We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Garibaldi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garibaldi
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A lovely hotel in the middle of the city. Easy access to entertainment, transport, restaurants. The only thing we missed was coffee and bar facilities in the lounge . The staff in the reception were extremely helpful and could not do enough for us. We will come back one day hopefully!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbro f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garibaldi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

When making a reservation for this hotel I made a mistake in the booking date, the only choice available in double rooms unfortunately was non refundable. I called them, explained the situation, and asked them if I could change the 1 night I had booked into 2 nights 2 days earlier. This was bluntly refused. So when you book a room there, beware. The desk is not very helpful to put it mildly.
JGW France

Room Tip: Because I could not change my booking I have not been to the hotel, so these ratings, which I have t...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGWFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We chose this hotel for its central location and convenience for the Airport bus stop - excellent in both regards. Also well located for a good variety of restaurants & reception staff were friendly and helpful with recommendations. The main road, via Emerico Amari is a very busy street, so we were grateful for a previous contributor's tip of asking for a quiet room at the side of the hotel overlooking the entrance. Bedroom and bathroom were signifcantly more spacious than we expected and well-appointed, if a little spartan. A few pictures on the walls (throughout the hotel) would give the place a bit more atmosphere. The breakfast spread was very good and we enjoyed the freshly-brewed cappuccino each morning. An ideal base for touring Palermo on foot, all the main sights are within easy reach. Our only minor criticism was that the steps to the entrance at the side of the building & the ashtray outside the door rather let the hotel down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side of the hotel/overlooking the entrance for the quietest side of the buildi...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EPBerko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of Saga's Seriously Sicily tour. The room was much larger than expected for a city centre hotel with both a shower and a bath and all very modern. Breakfast was good apart from the coffee - make sure you ask the waiter for a cappuccino (or whatever) as the stuff on tap is awful! Had to afford wifi even in reception. The bar wasn't open at 21:00 and exception staff wouldn't help. However, all told it was very good and the location makes it easy to walk to most of the sites.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Parking was the big plus for us, and the service was quite courteous. Hotel was well-kept, clean, and everything worked. Not sure I'd agree with its four-star rating outside, but I'd come back, definitely.

Wifi was good, and 5 euros is a fair surcharge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just to confirm what you should be able to glean by reading other TA reviews..
Hotel Garibaldi is absolutely spot on for a short "City Break" type stay in Palermo. Easy access by coach from the airport - stops right outside the door and across the square to go back. Didn't find any problem with the easy steps down to the entrance - they're so slight it's almost a "slope" rather than steps. Breakfast can be a problem - if you choose to maximise your in-bed time... Don't leave it 'till the last half hour of breakfast when everbody comes and staff can't replenish quickly enough. Get down earlier and enjoy a full choice, they'll make you a nice fresh Cappuchino (and you'll need this because the "draft" coffee is truly awful!) - they'll even bring you freshly cooked egg and bacon on your own plate - but they can't do this when the hordes arrive. Comfortable, clean, good size rooms (big bathroom, but no bath). Lots of decent eateries within easy walking distance and at New Year, Politeama Square (Piazza) is the place to be! If the sun shines, do go out to Mondello on the bus. A great place for a long, lazy lunch in the sun.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bishbashio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in October 2012 and overall was satisfied. The hotel has excellent central location (but on a busy street!) and its own car parking (EUR 10 per night), which was very handy.
We stayed in 2 different rooms (at the beginning and the end of our trip) and the rooms do seem to vary in size quite a bit. The 1st room was on thne 4th floor and was rather small, although clean. The 2nd room was on the 1st floor and was much bigger. Both rooms were fine, though. There is a fridge in every room and tea/coffee making facilities, which I like, especially when you check out at 6 am and there is no breakfast availiable yet. My main issue was breakfast: too many sweet baked goods and but no fruit or any fresh juice. Not a good option if you are vegan or vegertarian. Adding fresh fruit to the breakfast menu or fresh fruit salad would definitely improve the experience. Good hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the lower floors seem to be larger in size
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amsterdamgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,286 reviews
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#12 of 98 in Palermo
1,827 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Plaza Opera
#27 of 98 in Palermo
459 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi

Address: Via Emerico Amari 146, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Palermo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#23 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $76 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garibaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Palermo, within a beautiful building, founded the Hotel Garibaldi Politeama. The hotel takes its name from the magnificent theatre that stands in front. The hotel is situated in the city centre a few meters from the port. Opened in 2009, in contrast to the historic structure, the Garibaldi hotel hides a high tech centre with advanced equipment that meets the most varied customer needs: for business guests, with its congress rooms, with Wi-Fi Internet Access and all kinds of audio video equipment, or for leisure, for its formidable position is easy to reach any destination, from the important monuments located in the area close to shopping area and to the nearby beach of Mondello; is easy to move from the hotel, just to park your car in our private parking and to walk in the historic centre of town or catch various public buses that pass close to any points in Palermo and even to the airport. The hotel offers a reception service opened 24 hours, bar, laundry service and a restaurant where a rich breakfast is served. The rooms offer any comfort where you feel at any time at home: TV led, free Wi-Fi Internet Access, safe, air conditioning, heating, mini-bar, hairdryer, two telephones with voice mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garibaldi Hotel Palermo
Hotel Garibaldi Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing