We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap tourist trap in a great location”

Trattoria Da Calogero
Ranked #1,251 of 1,750 Restaurants in Palermo
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Ballerup, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheap tourist trap in a great location”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This restaurant is placed with a great view close to the harbor and beach. It looks dodgy and is. Apparently the good location brings all the tourists in the restaurants, and the quality of the food goes down. We tried a mix of food, pizza, seafood pasta and salads. It tasted ok, but it is more difficult to make bad Italian food than the opposite, if you know what I mean.
The servants are bad in English and has no good service manner, and only want you to pay and leave. At least that is what you feel. The price is low, so I guess you get what you pay for.
Restaurant recommended for people coming from the beach to get lunch, but not for romantic dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henke_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    293
    284
    183
    228
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best left to locals or left altogether”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Taormina and 4 nights in Palermo. We ate out almost twice everyday and this was without doubt the worst food that we experienced in Sicily. Frito misto (mixed fried seafood) oily and not in any way well prepared. Two pastas, al Sarde and Ricci (sea urchins) really quite tasteless compared to the same dishes that we had eaten before. Completely unpalatable wines at prices that reflect their ordinary origins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“UNACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Waiters were rude,with a few exceptions.
Menu was not given but thrown on the table impolitely.
We ordered 2 pizzas,2 beers and a bottle of water.(for dinner we cannot eat much more than this quantity).Beers were left on the table edge as well as the bottle of water.One of the pizzas was in style of sandwich,while it was not mentioned in the menu.Certainly the waiter did not explained us when we asked for two pizzas,even though he knew that we are not frequent customers or much more we were tourists.If I prefered a sandwich I would choose another type of restaurant or a fast food.The second pizza was nothing special.
Also, a knife was dirty and when we asked politely to change it they brought us the same just with the dirt spred all over the knife.
In the end ,when we paid the bill the RUDE waitress threw again the change on the table,rather than giving it politely.
It's a shame that treat people in this way.We did not beg for food.We paid it.
Finally they need to know that their behavior reflects their culture and show us their inadequate education.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank marstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a lot of dinner an lunch in this place as we were shooting a commercial in the village. We had very good food, fantastic fish and pasta. The atmosphere is very nice and friendly. It s not expensive and I really recommend it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

One of the better restaurants in the area which doesn't really say that much, but if you're struggling to find anywhere of a mid-range budget like we were, you could definitely do worse than this place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Da Calogero also viewed

 
Mondello, Palermo
Mondello, Palermo
 

Been to Trattoria Da Calogero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing