We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful & friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruggiero VII

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ruggiero VII
Ranked #326 of 451 Palermo B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Helpful & friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Brothers Marco & Francesco were helpful & welcoming. Marco kindly chatted to us (in very good english, sadly our italian is limited) about what to see and do in Palermo. He offered great advice about trips further out, how to travel there, where to eat.
The hotel/B&B itself is in a circa 1910 elegant tall building on a busy street in a good area near the Theatro Massimo. We were shown a quieter room at the back or a larger one overlooking the street, we took the bigger room. You can certainly hear Palermo come to life in the morning, tooting traffic, rasping scooters, church bells, but we were ok with that.
We enjoyed our stay, and thought it was good value, elegant though not luxurious. Take your own toiletries (shampoo, conditioner etc) if you need more than just a sachet or two of shower gel. Free internet was much appreciated. TV had BBC news channel, which was a nice suprise. Simple breakfast with big bowls of coffee available till 10am.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollycarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
327 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

this is a family run business and because of that, the family do everything they posssibly can to make your stay a good one, from the famous huge cappucino at breakfast or coffee after a tiring day, to the helpful tourist advice. the brothers speak english, their father french, so you don't need to worry about being understood! my room (31) was spacious with a huge bathroom (power-shower) and a sofa. tv and A/C -heating. there was a little balcony but you won't spend any time on it as its directly above the main road: quiet a bit of noise from 7am but you get used to it! probably the other rooms are quieter but I didn't see in. the ceilings are huge and the windows are typical old ones with shutters inside and out. wifi was a bit slack in the bedroom (as in most of italy) but you can get it from the dining area without bothering anybody. two things to be aware of: a flight and half of stairs before getting to the lift! and do tell the family your expected arrival time, especially on a sunday, as there is not always someone in reception at the weekend, as in a lot of B&B in italy. it's just along the road from the massimo theatre but not in the small side streets (which look a bit dangerous at night time but may not be!) so it's handy for visiting. also 5mins from buses and 8mins walk from the airport bus which stops at the politeama theatre. several tastey restaurants within a few blocks.

Room Tip: rooms on the street side are on a very busy and noisey main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is in the city centre, rooms are big and confortable. Our shower was really small, but clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank riccardo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in this wonderful guest house upon our arrival in Palermo in May 2012. The staff, Marco, Francesco and their mother were so welcoming and very helpful. The guest house is very clean, great rooms, nice breakfast with very good coffee. The location is great. If you want to get to know the spirit and kind nature of the people of Palermo,stay in this guest house.

Grazie per tutto
Lucille and Erin
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucille L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I have never stayed in guest house before, it was my first experience and the owners of Rugguiero VII made our stay unforgetable! I had amazing room, very clean, great decor and wonderful hospitality that makes you to miss the place.
I would like to thank all members of the family for the care, thought, help and fantastic hospitality! We had to visit hospital $ am in the morning, the owners of the Rugguero VII not only call ambulance for us, but came over to the hospital, stayed with us and then brought us back home - It is very kind of them and I would like to express a huge thanks to hotel management. Also, they helped us with the recomendations on the retsuatrents and bars, kinfly booked a hotel and gave all informatio for the othere towns of Sicily!
THANK YOU!!!!! I hope I will visit your guest houese again sometime soon as I have never experienced such kindlness and hospitality while beeing on a small city tour!
Mado Kobalia, London June 2012.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MadoKobalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

What a gem, from the street it's just a door, but inside, although reception area is small and breakfast room too, your made to feel right at home. The proprietors were very helpful, the son ( I'm afraid I've forgotten his name) explaining about parking areas for free which was a big help and suggesting restaurants in the local area, and the father who was extremely engaging and very amusing. The room although small was well furnished in an older style, clean and tidy with a balcony. Fantastic!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lapparsteche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
592 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Pietre, and his delightful commentary as well as the help of the young man who welcomed us our first (early) morning, allowing us to leave our bags upon 6:30 a.m. arrival by ferry. The breakfast was also a lovely continental one with cuppochino in huge cups! Very much appreciated pietre's dining suggestion, il Culinario Hosteria, in the street behind our room where 'Silvio' took very good care of us.

It is very important to take directions to this hotel, as it is literally a 'behind the red door' arrangement, up two flights (there is an antique 'lift' for ease with bags) and requires being 'buzzed in' from the street. We hired a local man (10 Euro) who met the ferry and he had to stop 3 times to ask where the hotel was. It isn't far from the port, or from anything else in palermo, but I would suggest having a map from the ferry in order to confidently walk to Via Cavour and find it. Ask for quiet room (so as to face the alley out back).

Room Tip: Ask Pietre ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
B&B D'Angelo
#126 of 451 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#15 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Politeama
PoliteamAffitti
PoliteamAffitti
#70 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Joli
#24 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruggiero VII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruggiero VII

Property: Ruggiero VII
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 32, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruggiero VII 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House Ruggiero VII is situated in the historic and commercial center of city, near the prestigiouse Maxim Theatre and, ideal place, for the most elegant shopping.This privileged position will enable the tourist to walk to the main sights, which are also connected with numerous buses; the harbour, railway station and bus stop to the airport are distant, in fact, few minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruggiero VII Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing