We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Garibaldi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Garibaldi
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The location in Palermo is superb -- near bus lines, near restaurants, near the center of Palermo. The staff is even better; when we arrived we had a reservation mix-up, but desk personnel fixed it without any hassles. Thank you Gaia, Loreto, and Michele! A recommendation: if you want ventilation, use the air conditioner, as street noise tends to be a bit noisy, and even in October Palermo has mosquitos. We will definitely stay here on our return to Palermo (this was our third time in this wonderful city).
il gallese.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilGalese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    484
    201
    48
    18
See reviews for
166
511
44
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Found the hotel with no problem. Was concerned that some reviews thought it difficult to find. You do have to go down some stairs to enter the hotel which which suitcases is a poor start. Our room was fine, but a little cold. It was a corner room, so maybe that was why. The breakfast was ok. Nothing fantastic. I suppose the usual Italian type buffet you come to expect. I was hoping for more fruit, but there was very little. The staff very helpful. We did have to pay for wi-fi. There seems to be confusion over this. Its expensive per hour, but they charged us 10 euros for the week.
The location is excellent for the city and all the sites and it felt like a very safe area. Overall i would stay here again, and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The corner rooms can be louder, but you get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnj1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a convenient stop for the tour of the city, the building is somehow worn down but it is fascinating. Service is good, helpful staff , good breakfasts. There is a small parking, better call in advance to reserve

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Perfect spot for a walking tour of Palermo. Close to markets, shopping, restaurants and major attractions. Hotel is across the street from Symphony Hall. Accommodations are clean. Breakfast buffet was nice! Staff provide good recommendations for restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not street side since the noise may be quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clover1646745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived around 9am after a journey on an overnight ferry from naples. The staff were so nice and offered us free breakfast that morning because our room wasn't ready yet. They also gave us free wifi internet which was another nice gesture. We stayed in a superior room. The bedroom and bathroom were basic but both were very spacious. We didn't have a nice view but on the upside our room was clean. The staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel is centrally located, near to all the main areas like the sea port, shopping, bus stops, restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heverlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is on an excellent location, with a parking on the back side (10 €/night). We had a warm welcome at the reception from the 2 smiling ladies, and they helped us to get the appropriate room (there was a strange noise from the airco in one room, and we received another without any discussion). The rooms on the back side of the hotel are very quit (we recommend!). The wireless internet connection is very good (they didn't charge us for 24h connection - thanks!). The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is extended, but the with only 1 guy, the service could be better. We'll come back!

Room Tip: ask for a room at a higher lever or on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delhev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel location is very good, 15 minutes away from Palermo main tourist attractions and close to the port. The car park, although small, is clearly a plus in a city like Palermo. The hotel is in an old but fully renovated building. A lot of attention has been given to decoration whether in the lobby or in the rooms and the overall result is quite nice. However, more attention must also be given to maintenance as there were hundreds of scratches on the walls of the room we occupied (102) making it look like more a graffiti wall than a hotel room. It was also quite noisy in the morning when buses started to run. Breakfast must be improved as there is clearly not enough variety of breads and pastries and the quality of some products (e.g. fruit juices, coffee) is clearly poor. Although my overall opinion on the hotel is not negative because of the service, location and decoration it is clear that management needs to work on some issues to raise the property standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Hotel Vecchio Borgo
#32 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#13 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Hotel Plaza Opera
#28 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi

Property: Hotel Garibaldi
Address: Via Emerico Amari 146, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Palermo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#23 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garibaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Palermo, within a beautiful building, founded the Hotel Garibaldi Politeama. The hotel takes its name from the magnificent theatre that stands in front. The hotel is situated in the city centre a few meters from the port. Opened in 2009, in contrast to the historic structure, the Garibaldi hotel hides a high tech centre with advanced equipment that meets the most varied customer needs: for business guests, with its congress rooms, with Wi-Fi Internet Access and all kinds of audio video equipment, or for leisure, for its formidable position is easy to reach any destination, from the important monuments located in the area close to shopping area and to the nearby beach of Mondello; is easy to move from the hotel, just to park your car in our private parking and to walk in the historic centre of town or catch various public buses that pass close to any points in Palermo and even to the airport. The hotel offers a reception service opened 24 hours, bar, laundry service and a restaurant where a rich breakfast is served. The rooms offer any comfort where you feel at any time at home: TV led, free Wi-Fi Internet Access, safe, air conditioning, heating, mini-bar, hairdryer, two telephones with voice mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garibaldi Hotel Palermo
Hotel Garibaldi Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing