We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what I call a palazzo!”
Review of Palazzo Montevago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Montevago
Ranked #49 of 478 Palermo B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“This is what I call a palazzo!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is in one word: amazing! Upon arrival, Giovanni showed us around through the many large, breath-taking rooms of the palazzo. The beautiful paintings on the ceilings have been magnificently restored in their original status. He told us this work took a specialized atelier approx. 4 years! The furniture has been chosen with great care and taste. Unbelievable! This already makes the Palazzo Montevago an extra-ordinary experience.

The Palazzo is well located: in the middle of the historic center of Palermo, 500m away from the central station and close to the must-sees of the city. I agree, the immediate environment is not the most attractive neighborhood, but I believe this is generally the case with most areas in Palermo. Although Palermo is a place with lots of spectacular things to see and visit, it still is a pretty dirty and chaotic city. But with lots of charm.

The apartment where we stayed 3 nights was very large: a large bedroom (with airco), large living room with kitchen (with airco), separate bedroom for one person (ideal to store luggage and clothes) and a large bathroom, well-equipped. Just perfect!

Breakfast is excellent: sitting as a king and queen at the (very) large table in one of the palazzo rooms, you can enjoy the self-baked pastry of Giovanni. We enjoyed his company several times and his knowlegde of European, Italian and Palermitan history was both amazing and entertaining. He is also a great art lover and doesn't hesitate to show you pictures included in one of the many art books he has and are at the availibility of his guests.

Wifi is only available on the terrace (asks a bit of effort to get connection), which is a pitty but we didn't bother that much. Secured parking is available at the inner court of the palazzo, but I would advize not to visit Palermo by car. I've driven in lots of (Italian) cities, but Palermo was "hors categorie". Unbelievable.

Don't miss this B&B. it will be an unforgettable experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik_Tervuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
55
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a non-pretentious grand palace, with owners living there (in the other half). Very central, with parking available. renovated to the high standard with all original features in place!
Lovely older owner, who is helpful and tries his best to speak English with the most charming accent:)
Stayed there twice and will keep going back!
The larger appartment has a beautiful terrace, which you shouldn't miss!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaterinaRina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying 4 nights at the Palazzo Montevago for a short break in Palermo. Although we arrived late on an evening flight, Giovanni was expecting us and gave us a tour of the Palazzo. The place is magnificent, and pictures on the internet do not do justice to the beauty of the various rooms or the Murano chandeliers.

Our accommodation was extremely roomy and comfortable. We especially enjoyed sitting out on the terrace and sipping a glass of prosecco in the evening. Our host is most helpful and knowledgeable– if we knew more Italian we could have spent hours talking to him about the history and culture of Sicily! Giovanni gave excellent recommendations for local restaurants and booked us a table for a late dinner the evening we arrived. He also advised us on shopping and on travelling to Monreale and Mondello by local buses. Nothing is too much trouble for him!

The location of Palazzo Montevago is convenient for the airport bus which stops at the railway station less than five minutes walk away. We were also able to walk to most of the sights like the Cathedral or the markets in the old town, avoiding the need to take buses or taxis as traffic is chaotic in Palermo!

Room Tip: Book the suite with the terrace. It's lovely to sit outside to read or sip a drink in the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiangourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our "little" place in Palermo "Palazzo Montevago". A fabulous palace in central Palermo (near the central bus station) run by the very gracious Giovanni and family. A real gem…you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having had my car broken into during my previous trip to Palermo I was looking for a place which offered an off-street parking. I found Palazzo Montevago and I was not disappointed. The car can be driven straight to the internal courtyard which is protected by a ramp and closed during the night. No doubt it is one of very few secure parking places in Palermo. Those who go for the first time to Palermo and plan to rent a car have to consider that their car may be even left without any wheel if they leave it overnight parked on the side of the road.
The host of the Montevago Palace, Dr Ricardo Ferrara, is the most kind and hospitable person I have ever met during all my trips. Every guest is a household member for him. Although the guests receive the most wonderful apartment suites to their disposal, they can also use the actual living space of Dr Ferrara. The palace is magnificently restored, furnished with antiques and curiosities. Palermo is a sunny city so one spends most of the time outdoors. However, even if it were raining for a month and one had to stay indoors in the palace boredom would not be an issue.
Breakfasts are prepared on requested hour and served in a stunning breakfast room. All the food is fresh and tasty.
Internet is free but limited to few areas in the palace. It may require a bit of effort to find the best spot to check e-mails and consult google.

Room Tip: The suits consist of two bedrooms, sitting, dinning and cooking areas. Some have a terrace too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoStefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved our stay at the Palazzo Montevago. As it was already October, it was quiet and we were the only guests. We had an apartment with 2 bedrooms, a kitchen, dining room, sitting room and study and even a huge outside terrace - just for the 2 of us!
The Palazzo is very conveniently located in the heart of Palermo. Breakfast is real Sicilian with pastries and coffee in a huge breakfast room with gorgeous ceiling paintings.
If you want to stay in a special place in Palermo, go here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justagirl12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Palazzo Brunaccini
#10 of 101 in Palermo
488 reviews
Tribunali
La via delle biciclette
La via delle biciclette
#7 of 478 in Palermo
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PalermiT'amo Apartment
#23 of 478 in Palermo
96 reviews
Palazzo Reale
B&B Porta di Castro
B&B Porta di Castro
#11 of 478 in Palermo
850 reviews
B&B White
#46 of 478 in Palermo
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Montevago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Montevago

Property: Palazzo Montevago
Address: Via Maqueda 92, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Palazzo Reale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 478 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Palazzo Montevago 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building of sixteenth-century origin, as testified by the elegant portal with archivolt that leans out on via del Bosco, was born as dwelling of Paolo Caggio, who founded here the Accademia dei solitari (Academy of the solitary ones). The original plant was subsequently restructured in the mid of eighteen-century under the project of the architect Giovanni Filingeri, brother of that Pietro's Filingeri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Palazzo Montevago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Montevago Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing