We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and convenient for the port”
Review of Hotel Garibaldi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garibaldi
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Garibaldi for 2 nights. We chose it because it was close the ferry port (we took the ferry from Genoa to Palermo) and because it had parking.

The room was large and comfortable and the staff very helpful. The hotel location is good both for the port and for walking around Palermo.

The only negative was that I had asked for a quiet room (after reading other reviews), but the room we were given was over the main street which has a lot of traffic noise. Although the windows were double glazed, they did not fit well and so the double glazing had little effect. The rooms at the back of the hotel would be quieter.

One other point is that the hotel is not well signed, particularly if you are arriving by car and at night.

Overall, we found the hotel to be good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road get a lot of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAV50Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed for 10 days enjoying the Arabo-Norman and Sicilian baroque architectural marvels of Palermo, Monreale and Cefalu. The hotel location could not be better. It is between the old city and a new city shopping district just a walking distance to most churches, palaces, museums and traditional markets. The bus stop to the airport or the train station is just outside the hotel. Some good restaurants for a quick and good meal are also just near by. The famous Spinnato Antico Cafe, the place to indulge in an excellent chocolate with sicilian canoli is just around the corner.
The room rate is very affordable The staff is very professional and helpful. Our room was clean and calm on a high floor at the back ot the hotel although its equipment started to show an intensive use. Breakfast was basic and seems to be under the influence of the big turn over of tourist groups that fill the hotel without interruption. Otherwise how a hotel that claims to be a four stars one could sytematically serve cold bacon and eggs for breakfast, fruit juices in plastic glasses and tepid coffee ? But, taking all into account, the Hotel Garibaldi remains a good option for a Palermo stay and I would recomment it mainly for its location and affordability.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank segredod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

City sightseeing bus right outside our hotel! Very nice room,large with a big bathroom aswell! We asked for a quiet room.As front hotel could be noisy because of a busy road.We also took a a tour of mount Etna volcano and the East coast we used a lovely lady called Sandra she had a Mecedes people's carrier go to WWW.SICILYINTRIP.NET overall hotel clean and perfect for a city trip.Breakfast was basic but good enough.I would recommend hotel.Very contemporary and minimalist in style and decor

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessieBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

In our opinion a superb location, at immediate proximity of all the busstops even the one bringing you to and from Mondello. In the vicinity of good restaurants and pubs, with the shopping high streets behind the corner as to speak. An extremely friendly staff with a sense of humour, treating the visitors according to their personal likings. Very helpful and showing a natural warmth : these people seemed really to enjoy their job. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. As a woman I specially appreciated the presence of intimate gel sachets in the bathroom! Breakfast was, to our standards and taking account of the Italian way of life, very good. I simply loved the Sicilian cheeses and sorts of meat as well as the " viennoiseries ". If you didn't like the breakfast coffee, you could get a ristretto, a lungo or a cappucinno for free and as many as you liked. That's what we call service!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlottelauwereins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in April. What's good? Friendly, helpful English speaking staff; clean, spacious, modern & unfussy rooms (not so good if you like a more chinzy style); Location - perfect for airport bus, easy walking distance to all sights, good local bars/restaurants; Price (paid E73 for single occupancy of a double room); Breakfast - good range of hot & cold options, (as others say on-tap coffee not good, but just ask staff to make you a fresh cup). Even better if? wifi was free (charges are over the top); rooms can feel a bit spartan if you prefer cosy. PS If you're in Palermo for a few days and you want a trip out Monreale, Mondello & Cefalu are all easy to do via train & bus and really wothwhile.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived to Palermo in the evening after a long journey. We found the hotel easily, located in a trendy, chic and central area. We parked our car in the hotel's parking behind the building.
A modest entry... But what a good surprise behind ... Smell of cleanliness and a real and friendly welcome. We took the elevator to our room and could not believe our eyes. Spacious room, large bathroom and very good double bed. That evening we went out to eat at a nice restaurant based on the recommendation of miss Daniela.
We found the breakfast very good and well served. The entire staff is always friendly and willing to help. There is wifi and a free PC.
We stayed two nights at the hotel and enjoyed every minute.
Stayed on March 2013, 2 couples (Ary&Alit, Moshe&Debi)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gachbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We were given a beautiful large room with modern and tasteful furnishings. Bathroom was also beautifully designed and cleanliness was immaculate. The most abundant and tasty breakfast we've ever had in all of Italy with a huge range to choose from. The only drawback perhaps was that the bar/cafe was not open during the day. Location - perfect. I would definitely go there again if I was in Palermo.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octopusMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,356 reviews
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#12 of 98 in Palermo
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi

Address: Via Emerico Amari 146, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Palermo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#23 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $52 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garibaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Palermo, within a beautiful building, founded the Hotel Garibaldi Politeama. The hotel takes its name from the magnificent theatre that stands in front. The hotel is situated in the city centre a few meters from the port. Opened in 2009, in contrast to the historic structure, the Garibaldi hotel hides a high tech centre with advanced equipment that meets the most varied customer needs: for business guests, with its congress rooms, with Wi-Fi Internet Access and all kinds of audio video equipment, or for leisure, for its formidable position is easy to reach any destination, from the important monuments located in the area close to shopping area and to the nearby beach of Mondello; is easy to move from the hotel, just to park your car in our private parking and to walk in the historic centre of town or catch various public buses that pass close to any points in Palermo and even to the airport. The hotel offers a reception service opened 24 hours, bar, laundry service and a restaurant where a rich breakfast is served. The rooms offer any comfort where you feel at any time at home: TV led, free Wi-Fi Internet Access, safe, air conditioning, heating, mini-bar, hairdryer, two telephones with voice mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garibaldi Hotel Palermo
Hotel Garibaldi Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing