We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value hotel in old part of Palermo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Porta Felice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Porta Felice
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value hotel in old part of Palermo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had one night in Hotel Porta Felice and from the moment we walked in the door we knew it was a winner! It was clean, modern and on a great street with lots of places to eat and drink nearby. We walked to it from the central station (having caught the bus from the airport) and it took about 15mins walk. The hotel is located on Via Butera but if you're coming from the central station the road actually starts off as Via Nicolo Cervello so don't be deceived if you don't see Via Butera straight away!

Our room was clean, modern and spacious. No bath, just a shower. There was free wifi - get the password at reception.

The staff were very helpful and spoke good english.

The breakfast was the best we had in Sicily with a great spread of meats, cheeses, pastries, yoghurts etc. and there was also the option for hot food at an extra cost. Although it was pouring with rain the morning we had breakfast, it is served on a terrace that opens up so I'm sure on a sunny day it would be lovely sitting up there having breakfast!

Great arancini place at the end of the road (Touring bar). We ate at Trattoria da Saldo which was just along the road as we wanted something close by but I wouldn't recommend this restaurant at all.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and stay at it again the next time I was in Palermo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THH-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    310
    60
    17
    10
See reviews for
92
410
33
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I recently went to this hotel with my husband for 1 night stay and I was very pleased with our choice; spacious rooms, comfortable beds, nice bathroom; helpful staff and porterage available.
A bit noisy at night, but I believe it was a mad man enjoying his summer ride with high music on his sporty car! Beautiful breakfast room on the roof garden with an excellent selection of food, hot and cold and a variety of local biscuits! Excellent choice highly reccommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Nice and modern hotel with good service. A lot of noise from the traffic, unfortunately. Good restaurants nearby. The breakfast is typical sicilian, served on the top floor offering seatings on the terrace.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torunn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel in the heart of the old city. The only negative point is the noise ifrom the airco. Very good breakfast on the top floor, I'm a nice small terrasse.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FFelixxs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zell am See, Austria
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

A very modern 4* hotel in Palermo within walking distance from most attractions that offers excellent service. The rooms are very modern and everything works perfectly well. The air conditioning is centrally controlled from reception and when normally people are not in the rooms they would turn it down and turn it back up just as people start flocking back to the rooms. Saving the environment a little and reducing the electric bill, no harm in that. A phone call to reception and the AC will be working round the clock.

The staff were extremely nice, very helpful, friendly yet professional. The spa they have is quite nice to unwind in after a long few days of sightseeing. There are a few good restaurants in the vicinity and night life is just around the corner. Breakfast was ok and the catering staff were very nice and always welcomed us with a big smile.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel talked a line about service and really offered none! Night noise from their drainage pipes,very inadequate massage services, lost property - all these things happened to us and we were told multiple times that "they would be handled" and nothing was done. We were treated like children and dismissed with promises and no action. Never again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Hotel Porta Felice, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Sirs,
first of all I would like to thank you for your review; and I excuse me for this problem with our hotel.
We've tried to change your room (because there was an idraulic problem ) the second night of your stay but you didn't accept.
We also offered you 2 free entrance in our Wellness Club ( sauna, steam bath, emotional showers, jacuzzi, relax area) to excuse us for the inconvenience.
Our staff always try to take care of guests in every situation and I'm really very sorry to hear that you're so disappointed and that nobody had paid attention to you!.
Thanking you again for your review which help us to improve our service and to understand that we've to work on some aspects more actively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have lived in Sicily for years and have traveled extensively in Sicily and Italy, and Hotel Porta Felice did not live up to what I have come to expect from a four-star Italian hotel. While the hotel (especially the rooms) is nicely decorated, the overall feel was not professional or particularly welcoming. For example, we had problem after problem with our room (the TV did not work, the A/C worked only occasionally, there were loud, unexplained noises that caused us three sleepless nights, the water temperature in the shower got very hot then very cold). The hotel staff was not particularly helpful; they were not responsive and did not make any real attempts to resolve our issues. I think that, in terms of location and in terms of service, there have to be better options in Palermo. I do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near an external drain pipe; they make quite a racket at night. The rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargheritaSiciliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Hotel Porta Felice, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Sirs,
I'm very sorry to read about so many problems in our hotel and I send you all my warmest excuses if something has troubled your holiday.
In Italy at the moment there is an ephochal changment in the television transmission line : from the 4th of July all italian and foreign channels will be transmitted through a digital decoder .
This changement has caused many problems because of maintenance of networks beyond our control; unfortunately these problems happened in may others hotels, structures and houses!
As regards the air conditioning I assure you that our conditioning system is working perfectly since three years without notable technical problems.
Noises that disturbed you derived from a hydraulic pump setted in a building next to our hotel ; finally now after various complaints from us this has been soundproofed.
I excuse me again also in name of my staff that every day do all they can for our guests with all their requests and unfortunately not always they are able to solve the problems because these events are not within our control.
I warmly hope to have you again as our guests so that you could change your mind about our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#11 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Ucciardhome
Hotel Ucciardhome
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Felice

Property: Hotel Porta Felice
Address: Via Butera 45, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palermo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Family Hotel in Palermo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#6 Business Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Felice 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Palermo, in the historical city centre, a few metres from Foro Italico gardens, Piazza Marina, via Alloro and Corso Vittorio Emanuele.It is elegant and welcoming. It was built on the foundations of a XVIII century building and has been completely reconstructed. There are 30 rooms and 3 suites all equipped with satellite tv, internet connection, telephone, safe and mini bar.Breakfast and bar services are located on the top floor on a panoramic terrace from where it is possible to admire the walls of Palazzo Steri and Piazza Marina. The Wellness club, on the ground floor, offers a wide range of relaxing services from a sauna, steam bath, small pool with hydro massage, emotional showers and also many personalized beauty treatments and massages.For meetings there are 2 rooms up to 20 persons and also, on request, there is a guarded parking area nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Porta Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Felice Hotel
Hotel Porta Felice Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing