a world that could be in the 21st century or back a hundred years! The streets are full of vendors selling fruit, vegetables, meat, fish, cheeses, bread and pastries - customers arguing trying to get the best prices and deliveries by hand barrow - a performance that has been repeated for hundreds of years! We were fascinated. If you have issues with food hygiene do not visit here but the pure theatre of it all he'd us spellbound. An experience not to miss!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raine1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    370
    116
    37
    41
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outdoor market to see”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stopped here for some snacks for our room - green olives, salami, semolina bread, fresh fruit. However, the best thing in the market is the place that serves panelles (fried chickpea patties in a semolina bread) and crocces (fried potato with lime).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This street market is fabulous and one can find great trinkets and treats. I love markets so this is always a pleasure to explore the cities oldest expressions of the merchant trade

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluestraveller321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real Palermo experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great street market, selling mainly fish, fruit and veg. An amazing atmosphere, full of local life. A "must see". An amzing array of different fruit and veg - things we don't see in the UK.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bloobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Dead fish; agressive shoppers”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband says that this is not very fair of me, and that all outdoor markets will have dead things out on display and people uninterested in whether you think they are rude. Yes, but usually there is something else there which redeems the experience for me. A nice place to eat or a little shop of some sort. Not at Ballaro.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lizponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato Ballaro also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Mercato Ballaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing