We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really loved our stay at Porta Felice in Palermo”
Review of Hotel Porta Felice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porta Felice
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really loved our stay at Porta Felice in Palermo”
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed 5 days in Palermo and did enjoyed our stay very much indeed. Alessandra and Rio (very handsome) were really helpful, warm and welcome . Breakfast was good and Susana give us lot's of tips where to go and they all spoke good English. As the others said; the roads are narrowed and too close, but that is most of Sicily and specially the hotel is at the old part of the town. The place is as safe as it can be, but be on guard for the odd "motorino" (boy on little scooters) as they will take your handbag if you don't be on alert. Just a little misfortune happens from time to time when they can spot a careless tourist.
Apart from that, the Sicilian's are truly lovely people all together, very helpful on the streets and they can take you by the hand to show you where do you want to go. Traffic is crazy and don't assume they will stop for you on zebra crossing - go with locals: they are very bold!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    332
    64
    22
    11
See reviews for
96
442
36
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed three nights in this hotel. This hotel is in a quiet area but is a bit far from the city center. About 20-30 minutes walk to the heart of the city. The room is BIG and have a modern look. It also has a balcony. The room feels new and clean. The breakfast choice is excellent. The dinner in the restaurant is also very good and the price is not expensive. The reception staff is very helpful and friendly. Free internet use at the lobby, the reception staff can provide you a laptop for free use at the lobby. Parking is also free outside the hotel and along the narrow streets.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel. They were very helpful with booking the accommodations and during our stay. The Hotel was very clean and their rates are reasonable. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was restored beautifully. There is Turkish spa in the hotel witch we didn't get to visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rorowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We chose Hotel Porta Felice based entirely on Travelocity. We were not disappointed in the slightest. We stayed at the hotel for three nights and the room was fabulous. While the staff is very stiff, one in particular was fun, down-to-earth, very exciting, and wonderful during out stay--Paolo. He was by far the best staff person the hotel possesses. He provided Numerous pointers on Palermo and was honest in his assessment! He was wonderful! Breakfast was good and was very high in quality (especailly the fruit) and was plentiful! Overall the hotel was one of the best we stayed in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
265 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We chose this hotel partly because it was so highly rated on Tripadvisor and partly because it was in the old part of town where we wanted to be based. We were pleased with the location (we stayed 5 nights) but if we had only been staying a night or two we would have preferred to be in a more central part of town. Some people might not like the dark narrow street or the dilapidated palazzo opposite.

Our room was very clean with modern decor and a very nice modern bathroom but we were surprised that we couldn't control the air conditioning ourselves - this could only be turned off by calling Reception to do it. A hospitality tray and bathrobes would have been appreciated extras.

Breakfast was OK - as someone else has pointed out, particularly if you like cake - but we had to ask for fresh orange juice as they only served some kind of fruit squash. They didn't clear the plates while we were eating and even though we were a party of three and stayed for 5 days, each morning I had to lay a third place at the table.

The reception staff were very efficient in answering my emails prior to the booking and arranging an excellent excursion for us, but they weren't particularly friendly. By day 5 in a comparatively small hotel I would have expected them to know our names or at least our room numbers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

When we arrived in the neighborhood, it was around 8pm sunday. I thought I made a mistake on hotel choices because the town seemed to be too quiet and too dark. Once I walked into the hotel, things were different. The receptionist was very nice and handsome! (;>) Our room was impressive...roomy, clean, nice contemporary design, quiet AC. Breakfast on the rooftop was a nice surprise. Again, the dining hall was clean, quiet, nice view over ruins...and fresh ocean air and gentle morning sun. My mother was speechless. The food was excellent although nothing fancy. Their coffee didnt impress this coffee-savvy though.

The free internet use was nice in the conference room but it was slow and screen was small....still appreciate to use it for free. The frontdesk staff were very knowledgeable on town info. The location of the hotel wasn't central but close enough and walk to main attrations during the daytime. Bus stops are close by. Also, there are small convenient stores nearby for snacks and water.

Another nice surprise was dining experience. We found BBQ restaurants next block which opened for dinner only. I believe there were several in the neighborhood. Our 3-course meals at Trattoria Torremuzza were fantastic. I get picky on fish since seafood connoisseur. It was FRESH and very tasty and fun to sit out and watch a battle between two restaurants. 'The battle' started as soon as the church bell rings for 8pm. The dim alley got quickly filled with happy diners and the smoky air with scents of grilled fish. The local buses maneuvering through hot BBQ stands inches away was nerve-breaking and amazing at the same time. The other restaurant across street (with chubby owner-I forgot the name of the place) seemed to be the winner for the night. People kept coming in, they kept expending the dining space on the alley. They started with around 5 tables, then by the time we were done with dinner, they must have had 30 or 40 tables at least. Any seafood lovers must try these neighboorhood seafood BBQ joints.

Our two night stay at this hotel was more than a month ago. I miss the stay and town already as I am writing this. I think Palermo has alot more to do then I heard of. And there are small cities you can make daytrips from this hotel. Everyday, we talk about how we can go back to Sicily. We definitely will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We arrived at Hotel Porta Felice slightly stressed from the crazy drive into Palermo.
If you're thinking of hiring a car in Sicily and planning on driving to Palermo arrange to drop it off outside of the city as the chances of getting the car out without a scratch are slim... fortunately we were lucky :)

On check-in we were told that our Superior room was to be upgraded to a suite, which was a lovely surprise. The room was spacious and luxurious. Although there weren't any views to speak of (the hotel is down a narrow road a couple of streets down from the waterfront) it's pretty safe to say the same applies to most hotels in Palermo! A scenic city this is not!

The hotel has a lovely, smallish spa, although you do need to pay to use it - we each had a really good massage though.

Breakfast wasn't great - the juice was over-diluted and the coffee more like runny marmite! But the cakes were tasty.

Overall, if you're looking for a smart hotel amidst the chaos, then this is a good choice. We stumbled upon a nearby street full of bars spilling out on to the streets and a great party atmosphere too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottandSteph90992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#10 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Felice

Property: Hotel Porta Felice
Address: Via Butera, 35/47, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palermo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Family Hotel in Palermo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#6 Business Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Felice 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Palermo, in the historical city centre, a few metres from Foro Italico gardens, Piazza Marina, via Alloro and Corso Vittorio Emanuele. It is elegant and welcoming. It was built on the foundations of a XVIII century building and has been completely reconstructed. There are 30 rooms and 3 suites all equipped with satellite tv, free wi-fi connection, telephone, safe and mini bar. Breakfast and bar services are located on the top floor on a panoramic terrace from where it is possible to admire the walls of Palazzo Steri and Piazza Marina. The Wellness club, on the ground floor, offers a wide range of relaxing services from a sauna, steam bath, small pool with hydro massage, emotional showers and also many personalized beauty treatments. For meetings there is 1 room up to 25 persons and also, on request, there is a guarded parking area nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Porta Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Felice Hotel
Hotel Porta Felice Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing