We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff”
Review of Hotel Porta Felice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porta Felice
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We drove from the Palermo Airport to the hotel and, with some help from GPS, had little difficulty in locating Porta Felice. They offer street parking, but, we opted to pay for parking. Room was spacious and modern, with WiFi, though, this worked better in the restaurant. It took some getting used to their security and energy saving system, but, only a small annoyance. Breakfast was standard fare and dinner was very good. Room views from the back of the hotel are non-existent. Noise from cats and birds forced us to keep the windows closed and run the A/C; even then, they can wake you at night. Staff was very helpful and, in particular, Alessandra, who tried to help us locate the birth certificate for my wife's grandfather (born near Palermo). She seemed to take it as a personal challenge, but, unfortunately, we hit a wall without an actual day and month. We were also impressed at her ability to continue helping others, while waiting for assistance on the phone to the Office of Records. Hotel location is very accessible to all sites and restaurants, so, we never used the car until we left for Catania. Enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 836 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location for the night life. The rooms are good and the restaurant has nice food and a good view. Don't bother with the bar, its just the restaurant and it closes early. We had a room facing onto the street but there was no problem with noise as the windows are well insulated. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Head out the door and turn right and go for two blocks to Trattoria Torremuzza for a super Palermo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShuggieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We looked for a boutique hotel style and this got it. Stayed for 3 nights. Rooms were very nicely done, nothing bad to say at all. Breakfast was very good, as one can expect in Italy, warm cakes etc, and everything else in a very nice breakfast area on the top floor. Location of the hotel was very good, not far from the centre, not far from the seaside. Staff were very good with the exception of the luggage boy who showed us the room, saw our key card didn't work, used his and did not make an attempt to correct it (change it). Didn't bother to complain but these are details that good staff should look at. Bit noisy at the backside, still don't know if were seagulls or cats in love but nothing the hotel could have avoided. We asked for a room change which was granted.

Room Tip: Take rooms as high as you can for less outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telly2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The staff were fantastic, most notably Rjo, Alexandra, Paolo and Fabrizio. We didn't use the spa, but the small roof terrace was nice for relaxing, breakfast was average. There was free wi-fi, but we could only get it on the roof terrace, not in the room. The bed mattress was the hardest we have ever experienced, very uncomfortable! No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, and none available after midnight anywhere in the hotel. Good location for walking to nearby attractions. We booked a week in Palermo, but would suggest 3 day stay is enough to see the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angienurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

we booked our 4 night stay at Hotel Porta Felice based on the excellent reviews on TA. We were deeply disappointed. Upon our arrival, we were informed that we had to stay our first night at a nearby hotel due to an unexpected incident which made rooms on the 2nd floor not available. Subsequently we found out that we were bumped out in order to accommodate a large tour group. The reception person expressed hotel's desire to compensate for our inconvenience, but declined to offer us the complimentary massage we requested. We expressed displeasure, but the manager never responded to our complaints during the time we stayed at the hotel. The room is large with functional AC and a comfy bed. The bathroom has good shower with plenty of hot water. However, the hotel facility is not up to the standards of a 4 star. During the 3 nights we stayed, one elevator was under repair and the other was malfunctioning. Fortunately we were able to get out of the elevator unharmed. Breakfast was poor, with very limited and basic selection of choices and served in a rather shabby and cramped space. Very slow wifi. Staff at reception was helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela F, Direttore at Hotel Porta Felice, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Sirs,
I'm very sorry about these troubles with your stay.
Unfortunately we had a very bad idraulic problem in some rooms, and this is the reason why we moved you in another hotel for one night.
We payed you the taxi transfer to the other 4 stars hotel in order to reduce your inconvenience and I personally offered you (free of charge) a wellness trail of two hours in our wellness club for all of you, and it was a pity that you refused them.
I'm really sorry that you didn't like our panoramic terrace where the breakfast is served every morning.
We're a good and well- reviewed hotel, but we're not perfect !
Please forgive us again for all inconveniences and have a very pleasant return journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We took two double rooms for 3 nights. Helpful staff. Pleasant place for breakfast on the last floor. Nice choice for breakfast, fresh food. Very comfortable beds. Clean, quite spacious rooms. Bathroom with bidet. I would chose exactly same hotel if I go second time :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keriekerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is small and friendly. The staff are nice and helpful.
Location is great and you can walk anywhere. We had a car and it was easy to find parking in the area. You can manage with a car in Palermo even though some say you can't.
The room was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolik62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
534 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#7 of 98 in Palermo
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Felice

Address: Via Butera, 35/47, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palermo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Family Hotel in Palermo
#6 Business Hotel in Palermo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $94 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Felice 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Palermo, in the historical city centre, a few metres from Foro Italico gardens, Piazza Marina, via Alloro and Corso Vittorio Emanuele. It is elegant and welcoming. It was built on the foundations of a XVIII century building and has been completely reconstructed. There are 30 rooms and 3 suites all equipped with satellite tv, free wi-fi connection, telephone, safe and mini bar. Breakfast and bar services are located on the top floor on a panoramic terrace from where it is possible to admire the walls of Palazzo Steri and Piazza Marina. The Wellness club, on the ground floor, offers a wide range of relaxing services from a sauna, steam bath, small pool with hydro massage, emotional showers and also many personalized beauty treatments. For meetings there is 1 room up to 25 persons and also, on request, there is a guarded parking area nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Porta Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Felice Hotel
Hotel Porta Felice Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing