We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Columbia Palermo
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I originally booked a single room and it was tiny. They managed to change me after 2 nights for a reasonable increase in cost. I had told them the reason I wanted to change particularly was that it was my birthday and when I arrived back after a days sightseeing to get my new room, the reception staff had a cake for me!! This was lovely but not as fabulous as the balloons on my bed giving me another wonderful surprise. In general, the staff were super helpful and took time to answer questions and to try and make my stay an enjoyable one. The rooms are small but clean and have everything you need, including lots of hot water. The breakfast was okay but on my last day the lady in charge of breakfast insisted I try a croissant. I had one with yellow creme and it was fabulous - much better than the other offerings. So grab the croissants. My only real complaint was the noise on the Saturday night. There was music and singing and it started at 11 pm and didn't finish till about 3. The next 2 nights were fine but then on the Tuesday night there was the same problem. Not sure if I was just unlucky but it certainly disturbed my sleep. Other positive things though are the location and the price and again the great staff!!!

Room Tip: Don't book a single unless you are on a very tight budget.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Columbia Palermo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 544 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is 'okay' but no more than that. Frankly was a bit disappointed after all the raving reviews. Granted, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the location is pretty good, but our room was tiny, the shower drain wasn't working well, and the breakfast was plain horrible with nothing but processed foods and coffee from a automated machine. If you don't mind these things, it's fine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very unpromising from the outside but inside a nice surprise. Charming helpful staff on the reception. Bedroom adaquate with unusually comfortable beds. Breakfast included in the price which was very reasonable. Would like to return and have no hesition in recommending it to anyone wanting to spend a few days in Palermo

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna727186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Hotel Columbia looks unpromising from the outside but looks are deceptive. Once you are past the cats and the building site entrance you find yourself in a bright, clean lobby with welcoming staff. Our room was small but adequate - however we die not spend much time in there. The shower cubicle could do with updating.
Breakfast was filling and there was a reasonable choice although the coffee by Italian standards was not great.
The Wifi did not work in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelBRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Palermo is a gritty, vibrant Southern Italian city, a little too much garbage and not enough lights, but very safe. So wandering down back lanes did not pose a problem. However, the temporary construction, renovation project for the new entrance to the hotel had me walk past the first time. Having said that the hotel experience was impeccable, lovely room, fine breakfast included, reasonable price, accommodating staff and helpful in providing directions and advice. I spent two nights there and will go back there if and when I am back in Palermo.
One final note, as I had to leave at 6am for a flight, I was surprised that the hotel staff, put together an impromptu take away breakfast for me. This was very thoughtful and kind. Kudos for this.
It got me through the morning.

Room Tip: It is on an extremely quiet street so I would expect all rooms to be quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hobie.mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had a wonderful four nights at this hotel. The staff offered some of the best service I have ever experienced, regardless of star rating. Everyone working there, receptionists, breakfast staff, cleaning-staff and others were extremely helpful and forthcoming. The room was large and clean with comfortable beds. Great location with walking distance to all points of interest. Me, my wife and little babyboy are certain to come back to the Columbia if we return to Palermo!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elvatunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,291 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#18 of 98 in Palermo
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
462 reviews
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#9 of 98 in Palermo
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia Palermo

Address: Via del Celso 31/37, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#12 Business Hotel in Palermo
#14 Family Hotel in Palermo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $47 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Columbia Palermo 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel: Columbia Palermo Hotel is located in the heart of Palermo city centre, about 300 meters far from the Massimo theatre, the Cathedral, the Pretoria Square, Ballaro and Vucciria markets, only few steps from the Quattro Canti ( Vigliena Square). Situated in an historical palace of XIX century, entirely restyled, the Columbia Palermo Hotel offers a cosy and friendly atmosphere an all sorts of the most modern comforts. The Rooms: All 24 rooms are fully equipped with: private facilities and shower, hairdryer, TV color, mini bar, air conditioning, and WI-FI connection. Our service: Credit card, 24-hour reception desk, Rich international breakfast, Disabled persons room, Car-motorcycle-bike renting , WI-FI connection, Bar, Room service (part-time), Alarm call service, Cradle, Fax service, National newspapers (on demand), Arranged restaurants near the hotel, Private car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbia Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Columbia Palermo Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing