We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly it is very good value-for-money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Columbia Palermo
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Surprisingly it is very good value-for-money!”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Once we arrived at the hotel, we were horrified of what we might come across, as the street is deserted and all the houses are in a very bad condition. You have to ring the doorbell (!) and enter a construction site, of which the hotel is only part of. The GOOD NEWS are that the hotel is refurbished, so the room is CLEAN (although small), the bathroom is CLEAN and the staff very helpful (we needed to use the internet, and the receptionist offered us the PC in his office!).
Breakfast: basic.
View from the room: the wall of the opposite building, but the room isn't dark at all.

Right in the centre of the historic town, 10min walk from the Opera House, 1min walk from the near bars. The region is safe at night (although we had our doubts).

Overall, we were very satisfied with the facilities when compared to its price!

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you don't like stairs, think again.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smell_the_earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    225
    70
    18
    9
See reviews for
59
234
64
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

One of the major reasons that made our visit to Palermo memorable was the warm, friendly and hospitable staff at Hotel Columbia. Great location. What was very important for us was as we were coming by car there was a great private parking possibility at the hotel. Great location to visit Palermo. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nanikaprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This hotel is under construction. The front faces a back street and it is not in a good neighborhood. The rooms are small but adequate. Definitely no frills here. Breakfast was a croissant and coffee. The proprietor spoke no English so communication was very difficult.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buffy3778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Hotel Columbia was lovely, new, clean, and friendly. It was also well-located. Good deal for the money, and the air-conditioning is a major plus.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calypsonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We arrived very late at night and the high speed taxi journey through the narrow (and I mean very narrow) streets was a bit hair raising. The driver wasn't too sure where the hotel was but we found it fairly easily. From the street it is a little bit foreboding and the driver obviously thought it was a very strange place to stay and joked that we staying in prison!!! We buzzed at the big gate and entered a courtyard that is very run down and quite off-putting. However, we rounded the corner and saw the entrance of a very well kept, modern hotel. The hotel were expecting us and so check in was very easy. We had three separate rooms which were modern, clean and pretty comfortable with good air conditioning. TVs are small and perched rather high up on the wall but only have Italian TV stations. Bathrooms were clean and modern. If you have a problem with stairs, be warned, there's no lift.

The owner served breakfast herself and was delightful. She was friendly and genuinely enthusiastic about her country, offering loads of hints for our stay. She definitely provides that extra personal touch.

It is true that there can be noise from surrounding bars but that is something of an inevitable problem in the narrow streets of old Palermo and so only to be expected. The hotel is located right in the heart of Palermo just minutes from the Cathedral and other monuments but is somewhat tucked away.

We spent two nights at the Columbia and really enjoyed our stay. The surroundings are very run down but please don't be put off as this is part of the charm. The hotel itself is well kept, secure, clean and friendly and offers exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Columbia for 1 night to explore the city..... whatever you do if they give you room 203, please ask to be moved!! This room is out on a wing and overhangs a street where they blast music til 3am.... that wasnt the worst bit - the worst bit was the construction work that started outside your window at 7am!!!! There was a crane the works!!! As soon as you step out of the room the noise cannot be heard. Needless to stay it wasnt a very relaxing stay. Apart from that the hotel is in a brilliant location and within walking distance of the cathedral etc. It is a little hard to find down a back alley and through a gated entrance. The rooms are clean and equiped with TV and air-conditioning. The breakfast is a pastry, coffee and juice which was fine. Plus the owners are very friendly but speak very little English! Palermo is a very busy city with plenty to see and I highly recommend visiting the gatacombes about a 20 min walk away - they were fasinating......

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CardiffJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Bel 3
#20 of 101 in Palermo
734 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#9 of 101 in Palermo
1,203 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 101 in Palermo
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Joli
#25 of 101 in Palermo
587 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
652 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia Palermo

Property: Hotel Columbia Palermo
Address: Via del Celso 31/37, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#12 Business Hotel in Palermo
#14 Family Hotel in Palermo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Columbia Palermo 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel: Columbia Palermo Hotel is located in the heart of Palermo city centre, about 300 meters far from the Massimo theatre, the Cathedral, the Pretoria Square, Ballaro and Vucciria markets, only few steps from the Quattro Canti ( Vigliena Square). Situated in an historical palace of XIX century, entirely restyled, the Columbia Palermo Hotel offers a cosy and friendly atmosphere an all sorts of the most modern comforts. The Rooms: All 24 rooms are fully equipped with: private facilities and shower, hairdryer, TV color, mini bar, air conditioning, and WI-FI connection. Our service: Credit card, 24-hour reception desk, Rich international breakfast, Disabled persons room, Car-motorcycle-bike renting , WI-FI connection, Bar, Room service (part-time), Alarm call service, Cradle, Fax service, National newspapers (on demand), Arranged restaurants near the hotel, Private car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Columbia Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Columbia Palermo Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing