We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this used to be an excellent place. not anymore!”

Trattoria Da Calogero
Ranked #1,209 of 1,704 Restaurants in Palermo
Price range: $24 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“this used to be an excellent place. not anymore!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We used to love this place and went quite a good number of times over the last 6 summers. In the last 2 or 3 years they had some major changings: they printed out a menu (once there was the head waiter telling you the fresh dishes of the day), they got bigger buying the restaurant besides, they added pizza to the menu and lost all the quality.
Last time we were there we ordered our 'usuals' just to be disappointed. My ravioli di cernia were tasteless, any cheap supermarket package would be better, my husbands spaghetti con vongole e cozze tasted just of garlic, and the fried fish was just terrible. The service has been slow, disorganized and many items on the menu were not available.
I recommended this place to friends, won't do it again and I'll never go back again.
Try the restaurant il Gabbiano instead!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sophietheblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    280
    276
    177
    205
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballerup, Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cheap tourist trap in a great location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This restaurant is placed with a great view close to the harbor and beach. It looks dodgy and is. Apparently the good location brings all the tourists in the restaurants, and the quality of the food goes down. We tried a mix of food, pizza, seafood pasta and salads. It tasted ok, but it is more difficult to make bad Italian food than the opposite, if you know what I mean.
The servants are bad in English and has no good service manner, and only want you to pay and leave. At least that is what you feel. The price is low, so I guess you get what you pay for.
Restaurant recommended for people coming from the beach to get lunch, but not for romantic dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henke_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best left to locals or left altogether”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Taormina and 4 nights in Palermo. We ate out almost twice everyday and this was without doubt the worst food that we experienced in Sicily. Frito misto (mixed fried seafood) oily and not in any way well prepared. Two pastas, al Sarde and Ricci (sea urchins) really quite tasteless compared to the same dishes that we had eaten before. Completely unpalatable wines at prices that reflect their ordinary origins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“UNACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Waiters were rude,with a few exceptions.
Menu was not given but thrown on the table impolitely.
We ordered 2 pizzas,2 beers and a bottle of water.(for dinner we cannot eat much more than this quantity).Beers were left on the table edge as well as the bottle of water.One of the pizzas was in style of sandwich,while it was not mentioned in the menu.Certainly the waiter did not explained us when we asked for two pizzas,even though he knew that we are not frequent customers or much more we were tourists.If I prefered a sandwich I would choose another type of restaurant or a fast food.The second pizza was nothing special.
Also, a knife was dirty and when we asked politely to change it they brought us the same just with the dirt spred all over the knife.
In the end ,when we paid the bill the RUDE waitress threw again the change on the table,rather than giving it politely.
It's a shame that treat people in this way.We did not beg for food.We paid it.
Finally they need to know that their behavior reflects their culture and show us their inadequate education.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank marstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a lot of dinner an lunch in this place as we were shooting a commercial in the village. We had very good food, fantastic fish and pasta. The atmosphere is very nice and friendly. It s not expensive and I really recommend it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Da Calogero also viewed

 
Mondello, Palermo
 
Mondello, Palermo
Mondello, Palermo
 

Been to Trattoria Da Calogero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing