We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Generally a nice hotel, but not as good as we'd hoped!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Porta Felice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Porta Felice
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Generally a nice hotel, but not as good as we'd hoped!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The staff were fantastic, most notably Rjo, Alexandra, Paolo and Fabrizio. We didn't use the spa, but the small roof terrace was nice for relaxing, breakfast was average. There was free wi-fi, but we could only get it on the roof terrace, not in the room. The bed mattress was the hardest we have ever experienced, very uncomfortable! No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, and none available after midnight anywhere in the hotel. Good location for walking to nearby attractions. We booked a week in Palermo, but would suggest 3 day stay is enough to see the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angienurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    315
    63
    18
    10
See reviews for
93
419
34
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

we booked our 4 night stay at Hotel Porta Felice based on the excellent reviews on TA. We were deeply disappointed. Upon our arrival, we were informed that we had to stay our first night at a nearby hotel due to an unexpected incident which made rooms on the 2nd floor not available. Subsequently we found out that we were bumped out in order to accommodate a large tour group. The reception person expressed hotel's desire to compensate for our inconvenience, but declined to offer us the complimentary massage we requested. We expressed displeasure, but the manager never responded to our complaints during the time we stayed at the hotel. The room is large with functional AC and a comfy bed. The bathroom has good shower with plenty of hot water. However, the hotel facility is not up to the standards of a 4 star. During the 3 nights we stayed, one elevator was under repair and the other was malfunctioning. Fortunately we were able to get out of the elevator unharmed. Breakfast was poor, with very limited and basic selection of choices and served in a rather shabby and cramped space. Very slow wifi. Staff at reception was helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela F, Direttore at Hotel Porta Felice, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,
I'm very sorry about these troubles with your stay.
Unfortunately we had a very bad idraulic problem in some rooms, and this is the reason why we moved you in another hotel for one night.
We payed you the taxi transfer to the other 4 stars hotel in order to reduce your inconvenience and I personally offered you (free of charge) a wellness trail of two hours in our wellness club for all of you, and it was a pity that you refused them.
I'm really sorry that you didn't like our panoramic terrace where the breakfast is served every morning.
We're a good and well- reviewed hotel, but we're not perfect !
Please forgive us again for all inconveniences and have a very pleasant return journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We took two double rooms for 3 nights. Helpful staff. Pleasant place for breakfast on the last floor. Nice choice for breakfast, fresh food. Very comfortable beds. Clean, quite spacious rooms. Bathroom with bidet. I would chose exactly same hotel if I go second time :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keriekerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is small and friendly. The staff are nice and helpful.
Location is great and you can walk anywhere. We had a car and it was easy to find parking in the area. You can manage with a car in Palermo even though some say you can't.
The room was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolik62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend really enjoyed our few days in this hotel. Location is perfect - walking distance to all the sightseeing. Room was amazingly decorated and really big. Bed was enormous and very comfortable. Breakfasts were really tasty, typical choice of swedish table. Staff that is working over there treated us as if we were in a 5 star hotel ! Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The room was very big and comfortable, the room service was delicious, the service was very warm. I would definitely come back. We arrived late in the evening and the hotel went out of their way to make our stay (with an 8-month-old baby) very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_Berlin_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staff is helpful and friendly but not assertive at all. Rooms are spacious and decorated with taste. The best part was to have your glass of wine on the rooftop terrace under lemon trees. Breakfast was also exeptional

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orsi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#12 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Felice

Property: Hotel Porta Felice
Address: Via Butera 45, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palermo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Family Hotel in Palermo
#6 Business Hotel in Palermo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Felice 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Palermo, in the historical city centre, a few metres from Foro Italico gardens, Piazza Marina, via Alloro and Corso Vittorio Emanuele.It is elegant and welcoming. It was built on the foundations of a XVIII century building and has been completely reconstructed. There are 30 rooms and 3 suites all equipped with satellite tv, internet connection, telephone, safe and mini bar.Breakfast and bar services are located on the top floor on a panoramic terrace from where it is possible to admire the walls of Palazzo Steri and Piazza Marina. The Wellness club, on the ground floor, offers a wide range of relaxing services from a sauna, steam bath, small pool with hydro massage, emotional showers and also many personalized beauty treatments and massages.For meetings there are 2 rooms up to 20 persons and also, on request, there is a guarded parking area nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Porta Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Felice Hotel
Hotel Porta Felice Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing