We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Bell Tower and Astronomical Clock (Orologio Astronomico)
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.46*
and up
2-Hour Messina Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 138 things to do in Messina
Certificate of Excellence
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

A must see at noon if you visit Messina. We had heard about this and had to see it. We were not disappointed. Before or after go into the beautiful cathedral.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    227
    45
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Have a cappuccino and watch the show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Bell Tower at the Piazza del Duomo is a must when in Messina! Every day at noon you can stand in the Piazza and watch the bell tower come to life! Don't worry if you forget, because if you are in the local area you will hear the rooster crowing or the lion's roar! I didn't go with a tour group, just heard about this attraction by word of mouth. I wish I went with a guided group to hear more of the history behind this clock. There is a little café to the left when looking at the bell tower, I recommend getting there about 30 min prior to noon to grab a coffee and a seat!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, NH
Level Contributor
198 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Must do with a guide!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We actually modified a tour guides route to ensure we were at the Clock at noon time to fully experience the spectacle of the clock. At noon every day the bell tower goes through a 15 minute display that should be seen. We were very fortunate that our guide new the significance of each event and explained it to us as it unfolded. I do not think we could have fully appreciated all that we were seeing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
450 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Just an Amazing Bell Tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited during a tour and the explanation of the clock and how it works made it even more special. Hopefully you will have the advantage of a tour to explain it but it is a must see while in Messina.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Messina's version of the Glockenspiel..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

It was very pretty, lots to see on it. My daughter enjoyed just picking out the different things. It creates a charming feel in the town square. Grab an ice cream and enjoy a few minutes of down time...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell Tower and Astronomical Clock (Orologio Astronomico) also viewed

Messina, Province of Messina
Messina, Province of Messina
 
Messina, Province of Messina
Messina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Bell Tower and Astronomical Clock (Orologio Astronomico)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing