We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Garibaldi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Garibaldi
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

The location in Palermo is superb -- near bus lines, near restaurants, near the center of Palermo. The staff is even better; when we arrived we had a reservation mix-up, but desk personnel fixed it without any hassles. Thank you Gaia, Loreto, and Michele! A recommendation: if you want ventilation, use the air conditioner, as street noise tends to be a bit noisy, and even in October Palermo has mosquitos. We will definitely stay here on our return to Palermo (this was our third time in this wonderful city).
il gallese.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilGalese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    467
    182
    48
    17
See reviews for
158
489
44
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Found the hotel with no problem. Was concerned that some reviews thought it difficult to find. You do have to go down some stairs to enter the hotel which which suitcases is a poor start. Our room was fine, but a little cold. It was a corner room, so maybe that was why. The breakfast was ok. Nothing fantastic. I suppose the usual Italian type buffet you come to expect. I was hoping for more fruit, but there was very little. The staff very helpful. We did have to pay for wi-fi. There seems to be confusion over this. Its expensive per hour, but they charged us 10 euros for the week.
The location is excellent for the city and all the sites and it felt like a very safe area. Overall i would stay here again, and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The corner rooms can be louder, but you get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnj1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a convenient stop for the tour of the city, the building is somehow worn down but it is fascinating. Service is good, helpful staff , good breakfasts. There is a small parking, better call in advance to reserve

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Perfect spot for a walking tour of Palermo. Close to markets, shopping, restaurants and major attractions. Hotel is across the street from Symphony Hall. Accommodations are clean. Breakfast buffet was nice! Staff provide good recommendations for restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not street side since the noise may be quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clover1646745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived around 9am after a journey on an overnight ferry from naples. The staff were so nice and offered us free breakfast that morning because our room wasn't ready yet. They also gave us free wifi internet which was another nice gesture. We stayed in a superior room. The bedroom and bathroom were basic but both were very spacious. We didn't have a nice view but on the upside our room was clean. The staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel is centrally located, near to all the main areas like the sea port, shopping, bus stops, restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heverlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is on an excellent location, with a parking on the back side (10 €/night). We had a warm welcome at the reception from the 2 smiling ladies, and they helped us to get the appropriate room (there was a strange noise from the airco in one room, and we received another without any discussion). The rooms on the back side of the hotel are very quit (we recommend!). The wireless internet connection is very good (they didn't charge us for 24h connection - thanks!). The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is extended, but the with only 1 guy, the service could be better. We'll come back!

Room Tip: ask for a room at a higher lever or on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delhev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
119 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel location is very good, 15 minutes away from Palermo main tourist attractions and close to the port. The car park, although small, is clearly a plus in a city like Palermo. The hotel is in an old but fully renovated building. A lot of attention has been given to decoration whether in the lobby or in the rooms and the overall result is quite nice. However, more attention must also be given to maintenance as there were hundreds of scratches on the walls of the room we occupied (102) making it look like more a graffiti wall than a hotel room. It was also quite noisy in the morning when buses started to run. Breakfast must be improved as there is clearly not enough variety of breads and pastries and the quality of some products (e.g. fruit juices, coffee) is clearly poor. Although my overall opinion on the hotel is not negative because of the service, location and decoration it is clear that management needs to work on some issues to raise the property standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Hotel Vecchio Borgo
#31 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#17 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#8 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi

Property: Hotel Garibaldi
Address: Via Emerico Amari 146, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Palermo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#23 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garibaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of Palermo, Hotel Garibaldi takes its name from the overlooking Politeama Garibaldi Theatre and it is the only one in the district having an indoor parking. The location of the building is convenient for discovering the city either by foot or bus. The hotel provides 71 bright and large rooms, furnished with a refined and modern style: 8 suites (4 having whirlpool bath and 4 having hydro massage shower), 20 double rooms, 29 rooms with French bed, and 14 rooms with king size single or double bed. The elegant foyer is furnished with a modern snack bar, a cosy smoking hall and a business point. The hotel also features 4 meeting rooms with last generation equipment. Hotel Garibaldi also welcomes small-sized pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garibaldi Hotel Palermo
Hotel Garibaldi Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing