We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not fantastic”

Antica Focacceria San Francesco
Reserve with
Antica Focacceria San Francesco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #142 of 1,735 Restaurants in Palermo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Tribunali
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but not fantastic”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went there because we read so many great reviews here that we thought we couldn't miss it. The food was ok but not as great as we expected. The place is interesting and the people was friendly. And I would not recommend going here for a dinner, but for a lunch or a snack.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pocha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,580
    1,981
    1,169
    612
    403
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely to be Missed”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We visited this restaurant one evening as we'd had a big lunch and heard that it was good for snack type food. We were immediately put off by the glass counters of pizza slices and tray bakes of food sitting there waiting for reheating in the microwave. Unfortunately we found this to be quite common in Palermo but just around the corner from this restaurant there is a whole street full of pizzerias where your pizza will be cooked fresh and to order for a couple of euro. For this reason we were about to leave when one of the staff members stopped us and explained that there was a separate restaurant upstairs. As this place had received good reviews on tripadvisor and in guidebooks we assumed the previous reviewers must have been referring to the upstairs restaurant and agreed to take a table.

We ordered our wine before really looking at the menu and immediately regretted our decision to stay. The menu was uninspired and the dining room was full of unhappy looking tourists eating very grey looking food. I'm not exaggerating when I say that our food was practically inedible. My boyfriends cheese starter was warmish, clearly reheated and starting to smell a bit as cheese does when it has been sitting in a slightly warm place for a couple of days. My octupus starter was most likely out of a tin and served with some insipid leaves. My prawn pasta main was tasteless and reheated and the one prawn served on the top in it's shell was raw. My boyfriend's clam linguine was similarly dull. We finished our wine as quickly as possible and escaped having eaten less than half our meal. Worst of all the bill for all this rubbish was much more than we had paid anywhere else save a few blow out meals in posh restaurants.

This place may once have been a traditional, local place with a good reputation but it is now a rip-off tourist trap. Don't be fooled!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dublin_IrelandCmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

we went here on a recommendation from previus reviews,not to be missed this place,not true! did not like the pizza was cold and reheated several times,no fresh food.was disappointed as this place has a big history.there is much better places to eat

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“for eating and dining”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our first day in Sicily, staying in east Palermo, we asked a young man in a store we'd stopped to shop in where we could have dinner nearby without being surrounded by tourists groups. We asked him to send us to a place the locals ate and since it was a warm night, preferrably outside.
He sent us to what we refer to as the " San Francesco".
By day it is a great place to pop into for a quick lunch and smaller portions of alot of dishes you pay much more for when dining in the courtyard at night.
Everyone eats in their cafeteria. Young, European backpackers, moms and kids, local workers and a few older tourists. You just grab a seat and eat with whoever is at that table or bench.
In the evening there are tents set up to keep out the rain, white tablecloths and a good wine list.
They make great pizza. Our favorite has spicy sausage. We also love the rice balls, with a delicious bolognese in the center and the melanzane
involtini.
The cafeteria prices are very cheap and the restaurant food and wine are all reasonable.
The waiters are charming and fairly efficient and no matter how busy it gets the you never feel rushed.
It is located in a square in the old section and being there you really know you are in an ancient city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollyssg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went here on a recommendation from a local and were sure she was mad at us. The service was poor, the place has no ambiance (it is a cafeteria), and the food was poor and served cold. We went for early dinner (around 6pm). On another day, we walked by during lunch and they were serving outside. It seemed much more pleasant, there were plenty of people, and the food was more abundant and looked warm. If you are going here, I recommend going for lunch and sitting outside. It is not worth it for dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kylagbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Focacceria San Francesco also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Antica Focacceria San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing