We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice terrace and good food”
Review of Stravizi - CLOSED

Stravizi
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tribunali
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice terrace and good food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The place is quite hidden but the terrace is lovely with a nice breeze even in the hottest days. The portions are large and prices quite cheap. We had pasta with aubergine and mint which was lovely and some pasta and smoked salmon and shrimps also very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank alialy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    39
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely nice.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel.
Very nice atmosphere,excellent service.
Very good antipasto and pasta.
Great value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zurga7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“midweek find”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

There's an Italian restaurant review site called 2spaghi, with an app that searches out eating places in your vicinity. This is how I found Stravizi, which is in a dead end street off a dead-end street, but was well worth the excursion. Other reviewers say it's busy on weekends, but on Tuesday and Wednesday evenings (we went back) it's very quiet. Don't let that put you off - just enjoy the peace and space. The first night we had pasta - mine swordfish and artichokes with strozzapreti, my friend's a creamy meat-and-mushroom sauce with tagliatelle. Both were ample and delicious. The second night we had several course. We started with antipasti, stuffed mushrooms and a sformata (layers with bechamel - sort of like a lasagna without the pasta) of vegetables - the mushrooms were particularly good. Then a veal steak ("trinca di vitello") very simply grilled, and some stuffed slices of fish, similar to involtini. Then, having spotted them in the glass-walled fridge near the door, semifreddo. The "cheesecake" turned out to be semifreddo, too, which was a welcome surprise. The waitress was helpful in supplementing our italian culinary vocabulary, and very attentive. Apparently the place is full of locals on weekends, and I'm not surprised. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJSWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wise_rita
Level Contributor
139 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best meal in Sicily - carpaccio to die for”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stra...vizi (as it is styalized on its signage) is an authentic Palermo experience. This means no menu in English and a wait staff who know very little English. So bring your English/Italian dictionary or, like us, you'll be flying blind!

We arrived at 8 p.m. to a deserted restaurant. It wasn't until 9:30 p.m. that the locals started rolling in.

We ordered antipasti of bruschetta and sardines, which turned out to be fish balls in an excellent tomato sauce. The bruschetta came with several fried (potato? bread?) squares that were perfect to dip in the tomato sauce. The bruschetta was divine, the sardines fishy in the that classic sardine-y way.

We only ordered 1 primi (first course) to share, since a full 3-course meal for both of us would have been way too much. The pesto pasta with pine nuts and cheese was delicious and perfectly al dente.

For secondi (main course) we were wise to order the best carpaccio ever. I am not a lover of carpaccio, raw beef, but this was excellent - just excellent! With a layer of rocket and parmesan cheese on top, and tiny flecks of something sweet (mango?) throughout, it was absolutely awesome. A must try, even for those like myself who are (were!) scared of raw beef.

The other main course, still, remains a mystery to us. "Piccantini" with a Jack Daniels sauce. The sauce was very BBQ-like, and the meat were little balls, lightly fried, served on skewers. But what kind of meat was it? We have no idea. It was very heavily flavored and gamey, so I suspect an organ meat or similarly scary culinary adventure. I didn't much care for it but my burly-palated partner gobbled them right up.

Each course is a fixed price, with the price list on the last page of the menu. The prices were very reasonable, with antipasti costing €4, primi at €5 and secondi at €7. We ordered the most expensive bottle of white on the menu, which was under €14. And don't forget the "digestivo" limoncello after your meal! They were less than €3 each.

Overall it was the best meal we had in Sicily. It is definitely not a tourist place, but where real Sicilians eat.

If anybody has a clue what the piccantini skewers were, please leave a comment. The suspense is killing us!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank wise_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Superb price value. We just trusted the server and stayed more with fish.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Billynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stravizi also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing