We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have never lived in a palazzo before”
Review of Butera 28

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palermo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butera 28
Ranked #4 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

When we stepped into apartment #17 my friend says: “Oh, I have never lived in place like this”. I like it because each of us have own room and in addition one common room to spend time together. This is beautifully decorated apartment, conveniently located to many local eateries, close to the center.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelovemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Butera 28
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 217 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Booked 4 nites Oct 3 thru 6 and was allowed to stay a 5th if we would ck-out by 9:30am which we did. And we would have stayed longer but they were full. Entry to apt #4 was on the ground level and bedrooms and full bath were on the 2nd level. A 1/2 bath and living/dining area was downstairs as was the kitchen which included a washing machine, and folded up along the side of the refrigerator was an ironing board. Apt #4 was clean and very large - probably 3-4X the size of a US hotel room. It was well furnished (incl WiFi & satellite TV) and decorated with large original oil paintings, which made for a most pleasant and comfortable stay. We were located across the inner courtyard from Nicoletta's office in the private residence part of their palazzo. We kept the doors/windows downstairs and upstairs open during the day (as does Nicolleta) and often spoke from across the courtyard to Nicoletta or her housekeeper, Minnie. As others have already noted Nicoletta, the Duchess of Palermo, is a friendly, gracious and most helpful host with knowledge and contacts for most anything you might want to do in Palermo. Her cooking class was a delightful experience - from the trip to Il Capo market for provisions (incl a quick tour of a beautiful church in the middle of the mkt), picking mint, basil and jasmine flowers from Nicoletta's garden (a mini-forest?), hands-on prep of interesting recipes, interesting/friendly people in the class, a delicious lunch (including the best piece of swordfish I've ever had), to the tour of the huge & beautifully restored 18th C palazzo - which started at 8:30am and concluded around 5pm. The location is a nice and easy walk to many of the old city center sights, e.g., the 4 corners (Vittorio Emanuele & Maqueda streets) is about 3/4 mi, and the opera house is about a mile away, as is the main train and bus stations. In the other direction it's around the block from the waterfront. And between via Butera (which changes name a couple times) and where it dead ends at the Villa Giula gardens on via Abraham Lincoln (about 5 or 6 blocks) there are wonderful places for sandwiches, full meals, bread/pastries, fresh fruit, and gelato. So if you don't feel like going far for something to eat you can just go out the front door, hang a left, and get something really good in your 'hood. My only issues (minor) were the narrow circular staircase (especially w/luggage) and the long narrow bathtub which made for cramped showering. Neither was a problem for my wife - but she's younger and shorter! We loved Butera 28 and Palermo and hope to be back for another stay and visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UWHusky1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed three nights at Butera 28. On the positive side, our apartment was clean and spacious, afforded great views of the bay, featured free wireless Internet service, and our host Antonetta could not have been more gracious or helpful. She gave us a tour of the Palazzo itself and it is truly amazing.

On the negative side, Palermo is a very dirty city; in fact, we wandered into neighborhoods not far from our apartment that were absolutely filthy. I don't know if there was a garbage strike going on, but the dumpsters almost everywhere were overflowing. That -- plus the incessant traffic and lack of sidewalks -- definitely colored our stay. I'm not sure Butera28 would make sense for a single night's stay and that's about the maximum I would recommend for Palermo.

Room Tip: Apartment 9 has a kitchen, dining room, bedroom, spacious bathroom, and living room facing the bay i...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our stay in Apartment 9 was a delight from start to finish. The accommodation was luxurious and the views from the apartment and the roof terrace were simply wonderful. It was the perfect location from which to explore this fascinating city. Our charming hostess did everything possible to ensure that our stay was a success and we greatly appreciated the opportunity to join her tour of the palazzo. We chose to attend her course on Sicilean cuisine and this proved to be a hugely informative and convivial occasion. Having spent the previous week travelling around the island on an organised tour of historic sites we felt no need to stray beyond the centre of Palermo and certainly no need for a car. Nicoletta provided details of restaurants and bars that we might try and this proved extremely helpful. A very memorable stay and we would love to return if possible.

Room Tip: Apartment number 9 has exceptional views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very nicely equipped apartments but the street outside is dreadfully noisy, one needs to have ear plugs in order to sleep. Well situated accommodation and gracious hosts. We hired a car which was a mistake as parking is tricky and drivers are reckless, the streets are very narrow and difficult to navigate. Lots to see in Palermo!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BettyLinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Like the other reviewers we loved this place. A lovely apartment (#11), very well equipped and with many thoughtful touches, things like real coffee, olive oil, butter, etc provided on arrival so no need to rush out and shop immediately. Lovely time spent with Nicoletta learning about Sicilian food and customs, ending with a lovely meal - sign up for the cookery session, it's worth it!

Room Tip: We had #11 which faced inland rather than out over the sea, so maybe not the best, but the apartment...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelfromHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We just stayed at #17 and had a lovely time. The apt is very big and has all that you need. There's a Carrefour not too far away and we were also able to find parking on the streets. We were very comfortable here, thx Nicoletta! If I were to nitpick, the only 'complaints' I had were that wi-fi didn't work on one side of the apt, we couldn't pay with credit card, and that with a 4night stay there was no cleaning service. All not a big deal though and we would definitely go back if we were to return to Palermo!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank allabouttravel086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butera28, Owner at Butera 28, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your great review. I'm glad to hear you had a pleasant stay at Butera 28. As for your remarks, may I remind you that, as clearly stated on our website, we offer a cleaning service only for a week stay. You are right, we are not organized for credit card payments, but it's always possible to pay via PayPal. As for the wifi, you'll be happy to know that our Internet technician has just strengthen the signal - our palazzo has thick 17th century walls and it's not easy to have wifi everywhere. I look forward to seeing you again at Butera 28 in the near future - you'll always be welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 98 in Palermo
828 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
462 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butera 28? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butera 28

Address: Via Butera 28, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Palermo
Price Range: $60 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven beautifully appointed apartments, with antique furnishings and all modern comforts, are located in an 18th century palazzo facing the wonderful bay of Palermo, in the heart of the Kalsa quarter. The apartments are also available for daily rent. The palace was the last home of prince Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa, author of The Leopard, and is now the home of his adoptive son, who oversaw its restoration. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butera 28 Hotel Palermo
Butera 28 Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing